We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Nice European Style Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Calgary to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Extremely Nice European Style Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

So I just visited Calgary for a business meeting. I usually stay at the Marriott, but this time couldn't get a room so I stayed at the Le Germain across the street. It is a European style hotel and is just very nice! The room was just amazing, bed and pillows were comfy, lighting was great, comfy chair, amazing bathroom, etc. I ate at the bar and simply enjoyed my stay. My one negative comment was that the Internet Connection is simply terrible and I wound up running over to the Marriott simply to get a good Internet connection (which was a bit rediculous to have to do). Regardless, I'm glad I stayed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Dan1718,

Thank you very much for the great review, we truly appreciate it. With the internet connection, may I ask where in the hotel you had signal issues? We offer wired and wireless internet in all our guest rooms, complimentary as you know. I'm curious to know if the signal issues were in public spaces. You can contact me at mschaay@germaincalgary.com. I look forward to hearing from you and thanks again for a great review.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    130
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
239
28
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Three Hills, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

had a great time! the hotel room was so beautiful. we stayed for our anniversary and they left us a note as well as a bottle of wine! it is the first time i have got choclates by the bed:) we will happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello janet437,

Thank you for the great review. We are very happy to see that you selected our hotel for your special occasion. We look forward to seeing you again for your next anniversary stay. If you need anything at all please let us know. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've reviewed this hotel before - I visit regularly for business. It continues to satisfy - great service, good staff, elegant appointments, quiet, rooms large and comfortable, good for working in - large desk, classy bathroom (once you figure out how to turn the shower on), lovely soaps and shampoos, beds very comfortable, hotel just the right size. Jil and Zahava at the concierge desk actually went out for me on a Sunday and procured a Sunday New York Times - it's just an example of what the staff will do to respond to a request. I find the breakfast to be very good although some European colleagues felt for a luxury hotel it didn't provide as much as such a hotel should (you pay an extra $14 for an omelette for example). Two small complaints - the wooden shutter blinds are handsome but don't cut out all the ambient light. In the bathroom there's nothing to put your feet on to towel your legs off or apply body cream. Otherwise, I'm very satisfied.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor either on the west or north sides. Quieter away from 9th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The outside of the building is your first indicator that this is a cool hotel. The second is the happening scene in the hotel restaurant (no really). Charcut was buzzing on a Thursday night (not typical of downtown Calgary) and the food was excellent. If you're entertaining clients I would recommend Charcut since the "sharring" plates are great for, well...sharring. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are luxurious. The breakfast room encourages communial dinning which I liked- as a frequent business traveller sometimes it's nice not to eat on your own all the time. If you have a generous business expense account this is a great hotel, it's also very secure if you're a women traveller with safety concerns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Jwigg2,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed both CHARCUT and Le Germain. We appreciated the comments you left and hope to see you again in the near future. Please let us know if we can help with anything else in the future. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazytreamtravel
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I first stay in the Hotel Le Germain about 8 years ago in Montreal. I remember being very impressed by the modern style and excellent service. I have also stay at Le Germaine in Toronto. The Hotel has never disappointed and remains the perfect business hotel.

The location in Calgary is not perfect, just a block or two away from the core of the city and it is difficult to get a taxi.

I love the free wifi, I do not understand why some hotels still charge. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever sleeped in, perfect for the tired traveller.

Surprisingly the fitness facility is just slightly above average and they need to improve the signage for the different elevator banks...a cold early morning run between towers!!!

I was bothered by the $2.50 charge for Nespresso coffee in the room, most hotels I have stayed In That provide a Nespresso machine provide the coffee free...and all hotels should provide this in-room service.

Desk is perfecting for working, with lots of plugs for charging ipad and blackberries and the room and hotel style is first rate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Crazyteamtravel,

We want to thank you for the positive review you have left and feedback you shared. We are constantly upgrading our Fitness Centre and recently completed an expansion of this area. We now have installed signage on all elevators; we agree this is important and completed this right away. We have complimentary coffee in our lobby lounge until 4pm every day and in our breakfast room during breakfast hours. Once again, thank you for the review and feedback provided. We look forward to seeing you again. Please let us know if we can help with anything in the future.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our wedding night. We debated on a number of downtown hotels but decided on the Hotel Le Germain because of the Trip Advisor rating. We weren't disappointed. The hotel allowed me to come early in the day to drop off my bags and park my car in their parking garage. Later in the night when we got to the hotel, the staff had written us a lovely congratulations card and accompanied it with a bottle of champagne. The bedroom was HUGE and offered a great view. The shower was fantastic, and I enjoyed staring out over the Bow building while showering. I recommend this hotel for a stay in Calgary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were just staying one night in Calgary, & this hotel was well located in the centre of the city near the tower & the shopping areas. Beautifully sleek reception, and the room turned out to be the same. This was the first of 3 hotels in this chain we stayed in, and none of them disappointed. Comfortable, massive bathroom, lots of space, good breakfast. And a decent restaurant as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.