We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1804 Crowchild Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 3Y7, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #52 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Really nice hotel. Very clean and service was wonderful. The continental breakfast was amazing. Definitely recommend staying here if possible....................................................................................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    67
    67
    30
    13
See reviews for
48
40
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at for our final summer vacation and it caused our trip to not be off to a very enjoyable start. We checked in and the lady that served us was very rude, and almost mean. She definetely does not enjoy her job at all. The hotel was sold out so she made it very clear that she could care less if we were satisfied with their service or not.

I admit, my husband while trying to check in was a bit short and upset with her which in turn caused emotions to build in both of them. My spouse just kept asking for the clarification of something and she started to raise her voice at him and get more ignorant each time she spoke. When we finally managed to get us checked in there was no parking so it was an additional $10.00 to park underground.

We got to our room and noticed that the sofa bed pull out does not come with sheets, so I had to call the front desk to request them to which the front desk did not even answer. I ended up having to go down to the front desk and requesting them in person. At that time I also appologized to the lady about my partners behavior to which she made it clear that she wished that we would have just left. she was very rude to me.

The sheets finally arrived to our room about an hour after I requested them. The kids and their dad went to the pool while I sat in the room and waited for the sheets. The hot tub was broken down which was a big disapointment.

We got up early Saturday and headed out to Kananaskis country so we were out of the hotel by 8. We had a pretty good breakfast and off we went. When we arrived back aroun 9:00 pm. the toilet became plugged. Well, we tried calling the front desk to never have the call picked up so we ended up going down again. it took almost 90 minutes before they brought a plunger so I could unclog the toilet, and they brought it with a disgustingly filthy bucket of water that looked black as mud. I wish I had my camera. The thought of them smearing that mud water all over the bathroom floor where I shower and walk in bare feet caused me to not be able to sleep that night and I was sick to my stomach and could not wait to get out of that hotel. I still have trouble thinking about what would posess a hotel employee to think it is okay to not have to change the water that you wash floors with between hotel rooms. Seriousy have they no consideration of other guests? That is how bacteria, viruses and infections get transfered.

We checked out bright and early. Check out was smooth and it was appreciated to deal with someone other then the lady that checked us in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was ok check in & out easy
The construction of hot tub at the pool started early ran all day I was bothered by the sawdust flying around I choice not to use pool cause of this. The breakfast is a decent spread they just need to keep fresh food out ..it was almost empty at 9am they quickly made sure it was stocked up. Then room service came to clean room ..we hadn't checked out yet lol. It was ok

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The value quality breakfast service at this Best Western is fantastic. Very quiet place very comfortable rooms staff very accommodating, full breakfast service included in room price and excellent dinner service as well. Very comfortable beds and quick check in and out service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our stay at the Village Park Inn was very good. The location was close to transit, and easy to get to from the #1 Hwy. Will likely stay again as it was central for our requirements. We took advantage of the pool, but the hot tub was not working. We were fascinated by the process the hotel used to get the new hot tub into an area to lift it up into it's location. We checked out before the final move.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an outdated hotel, but for hotels within the same category it is not bad. They offer free wifi, free parking and free breakfast, which was decent. Great friendly staff, and the fact that there is a restaurant inside open until 10:30 is a big plus. The only thing I didn't like so much was the washroom. It needed more cleaning, especially the grout in the tub area and the walls. Also, the smoke detector's battery was dead. I didn't get to try the pol, but they also have the 24 hour fitness center. Location is good, its central. Would definitely book again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family just spent a week in this hotel. The location is great if you want access to the C-Train or freeways. We had a double queen room, which was quite spacious and comfortable. There were a few items in need of repair: crack in the ceiling, framing around the a/c kept falling off, stained roof panels in the bathroom, fridge which barely cooled the food in it. A minor but annoying issue was that the bathroom door could not be fully opened due to the curved shower rod. But realistically, none of these were of high enough importance to overshadow the positives of the hotel: convenient location, comfortable room, free breakfast, attractive atrium setting, quiet room.

The free breakfast was always enjoyable, but a bit monotonous after 7 days. Perhaps a little more variety would be in order. Also, there is an overeager waiter in the breakfast room who steals your plate as soon as you set your fork down - even if you're not actually finished but only pausing before finishing your food. He doesn't seem to understand that some guests might be trying to leisurely enjoy their breakfast. Maybe he assumes everyone is a hurried business traveller rushing through breakfast? Is he paid by the number of plates he collects?!

Warning about the hot tub: There seemed to be an issue with the temperature regulation. For a few days it was scalding hot (much hotter than 104F to be sure!) and then mellowed to a reasonable, but still very warm, temperature. Then, on the day we were leaving, the entire hot tub was removed (cut into pieces and carried away!) We asked when it would be replaced and the answer was "indefinite". If a hot tub is important to you, be sure to ask about this before booking!

For the first few nights, we parked for free in the above-ground parking lot but after 2 consecutive nights of finding that the vehicles beside ours had their windows broken we decided the $10 per night for underground parking was worth the peace of mind to ensure our vehicle wasn't broken into!

Room Tip: Request a corner room, which will provide more of a noise buffer from the noise from the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn

Address: 1804 Crowchild Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Village Park Hotel Calgary
Best Western Village Park Inn Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.