We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1935 McKnight Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Stony Plain, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A family get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The purpose for our visit was a little family escape for six. We stayed in the "Family Suite" which was spacious, had 2 queens, one double hide-a-bed, a fridge and microwave. The hotel was beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable, but the hide-a-bed was quite springy. (Due for new hide-a-bed mattresses.) The first day we had to have someone in to get the fridge running. (Broken knob.) But the customer service was excellent. The weekend brunch was decent quality food with something for everyone, and priced reasonably. The water park was a lot of fun and the downstairs work out facility and additional pool and steam room were just perfect! 3 hot tubs in total! Plus, the price was right. They also gave us half price Zoo tickets which was wonderful! My only real complaint was that, with the thermostat fan turned on and to cool and the thermostat turned ALL the way down, the coolest that we managed to get it in our room at night was 19c. No opening window and very little air flow, even with the cool fan blowing 24/7. Some people may not mind this, but we felt a little claustrophobic. It felt stuffy and humid and sometimes we had to prop the door open to the hall way to get some air through. I’m a picky sleeper and like it cool and fresh at night so I went home quite unrested. The other thing we found was that there were extremely bright spot lights shining on the building and directly at our window at night and the room darkening blinds were too short and not connected properly on top. So the room was quite light at night. I finally pinned the outside drapes together to compensate for the poor blinds. Other than that, we loved the hotel and will certainly try it again, next time we’re in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    141
    39
    5
    5
See reviews for
174
68
20
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indian Shores, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

i had wonderful stay at this hotel.I had loved the interior of the hotel and services as well.Free shuttle service from airport was best part of it.amazing view from the room.water park inside the hotel is awesome.Kids will love this places.buffet breakfast has nice spread of dishes.will surly be back in some time next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a fairly quick check-in, and had a wonderfully quiet room at the far end of the hallway!! The room with 2 queen-sized beds was huge and very, very clean. The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. Probably the friendliest staff i've had at a hotel!!
The waterpark was a huge hit with our kids, ages 4 and 2, although our main complaint was that the main pool was too cold for us all. We did find the other pool one lower level, and enjoyed the warmth of that :)

Room Tip: Room 264 was at the very, very end of the hallway on the south west corner of the hotel, way away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been through almost every part of the Canada but this was my first visit to port o call Calgary.
Free shuttle service from airport was awesome.Breakfast was wonderful.Staff at Front desk were very helpful and professional.I had large bed room which had wonder full view of the city.
Water park was something new for me in the hotel.I also discovered that free parking is provided to the guest which is underground.In winter it will be the best part of complimentary service.

Room Tip: Go for Higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usedom Island, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

during my official tour i got a chances to stay in this hotel.It was a excellent stay. The way i was treated at restaurant was awesome.staff at front desk are very professional and helpful.They will never let you feel that you are away from your home. Free shuttle service from airport is the best part.Climate of Calgary is one this which i would love to write about.Staff gave few good tips about the city which was very much helpful to me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is clean, and efficiently run.

It is well located for an overnight in conjunction with a flight, as the airport is at hand. But his hardly makes it unique - there are many other hotels within airport range.

Also well located if you need to be on the north east edge of Calgary - a sprawling city (though with better than average transportation infrastructure).

Has a reasonably good complementary buffet breakfast.

Pool with water slide will appeal to kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

i recently took my wife and kids aged 5 and 7 to Calgary and stayed at this terrific Best Western port of Call. The hotel has two really good sixe water slides and the kids loved that.

We needed a Cot for my younger son (the sofa turned into a bed for the older). within minutes the staff were ther to set it up for us. Exceptional manners too!

The restaurant had a buffet breakfast every morning and once again i have ot say the service was great the food excellent and we are still craving the food.

The front desk and room service never disappointed us. from giving us direction to delivery of our meals and snacks we were looked after like we were royalty.
We felt like royalty!!
Way to go Best Western Port of Call Calgary. i will always stay at this location on my return to Calgary.
Bim Pandya

Room Tip: we had a room facing the airport (so my kids could watch the planes take off and land - especially l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#7 Family Hotel in Calgary
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.