We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel...Not sure of it as Boutique though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centro Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Centro Motel to your Saves list
Centro Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4540 16 Ave. NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B0M6, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Motel...Not sure of it as Boutique though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A very smart, clean and good sized motel room that appears to be recently refurbished with an extremely comfortable bed. It is described as "boutique" which is not really what we got and i think this is a little misleading. The only real let downs we experienced was a lot of noise from the adjacent room due to the locked internal connecting door, and perhaps the location was a little further out of town than we expected from the information we had.

Room Tip: Try and get a room without a connecting internal door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your postive comments in regards to your recent stay with Centro Motel.

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovated and clean rooms. We are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds!

We apologize for the noise transfer from the adjoining door that you experienced during your stay. We can assure you that we are taking this very seriously and are constantly looking for way to improve in this area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Centro Motel on your next visit to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
25
56
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were a little dissapointed based on hotel website. As prior posters have commented this is NOT a boutique hotel or anything close to it. Decor is not bad and shower is nice (great water pressure), but after staying for 5 nights we were more than ready to leave. Beds are very uncomfortable, room was spot cleaned but many items (dead bugs, pen caps, dust bunnies) that were there when we arrived were still there 5 days later. There is no closet to hang your clothing and very poor drawer space so if staying longer than 1 night storage is horrible. No soundproofing between rooms so we were woken up one morning at 5am by the child above us running around for 2 hours straight. Staff was friendly and most were helpful during flooding, but overall experience for price compared to others we have stayed at in Calgary was a 2-3 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Centro Motel. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful as we understand the importance of exceptional customer service and its impact on the overall guest experience.

Boutique is considered an offering that is not customary to normal standards of the product or business. We feel that we are boutique in that we are a motel and traditional motels do not customarily offer services and features such as free North American wide long distance calling, complimentary continental breakfast, bath robes, in-room Keurig coffee machines, hard floors, up-dated interiors, access to a board room, etc. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not find our beds comfortable as we have had many positive comments and feedback regarding our top-of-the-line beds. Perhaps if you could contact us directly and let us know which room you were in we could have someone look into what may have caused an issue for you.

Each room has a chest of drawers or armoir for clothing and storage but we are also willing to provide some extra storage for those staying longer than most. Arrangements would need to be made with Front Desk when making the reservation so that we could arrange that ahead of time for you.

Regarding cleanliness, we have addressed your comments with our Housekeeping Team to ensure that this is not a repeated experience. Our Housekeeping Team works very hard to ensure the cleanliness of each room and will continue to do so.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Centro Motel to wow you with our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was wonderful because of what was happening with the floods they helped us in anyway we needed used there wifi and lobby to book flights for the whole day were very helpful and genuinely nice people! I would highly recommend this motel :) there continental breakfast we described as a continental buffet! Just amazing :) room was so modern shower was perfect there's nothing I can fault this motel on! Just superb!

Room Tip: Ours was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your stay with Centro Motel. We are extremely pleased at how satisfied you are with our services, amenities and staff. During this disastrous time in Calgary, we are happy to know that we were able to make your stay a happy one.

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back to Centro Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for three days to attend our son's grad. The Centro had extensive renovations done recently and our room looked quite smart with dark tones and stylish bathroom fixtures.
What I like:
Good breakfast with nice selection of juices, yogurt, cereals
Free long distance calls
nice bedding , towels and decor
Safeway close by for groceries
general cleaniness

What I didn't like:
double beds transferred motion a bit much
lack of restaurant choices close by
air con very loud

We had a room on the second floor and to the back so street noise was not an issue. All in all a fairly good stay .

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor and to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your time in writing a review on your most recent stay at Centro Motel. We are extremely pleased that you found the decor to your liking along with the complimetary amenities and overall cleanliness.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the beds, which comments we have passed along to our housekeeping and maintenance team. We recognize that guest feedback is extremely important in allowing us to provide a better overall experience for our guests and in correcting issues we have an opportunity to show our guests that we are listening.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to Centro Motel on your next visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a newly renovated motel in the North West of Calgary. Don't let the title of a motel fool you. While it is definitely a motel on the outside, it is everything but once you get inside the room. It has a very modern feel to it; was here as a little birthday retreat for myself and enjoyed the stay very much!

