We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT food and plenty of free parking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selkirk Grille

Selkirk Grille
1900 Heritage Drive SW | (in Gasoline Alley at Heritage Park), Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 14th Street
Transit: Calgary transit will bring guest to the beginning of their journey at Heritage Park.
England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“GREAT food and plenty of free parking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our group all enjoyed the daily 3 course special and everything was delicious fron starter to the dessert, with a good presentation, and quite reasonable for fine dining. Service was very good. We enjoyed our evening,would highly recommend and will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Upper eschelon of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wife and me decided to try this restaurant out at Heritage Park, Calgary just before Christmas.
The ambiance was terrific 5/5 and the service was 4/5 even though they were jam packed with two Christmas parties. Unfortunately our waiter could not answer some of our food content questions, but was attentive enough.
The menu changes frequently and we were treated to a 5 course delight. the vegetables were PERFECTLY steamed, not too soft or hard, plenty of flavor.
The meal was as advertised (Bison), and cooked exactly to order, and the Arctic Char was to die for.
Overall an excellent upper end dining experience.
Two people, two rum 'n eggnogs, two main course meals, one dessert and a bottle of $40 Canadian wine came to around $130. Very reasonable in my books. Well worth that special occasion you've been pondering. You won't go wrong, I am pretty certain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped in to the restaurant because we wanted somewhere close by to eat before going into the park. We were served by an ' old school' waiter in a great suit with a great european accent. There is no drink list because the bar tender can make you anything and everything. The staff were attentive and very refreshing! I enjoyed a baked fillet of halibut wrapped in prosciutto on a bed of beet risotto and asparagus....very moist fish and wonderfully creamy risotto.
Don't be fooled by its location or association with a theme park, it was a great restaurant with a skilled chef in the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting - Quite expensive for value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Lovely setting: had lunch on the patio

Food:
Entree special of scallops - excellent
Hamburger - not good - probably a fast food burger would have been enjoyed more

Previous visits to Selkirk Grill - meals were average to good

Service:
Cool politeness - would have been helpful if server had checked back to see if things were OK after our food was served. We needed water and some seasoning.
First time I have come across a restaurant having a policy of not giving separate checks upon request (is it so very difficult for just two people?) No biggy, but does not add to the dining experience.

The only thing that makes this restaurant "high" dining would be the price. Not the best value. Still expensive, even for those entrees which are good.

Cannot wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Elegant dining at Heritage Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Who would have thought you can get elegant dining at Heritage Park?!? But we did. It's located I the new expansion so you don't pay admission price to the park. The decore is elegant without being too overly stuffy. The serivce prompt and unobtrusive. The food was yummy. We were a party of 3 and start with the charcuterie as an appetizer. And then had halibut, elk (the special) and nicoise salad as the main. We finished off with pancetta as dessert. One of the better meals we have had. And the price wasn't too bad. Most mains were between high 20's and mid 30's. We would go back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selkirk Grille also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Selkirk Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selkirk Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.