We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location (close to Foothills), Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Calgary University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Calgary University to your Saves list
Travelodge Calgary University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express") (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location (close to Foothills), Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

We were looking for an inexpensive but clean and comfortable place close to Foothills and was pleased with what we got (king-sized bed, large screen TV, large room with couch, fridge and microwave) and ended up spending approx $100 CAD. You can always pick out something that could be better but for the price, it was better than I expected. We got our non-smoking room on the third floor and the room did not reek of smoke which was nice (something I was worried about). All in all, good deal, great location.

  • Liked — Size of room for price
  • Disliked — Bathtub/shower
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    97
    51
    27
    12
See reviews for
73
51
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We travel with our dog and were pleased to discover the Travelodge accepts pets. The pet-friendly rooms are as immaculate as standard rooms. We were equally pleased by the low room rates, the excellent continental breakfast, and good customer service. We have made the Travelodge (Calgary University) our hotel of choice whenever we travel to Calgary.

  • Liked — pet-friendly, clean rooms
  • Disliked — not luxurious
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

The comforter on my blanket had semen stains on it... asked front desk to have maid change them... 1 hour later, still no sign of maid... was then told maids were gone for the day... my only option was to change rooms after i had already unpacked

breakfast was ok in the morning

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed at this travelodge location August 8th, 2007. We has initially booked when it was still a Holiday Inn. The property was well maintained. The rooms were very clean and spacous. They had microwaves and fridges as well. The continental breakfast was nice. It was too cold to swim in the outdoor pool when we stayed. The pool is shared between this property and an ajoining inn.

The only downside is the part of town the hotel is located in. There were police searching for people in our parking lot, we saw a couple bums going through the garbage outside our window. Overall we felt safe, but there were some shadey characters around! I would return.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Nice rooms. Very clean. the outdoor pool was great.
Very nice free continental breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Conveniently located near a Ctrain stop, continental breakfast included and fridge + microwave in the room, but old noisy aircon/ fan. Some rooms on the 3rd floor are also pretty noisy (with aircon off) as there is a generator or similar on the roof.

The hotel has just become a Travelodge - we hadn't been informed prior to arrival of this change and there's no sign saying 'formerly Holiday Inn Express' - note it's located at the southern end of Banff Trail.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Just stayed at this hotel for just under a week. It is priced right and provides a continental breakfast. The rooms are clean and bright and there really is nothing to complain about. There is a fridge and microwave in everyroom and the staff is quite helpful. For the price you cannot go wrong. If non smoking, try to get the third floor as it is the furthest removed from the 1st floor smoking level.

  • Liked — Great Price and really no complaints
  • Disliked — Not a four star but not what they are about
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Calgary University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.