We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a night or two on business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Calgary to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sundays: no checkout time
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for a night or two on business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great hotel. I have stayed here a few times on business and will be back for sure! The lobby bar service is always a bit slow, but the bar at Charcut is attached; go there instead for a pre-dinner drink.

The beds are comfortable, and the rooms very large for a boutique hotel. The continental breakfast is perfect and has lots of variety. The hotel staff is always accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    123
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
227
27
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Simply great. Elegant hotel, well located. Best shower and bathroom, very comfortable beds. They cannot do enough for you. I try to stay here every time I come to Calgary. Everything about this place is first class

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel totally exceeded our expectations! The rooms are tastefully contemporary modern. The youthful friendly staff is very eager to satisfy all wishes and needs. And they do! The spa on the upper floor is wonderful to relax after an eventful day. Love this hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on October 8th, when we pulled up to the hotel valet was very prompt and helped us unload our car, than parked it right away.
When I made the reservation for our stay I forgot I had told them it was for our honeymoon. When we opened the door to our room to our surprise we had a small bottle of chilled champagne, a bouquet of flowers, and a lovely hand written note congratulating us on our marriage.
The room was large, and very clean.
Bathroom is also large, and clean. Toilet is separate from the rest of bathroom, shower is huge, it has a soaker shower head and it also has a removable wand. Such a relaxing shower. They also supplied bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and body was in the shower.
The closet is a mini walk in, a nice bench in there for your suitcase. There is also a safe, robe, and umbrella.
The staff are amazing, very informative and helpful.
The only downside to our room was the dim lighting, not good for applying makeup, but good for setting the mood.
Location of the hotel is great. Located in the heart of downtown Calgary. The Calgary town is literally right across the road, Char Cut is an amazing restaurant located right in the hotel. It is a must for all of you meat eaters :) there are many pubs, bars, cafés, and restaurants all in just a few minute walk out the hotels front doors, along with all sorts of great shops.
I highly recommend this hotel to all, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic in every way and gorgeous interior design. Loved the rain shower head. Most comfortable bed and pillows I've ever experienced. Plus best croissant outside of Paris. The only quibble, seriously, was that the honeydew melon in the breakfast buffet was not ripe enough....

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room was very small and the lighting was almost nil.,.One of the lamps wasn't working so it made it worse. We did call down for a new light bulb and it was delivered promptly but that didn't work either. It was clean and updated and the staff were very friendly. I would stay here again but maybe get a larger room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while getting married in Calgary. Had lots of special requests and the staff were so great they practically read our minds and anticipated what we would need. I would recommend for an event or special celebration, it's a superior hotel compared to anything else in Calgary. They made us feel welcomed and like honoured guests. It helped to make our wedding weekend stress free! Room was lovely and modern and much less generic than a typical hotel room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.