We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel with a happening restaurant scene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Germain Calgary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekends start at $209
Ranked #6 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool hotel with a happening restaurant scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The outside of the building is your first indicator that this is a cool hotel. The second is the happening scene in the hotel restaurant (no really). Charcut was buzzing on a Thursday night (not typical of downtown Calgary) and the food was excellent. If you're entertaining clients I would recommend Charcut since the "sharring" plates are great for, well...sharring. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are luxurious. The breakfast room encourages communial dinning which I liked- as a frequent business traveller sometimes it's nice not to eat on your own all the time. If you have a generous business expense account this is a great hotel, it's also very secure if you're a women traveller with safety concerns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Jwigg2,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed both CHARCUT and Le Germain. We appreciated the comments you left and hope to see you again in the near future. Please let us know if we can help with anything else in the future. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    95
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
184
22
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
crazytreamtravel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I first stay in the Hotel Le Germain about 8 years ago in Montreal. I remember being very impressed by the modern style and excellent service. I have also stay at Le Germaine in Toronto. The Hotel has never disappointed and remains the perfect business hotel.

The location in Calgary is not perfect, just a block or two away from the core of the city and it is difficult to get a taxi.

I love the free wifi, I do not understand why some hotels still charge. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever sleeped in, perfect for the tired traveller.

Surprisingly the fitness facility is just slightly above average and they need to improve the signage for the different elevator banks...a cold early morning run between towers!!!

I was bothered by the $2.50 charge for Nespresso coffee in the room, most hotels I have stayed In That provide a Nespresso machine provide the coffee free...and all hotels should provide this in-room service.

Desk is perfecting for working, with lots of plugs for charging ipad and blackberries and the room and hotel style is first rate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Crazyteamtravel,

We want to thank you for the positive review you have left and feedback you shared. We are constantly upgrading our Fitness Centre and recently completed an expansion of this area. We now have installed signage on all elevators; we agree this is important and completed this right away. We have complimentary coffee in our lobby lounge until 4pm every day and in our breakfast room during breakfast hours. Once again, thank you for the review and feedback provided. We look forward to seeing you again. Please let us know if we can help with anything in the future.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our wedding night. We debated on a number of downtown hotels but decided on the Hotel Le Germain because of the Trip Advisor rating. We weren't disappointed. The hotel allowed me to come early in the day to drop off my bags and park my car in their parking garage. Later in the night when we got to the hotel, the staff had written us a lovely congratulations card and accompanied it with a bottle of champagne. The bedroom was HUGE and offered a great view. The shower was fantastic, and I enjoyed staring out over the Bow building while showering. I recommend this hotel for a stay in Calgary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were just staying one night in Calgary, & this hotel was well located in the centre of the city near the tower & the shopping areas. Beautifully sleek reception, and the room turned out to be the same. This was the first of 3 hotels in this chain we stayed in, and none of them disappointed. Comfortable, massive bathroom, lots of space, good breakfast. And a decent restaurant as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I arrived at the hotel at night. Everything inside too was very dark.
The room itself had the best ambiance lighting I had ever seen. Very relaxing. The wood build-ins throughout the room must have cost a fortune! The layout and features were very well thought out.

However....by day, everything was still really, really dark. With the lights on at full blast, the window coverings fully open, I coudn't not see very well. Trying to get dressed for a meeting and trying to put my make-up on properly in the dark bathroom was not fun.

The walk-in closet was to die for and super, but I agree with the other comments about the sad fold-up ironing board...why not put put a full sized one in the closet????

The silliest thing I saw was that the ceiling was painted pitch black. It it was off-white maybe the guests wouldn't complain so much about the darkness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Matisse24,

Thank you for the review and the feedback you have shared. We have actually purchased additional lamps for all rooms and we should see them early in 2013. We always have full size ironing boards if requested. Many guests prefer to have the ironing board out of the way. If you can get back to me, I will ensure that we have a full size ironing board in your room for future stays. Once again, thanks for the review and the feedback you have shared. Look forward to hear from you, mschaay@germaincalgary.com.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in August 2012. The room was so Euro-style and modern it made for a lot of fun. Just figuring out the lights and shower was hilarious - very counterintuitive but once we got used to it they were great. We had two beds and a lot of sitting space, both at a work station and in spare chairs. Lots of closet storage too. The room came w/complimentary breakfast that was a great spread - good cheeses, cereals plus hot food with a nice view of the downtown area. Location was literally across the street from the Tower and walking distance to museums, shops, food etc.

Room Tip: Our window looked out right onto another building, shortening our view. Ask for a room that looks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is located right downtown in Calgary and is an easy walk to most places. The hotel itself is very modern, extremely clean and offers a nice change from the usual "blah" hotels I stay in for business. Valet parking is provided.

The room itself is well-equipped and very clean with all essential amenities. The shower is excellent, best I’ve found in a hotel I think. Only negatives are that the sliding doors between the bedroom/bathroom/toilet do not stay fully closed and may not provide the privacy you want, and the towels were a little too stiff and so not very comfortable to use.

On the ground floor of the hotel is a top-notch restaurant (Charcut Roast House) offering an excellent menu. The food was fantastic and the service good.

If you want to stay in a hotel slightly different from the rest, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello TreckingLee,

We just want to thank you for the great review. Please let us know if we can assist with anything in the future. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.