Positives:

- Updated, very modern room
- Free parking
- Free Breakfast
- Free wifi
- Great shower; amazing water pressure
- Upon check out, they give you 10% off discount on your next visit

Negatives:

- Not as affordable as typical motels
- The location is clearly for truck drivers + those in such industries; not the easiest access to downtown Calgary

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind staying in a location that isn't in the SW/ downtown. You definitely get great value for the price you pay and you will enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: request a room on upper level to lessen chance of noise disruption
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Centro Motel. We extend our warmest birthday wishes to you and are pleased that we were able to contribute to the enjoyment of your special day!

We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed our complimentary in-room amenities. In addition to what you listed some guests may also enjoy the free long distance calling anywhere in North America which allows our guests to stay connected to their friends, family and work back home without the unnecessary worry of roaming charges on their cell phone or any additional charges on check-out.

The discount card given to you was our way to say thank you and let you know that we appreciate your patronage.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to Centro Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The rooms have certainly been updated which was nice; however, the rest of the experience was so-so.

The 'continental breakfast was lacking in dry goods...really only juice, coffee and yogurt.

The noise from the other suites was terrible...very thin walls and NO soundproofing.

The motel is not very central to anything...Subway, 7/11...that's it.

Staff was friendly and check in-out was easy.

Sorry, but I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exuburanceforhotels, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with Centro Motel. We are disappointed that we did not wow you with our services and product and would love another opportunity to show you what we have to offer.

Regarding the continental breakfast, we have much more than just juice, coffee and yogurt. We offer toast with different spreads, fresh fruit, baked goods, oatmeal, granola bars and cereal.

Depending on your reasons for visiting our City, our location can be quite desireable. We are mere minutes away from the Foothills and Children's Hospitals, Canada Olympic Park, McMahon Stadium, Market Mall and Shouldice Athletic Park.

We are pleased to hear that you received the service we have become known for from our staff and that your check-out process was easy.

We again thank you for your feedback as it is our guests who help us to constantly improve Centro Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

thats what the sign reads out front. I love this place - I didn't see a single roach yet I expected to see some. There was no hair in the soap - another great surprise. The room was scorching hot - the charming lady at the front desk suggested I run the air conditioner - I would NEVER have thought of that on my own so I took her advice and left for a few hours the AC BLASTING away so loud I could hear it in the parking lot which was comforting. Also comforting was seeing all the cleaning and work supplies stacked in the stairway - in case of fire it is right there so close you can trip over it. So I came back to my room after several hours and despite the noisy efforts of the AC unit...its still cooking hot. The lovely lady at the front desk explained to me that that's just the way it is but as consolation she explained continental breakfast was to be served in what appeared to be a former bathroom with the fixtures removed. The fact that the room was 100 degrees but breakfast would be cold fascinated me. As I had prepaid my room there was 'nothing she could do' but promised me the owner would call - really I hated to disturb the owner so I was glad that he never called.
I called the booking agent who offered me a refund and promised to investigate this lovely property - really it is so nice - sure it's noisy, hot, cramped, with lovely warm front desk person and it's worn out, beat up and noisy hot and cramped but hey its a boutique motel making it a great place to waste $100 a night! And to quote the front desk person "we have never had a complaint" - really where else can you stay that has never had a complaint at any price?

Room Tip: book at another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exuburanceforhotels, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your outlook on Centro Motel. Perhaps your experiences at different properties would lead you to expect roaches and hair in the soap, however, as cleanliness is a high priority at Centro Motel, we are not surprised that we did not meet your expectations in those regards.

Concerning our customer service, I think it is clearly evidenced by other reviewers that our staff have become known for going out of their way to provide professional, courteous and helpful service. Our warm and lovely guests should expect no less.

As for the matter of the stairwell, we can assure everyone that they are clear and free of debris as evidenced by our fire inspection reports wherein we either meet or exceed the City of Calgary requirements.

If you found that upon check-in that Centro Motel did not fit your needs, we would have been happy to help you find accommodations at another property. Unfortunately, however, when you use a third party site to book your stay and pay that site directly, we can only assist you to obtain your refund directly from them, which our staff member tried to explain to you.

It is unfortunate that you did not find Centro Motel to meet your expectations but we hope that in your future travels to our wonderful City, that you will find that special property that suits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Motel

Address: 4540 16 Ave. NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B0M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centro Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Motel is a boutique Calgary motel offering rooms that are clean, close and connected. Located on the TransCanada highway, Centro is conveniently placed nearby many amenities and attractions, including the Foothills and Children’s Hospitals, the University of Calgary, McMahon Stadium, Shouldice Athletic Park, the Olympic Oval, and is merely 10 minutes away from downtown Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Centro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centro Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.