We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what I expected...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centro Motel

Save Saved
You added Centro Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centro Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4540 16 Ave. NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B0M6, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADVANCE PURCHASE SPECIAL!
Ranked #45 of 98 hotels in Calgary
rugby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Better than what I expected...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bookied this for 2 nights prior to leaving Calgary, have to admit was quite shocked at how good it actually was.

Have never stayed in a 'motel' and was very pleased with this type of accomodation...booked on spur of moment, price looked good, pictures looked great, free wifi and free breakfast...perfect! Turned up and did contempate turning round, glad I didnt!

Hotel receptionist was very pleasant and helpful, much better than most of 'chain' receptionists!!!

Ground floor room was more than acceptable, in fact very impressed, modern bathroom area, great shower didnt encounter any cold showers! However, laminate floor and wheels on beds are a bit awkward with kids or when you sit on the bed and you can also hear people aboce walking around, maybe shouldve put some better underflooring under it. The air conditioning unit worked very well but noisy, so turned it off and the water swilling around was just as noisy, luckily not a
light sleeper but can understand that it would be a problem for people who are.

Rooms are quite small, so have to agree with others that have said its great for a few days would hate to spend anything more than that...

Breakfast, bearing in mind it was included in price, wasnt expecting much but it was much better than the breakfast at the big chain hotel I had just spent 2 weeks in!!! British cereals!!! Toast, jam, honey, marmalade and peanut butter!!! Pastries!!! Tea, Coffee, Hot Chocolate, Herbal Teas!!! Orange & Apple juice!!! Yoghurts!!! Fruits!!! Granola bars!!! Porridge...was very very impressed...nothing ever ran out and lady at breakfast was forever topping things up or straightening things. Two very minor issues 1) plastic cutlery...which you struggle to butter your toast with & 2) not enough seating...I can imagine that at some point there wont be enough seating for everyone.

I would definately stay here again in a heartbeat...

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room if you dont want to listen to people above walking around.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences on your most recent stay with Centro Motel. We strive to provide quality and value to our guests and are extremely pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations. It is rewarding to hear that your interaction with our team was so positive as our team truly understands how important our guests are. Your feedback provides us with the ability to continually improve our offerings so that future guests will enjoy the same experience and value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Centro Motel on your next visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
22
49
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked into this motel as a cheap weekend getaway not expecting much, we were very pleasantly suprised it was so nicely decorated and clean !! that was my selling point so clean!!!! everyone was really nice! the beds were very comfortable and was such a convienient location. Even the continential breakfast was nice.WOULD MOST DEFINITLY RECOMMEND AND GO BACK!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Centro Motel. We will continue to do everything possible to ensure that you will find the same high level of cleanliness and service on every future stay with us. It is rewarding to know that our efforts are noticed and appreciated by our valued guests. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Centro Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed there for 7 nights on the first night water all over the floor air conditioner not hooked up the right way.Parking lot to tight got damaged done to car from other cars banging doors.TV not working right color flashing on it. Was told that there was a problem with the cable company. It was a wne fridge not an actual fridge so we could only put in a few drink bottles.Door was left unlocked by cleaning staff. The staff was very friendly, the room was very clean, the location was ok. I have stayed in other places that offer more for breakfast and a lower price so they can add more to there breakfast items.

Room Tip: It not a good place to stay for a long term ok for 1 or 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay at Centro Motel. It is guest feedback that allows us to constantly improve our product and customer service.

I have spoken with our team members and unfortunately no one received any report from a guest regarding vehicle damage. We encourage all guests to report any issues or concerns immediately so that they can be addressed and, should the occasion arise, assisted with filing a police report in regards to vehicle damage.

I have shared your other comments and concerns with the appropriate departments. I am pleased to hear that after the AC problem you experienced on the first night was reported to our maintenance department, the machine was replaced with a new one and there was no further occurrence of leaking for the duration of your stay.

We at Centro Motel encourage our guests to contact us directly with requests for amenities that may be required for a longer stay and we will try to accommodate all requests to the best of our abilitiy.

We are disappointed that we were unable to meet all of your expectations but hope that you will choose us on your next stay in Calgary so that we can show you the value and exceptional customer service that Centro Motel is striving to be known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night at the start and two at the end of recent trip. On one of main routes out of town, and easy to find. Rooms are as shown, with fridge in room and free, very adequate, breakfast, Gas station nearby and Safeway a little further away, also very handy. Only fault is that rooms are south & west facing - so need to keep blinds drawn to keep room from overheating - there ARE air con units in the room. Recommended, and would use again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We would like to thank you so much for sharing your experience at our Motel. We are happy that you enjoyed our rooms and that our location was ideal for your purposes. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Centro Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is the first time I have written a bad review but you should stay somewhere else. This motel has electrical issues wires hanging out of base board heaters, the power went off and we were told it was because of rolling brown outs but we changed wall sockets when we had no power and the TV would work but still had no lights... VERY noisie room we could hear everything unless we had the airconditoning on (because it was sooo loud) but it quit every 5 minutes and we had to unplug it from the wall and plug it back in to get it working. The staff came 3 times to fix it but couldn't. No drawers to put our clothes in and only room to have 4 or 5 items (total) hang on the wall.
Our king size room was two twin beds that were pushed together on a slippery laminate floor and kept separating.
I wish I would have spent more (this place was not cheap) and stayed somewhere else this hotel wrecked our trip to Calgary!

