We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“met our needs well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“met our needs well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Plus recently while attending a course. We chose this property because it was still relatively close to Downtown and included parking and breakfast. Our room was clean and spacious. There was a great little kitchen a sofa and desk area. The bed was pretty comfortable. My only complaint was there seemed to be an odour in the bathroom and no fan to turn on.
Overall I found my stay quite comfortable and would likely stay again if need be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear mirmme,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying at our property.
Regarding the fan, all rooms are equipped with continuous quiet running fans
Our front desk staff is also available 24/7 to assist with any questions or issues you may encounter during your stay. We are there and always happy to help!.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    125
    55
    19
    11
See reviews for
67
82
32
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Got a great deal on expedia. The location is good if you have a car. It is about two blocks away from 17th ave (and lots of yummy food).

When we arrived, the front staff were super accommodating. They brought us a crib (we were travelling with a baby). I also forgot my key upstairs and was not able to use the elevator but the front desk was super nice and gave me another key so my husband wouldn't have to wake my child to come down to let me in. :)

The breakfast was fine. Waffles, eggs, a meat of some sort, and hash browns. I found the breakfast staff to be friendly and nice.

The room had two queen beds and a small kitchenette. It was nice to have the small kitchenette, especially when I had to prepare food for the little one. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear alter_idem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel

We are very happy to read that we met all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future..

Bets Regards,

George Dahbour
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here because I had a discount promo from BW. Hotel is in a good central location; easy access to main routes. Front desk staff was friendly enough and explained things well. Parking is excellent - choice of underground or surface lots. Room was good - lots of space; kitchenette was a bonus (and stocked with dish soap, cloth, tea towel, etc.). Bathroom smelled like food that had gone bad - not sure the reason. Breakfast was edible - I have had better at other BW hotels. A major annoyance was having to use the keycard to access just about everywhere in the hotel. I understand the need for security, but it is a real inconvenience to have the card handy for doors, elevator, etc. when you've got luggage and a child to contend with. Overall, a good place to stay for a few nights in Calgary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear extradenticle,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and suites!

As with most downtown hotels these days, guest security is of utmost importance , and as such, we are always happy to help with any issues or challenges that a guest may encounter with the safety features in place. Please let us know!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

excellent location in downtown Calgary. spacious free parking lot. clean and comfortable accommodations,great hot breakfast included. This is a gem right downtown Calgary, close to shopping and restaurants, and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear T5779IPmariac.


Thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to hosting you in the near future.


Best Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night, Monday 21 April 2014. Free breakfast, wi-fi and bonus of parking absolutely great. Travelled from USA, arrived, parked and was greeted by a lovely receptionist, Jason who efficiently gave us keys to our 12th floor room and kindly told us about shopping in Calgary, which we had asked about.
Great room, great views, clean and big
We slept well though we are not used to beds a little harder but still comfy.
Breakfast, now we were a little disappointed. Had every type of tea but not red rose or as we call it English tea. We asked the server and she got us some. Very plain but again creaks, toast, etc. i think if breakfast staff had been more friendly, ie, a smile perhaps or a 'good morning' the food may have tasted better.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk to 7th avenue, not the cleanest of roads but nevertheless, not far.
We handed in our keys, were smiled at by reception staff as we left who wished us a pleasant onward journey. Not bad at all

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Maureen L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor review of our hotel!

We appreciate your kind comments and recommendations, we will share it with our staff.

Best Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at the hotel while visiting friends in Calgary, it was in a nice location, close to places to buy groceries and some of the interesting places to visit. It was also good value for the cost, the room was both spacious and had a nice TV. The breakfast was really good as well, will definitely consider staying again next time I'm in town. As a side note, I was a bit curious about why the building has a lion rampant symbol on the side

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Emmanuel C,

Thank you for your review!

we are very happy to read that you had a great stay.
To answer your question about the architectural detailing on the exterior, namely the carved lions, this building was originally called Monarch Towers and the detailing was an enhancement constructed at the time.
Thank you for taking such an interest in the history of the building and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to stay. Clean rooms, friendly staff, free parking. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Overall an excellent experience! We always stay at the Best Western Suites in downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Fred C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel!

We appreciate your nice comments and thank you for your business.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#24 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located between Stephen Avenue and 17th Avenue, steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 30 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.