We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discriminates Albertans” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wicked Hostels - Calgary

Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wicked Hostels - Calgary to your Saves list
Wicked Hostels - Calgary
1505 MacLeod Tr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2N6, Canada (Beltline)   |  
Hotel amenities
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Discriminates Albertans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I didn't actually stay in this hostel because I wasn't able to stay there. I live in Olds Alberta and wanted to stay at this hostel during a road trip. I booked the room and later read that I was unable to stay there because I didn't have an out of province ID. This is absolutely outrageous. I have stayed at multiple hostels throughout Alberta (Samsun in Banff, The Bear in Canmore, etc). The reasoning behind this is for the safety of the guests? I'm literally baffled by this statement. Apparently Albertans are a danger to your safety...so you probably shouldn't stay at this hostel anyway.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
9
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocca Priora, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Amazing hostel! There is Parking in front of the building, the hostel is right qcross the street from the stampede and the train station, one block away from the supermarket...! You can have a really good breakfast in the morning, guys are really nice and there is something planned almost every night (if you're interested). They even do your laundry for free (and you also have free access to computers, printers and international calls!!)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

"I stayed for one night at the Wicked Hostels @ Calgary. This was an example of providing quality facilities in a simple and elegant fashion. Absolutely wonderful and charming in the middle of the city and surrounded by friendly staff. The reception and kitchen were all trendy and cool. Best part is their free laundry service and free international calling.

Especially the cleanliness of the rooms and hostel facilities impressed me. Nice environment, very good and clean washrooms. The kitchen was the best place as we met lot of different travelers. Loved to have stayed more just that they are so popular that they get booked pretty quick!

I thoroughly enjoyed MY stay! I'd recommend it to anyone."

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The girls from the staff were really kind and gave me some good advice to visit the city. The place is clean and nice, with big kitchen and common room, a bit noisy during the night (i have no idea where the noise came from...). Very good breakfast and the hostel is right in front of the victoria park station (15minutes walking from the tower). There is a small grocery store 200mt away, you have free wifi, free international calls, computers and printer and they will do your laundry! I would definitely recommend it!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here a while ago when I was travelling alone in Canada. I think it's just the amazing Canadian culture as i had great experiences throughout my trip and I enjoyed my stay here. It was clean and tidy and staff were helpful in guiding me where to go as i truly have no sense of direction!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vankleek Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

had a great experience at Wicked hostel in Calgary. Location was fantastic for me as it's right across the main entrance to the Calgary Stampede. Great staff, and owners very friendly and knowledgable about surrounding activities as well as ready to join in on the action. great ambiance averall experience.... WICKED! :D

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We (4 friends) just stayed at the wicked hostel over the last weekend of the stampede. It was the greatest location for the stampede everything was with in a stone throw away. The beds were super comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and we would stay at the hostel again for sure.

Room Tip: try to stay on the second level if possible - kitchen and common rooms are noisy on main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wicked Hostels - Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicked Hostels - Calgary

Address: 1505 MacLeod Tr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Calgary's newest and only independent backpacker/youth hostel. We are striving to create the best backpacker accommodation in the area by offering such amenities as: The closest possible accommodation to Stampede Park/Saddledome (it's across the street). Free Breakfast, free parking, free long-distance calls to over 40 countries, free WIFI, free internet computers, movie nights projected on the common room wall. Hostel planned events such as pub crawls, floats down the Elbow River, ski trips to Olympic Park, Bike and Golf club hire, Hotel quality pillow-top spring mattresses, Hairdryers /straighteners for hire. But most importantly, we strive to create a great atmosphere where you can have fun, meet great people and have an amazing adventure with us here in Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Wicked Hostels - Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicked Hostels - Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.