Room Tip: WE stayed in room 271 don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and a comfortable stay so it is disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Your stay was during our centennial Stampede and during that time there was an unfortunate incident in our City's NW quadrant wherein 2 of the 3 generator's that provide electricity went down. Due to this, the City enacted rolling power saving measures to conserve energy which unfortunately affected the power supply to businesses and residences alike.

We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention as some of these are items that are on our work in progress list. We are pleased to let you know that we were in the process of changing all our mattresses over to a complete King set and that the changeover will be completed in its entirety tomorrow.

I have personally confirmed that every room has either a 5 drawer bureau or a 2 drawer credenza with a lower rack for those guests looking to place folded clothing.

It is the constructive feedback from our guests that helps us to continually improve to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in Centro for ten nights and were very satisfied with the comfort of the rooms, the service, and especially with the personal attention given to us by the staff.

The rooms were realistically represented online so there were no surprises.- small rooms but very clean with wonderfully comfortable beds and, although it is located on the TransCanda Highway, it was quiet and I slept well. I never felt rushed out of my room by the cleaning staff - no one was knocking on my door to hurry me away for cleaning. There was no iron or ironing board in the room but when I asked, one was brought to me immediately. There is no closet in the rooms but there are ample hangers on a wall rack. There is large screen TV and a small refrigerator in each room. The windows have both blinds and curtains so the amount of light can be easily controlled if someone needs a darkened room for sleeping.

The free continental breakfast was ample with cereals, granola, juice, coffee, tea, toast, muffins and fresh fruit. The eating area, while not luxurious, was clean and spacious. We did not feel the need to go elsewhere for breakfast any of the days of our stay.

The lobby is very small but has two computers with free internet and the internet in the rooms was free and worked well with my laptop.

We found the Centro's location to be ideal for visiting relatives in the Silver Spring area across the river from the Olympic Park and for getting out of town in either direction via various routes.

The staff is small but very friendly - always greeting us and very ready with directions, tips, and any advice we needed. In the middle of our stay we received a call from home that one of our dogs had died and I was very upset. I spoke about it in passing to one of the staff members who was most sympathetic and genuinely concerned - and became a source of comfort to us.

I am very glad we did not book a place in a large chain hotel because I definitely would not have felt as comfortable, as welcomed, or as cared for as I did at Centro. Here they treated us like family.

If you are looking for a clean place with a reasonable price, a nice staff, and a good night's sleep - this is the place. I definitely would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at Centro Motel. Please accept our condolences on the loss of your pet.

We know that an important component of positive guest experiences is their interaction with our staff. As one of our goals in creating an enjoyable guest experience is exceptional customer service, it is rewarding to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations in this regard.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's on Highway 1 on the west edge of town, and you park your car in front of your door. But that's where the comparison to the motels of my youth ends -- the rooms are as the photos and reviews describe: new, modern, clean, and comfortable, and I've never stayed anyplace like it. Really a pleasant surprise.
They aren't super-high-quality finishes and it felt a tiny bit DIY. (But so does my house, so that's okay.) And the glass door to the toilet suggests you ought to know your roommate pretty well. I'd also recommend the top floor: we were on the ground, and anytime our upstairs neighbors were present, the ceiling *tick-tick-tick-tick*ed with annoying/alarming regularity. We never heard footsteps -- it was more like a structural thing. But aside from that, I highly recommend it: it was the best motel of our trip by far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We thank you for your review and are proud to be named the best motel of your trip by far. We strive very hard to provide a quality experience for our guests and it is rewarding to hear that our efforts resulted in a pleasant experience for you.

We hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip and that we can welcome you back to our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Motel

Address: 4540 16 Ave. NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B0M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centro Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Motel is a boutique Calgary motel offering rooms that are clean, close and connected. Located on the TransCanada highway, Centro is conveniently placed nearby many amenities and attractions, including the Foothills and Children’s Hospitals, the University of Calgary, McMahon Stadium, Shouldice Athletic Park, the Olympic Oval, and is merely 10 minutes away from downtown Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Centro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centro Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.