We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #35 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Before starting our Rocky mountaineer trip we arrived in calgary early. The hotel says downtown but everything is a very long walk or you must take the c train. (Which in my opinion attracts some unfriendly and undesirable people.)We did walk to the calgary tower but it was a long walk. The hotel was clean and I felt safe staying there.


  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    118
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
64
78
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was the first night of our trip. We were very impressed with the value of this hotel. The room had a kitchenette and was roomy. Bed was comfortable. Had reviewed a lot of the downtown hotels before selecting this one- most were quite a bit more expensive. We had a nice breakfast that was included with the room and parking was free. Location made it possible to walk to many of the sites before we left for rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On a recent business trip I stayed at this property with an excellent location in mid town Calgary.
The check in was handled in a efficient and fast manner by the front desk agent during a busy check in time. The room on the 3rd floor was well appointed, excellent quality mattress and a well placed business desk and easy wifi access. The selection for the complimentary breakfast was well balanced and the coffee of an excellent quality. Overall excellent experience and I will definetley choose this hotel again on my next visit to Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We selected this hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews and we were so happy with our choice. We required a place to sleep for 2 nights before my son moved into the U of C residence. Our feedback:

First, this hotel is in a very safe location; we walked to 17th ave. each evening for dinner and ALWAYS felt safe. Check-in was smooth, and front desk agents were courteous. We were very pleased with our room. It was on the 4th floor and had great amenities: kitchenette with basic dishes and all one could want for dining in or making a snack or meal. The beds (we had a two queen bed room) were harder than I like but still comfortable. The bathroom was average in size, but lovely water pressure from the shower. The entrance to the room was narrow, but once inside the room had enough space for us and our luggage to feel comfortable. There was an in-room safe too. Free parking and free Wifi!

We stayed at this property for 2 nights. What we loved about this hotel was the close proximity and easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on 17th ave. The vast variety of dining choices was a treat for us, especially the fact that these restaurants are open until late. We simply loved walking the stretch of 17th window shopping and smelling all the delicious aromas emanating from all the eateries. We found one Italian restaurant that had fabulous food for a mid-range price. For travellers to Calgary who are trying to decide where to stay, I highly recommend this property; we were so glad we chose to stay here rather than in the immediate downtown vicinity because we felt we had more dining and entertainment options. Plus, it is simply a wonderfully diverse mix of people in this neighborhood. Also, this hotel makes driving simple to get to downtown proper and Chinook Centre and the U of C was ease.

Also, across the street from the BW Suites is a coffee shop that plays live Jazz and is licensed to serve alcohol, which is a nice treat for evenings. As well, there was an amazing donut shop (I think called Modern Donutes) a block from the hotel that had the best donuts we've ever had!

All-in-all this property was the perfect choice for our needs. The only negative was on the second night we were there rude guests next door had a loud party into the wee hours of the night. I woke up to loud voices and party goers. Just as I was about to call security another guest must have because I could hear security in the hall telling the party people to be quiet. Well, one hour later the rude party people were still at it. We were furious because we had to be up early and had an important day ahead of us; needless to say, I called front desk and suggested that perhaps they needed to call the police this time since the rude people didn't respond to security the first time. In short, we had only several hours sleep for a hotel that we paid to SLEEP in.

Upon check out the next morning, front desk did offer us a $40 discount for our discomfort. I appreciated the gesture, but a free night or a night in a room without party people next door would have been our preference.

Will we return? YES! The location of the hotel and what it offers for guests can't be beat; as well, it is excellent value for price; this hotel is a great place to stay in Calgary.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It seems that you are getting the worst room at this hotel if booking through Priceline. It was second floor, facing parking lot and just one queen size bed (even the worst places will give you one king or two doubles). Hotel is totally dated, dark and depressing and doesn't deserve 3 star rating. The only bright spots were free parking and really decent complimentary breakfast.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Enya52,

Thank you for your trip advisor feedback.
Please be advised that Priceline has access to all of our room types from executive king suite, Jacuzzi room, one bedroom, 2 queen beds and a two bedroom suite. We always endeavor to assign rooms exactly as per booking. The room that was booked by Priceline is on the 2nd floor as indicated on our website.
If you needed two beds, we would have been more than happy to assist you, all you need to do is contact the very helpful front desk staff.
As such, please contact the undersigned and we will be happy to go through this with you.


George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here recently. Overall a good experience but hotel is a little older. They up graded us to a one bedroom suite at no charge. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while visiting family in Calgary. The location was perfect for us. The room was somewhat dated, but clean. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Unfortunately, the room was very noisy! We were on the 2nd floor facing the street. The traffic noise seemed to carry on all night. Each morning we were woken up by the loud clanging sound of a dumpster being emptied nearby. It wasn't a big issue as we were on vacation, but it was definitely somewhat of an annoyance.

The complimentary breakfast was a nice perk. Everything was fresh and tasty.

The staff were all very friendly and attentive, which is why we would stay here again, but on another floor and different side of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
#28 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located between Stephen Avenue and 17th Avenue, steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 30 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.