We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V good one-night stay in Calgary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Germain Calgary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekends start at $209
Ranked #5 of 98 hotels in Calgary
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“V good one-night stay in Calgary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were just staying one night in Calgary, & this hotel was well located in the centre of the city near the tower & the shopping areas. Beautifully sleek reception, and the room turned out to be the same. This was the first of 3 hotels in this chain we stayed in, and none of them disappointed. Comfortable, massive bathroom, lots of space, good breakfast. And a decent restaurant as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    93
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
182
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I arrived at the hotel at night. Everything inside too was very dark.
The room itself had the best ambiance lighting I had ever seen. Very relaxing. The wood build-ins throughout the room must have cost a fortune! The layout and features were very well thought out.

However....by day, everything was still really, really dark. With the lights on at full blast, the window coverings fully open, I coudn't not see very well. Trying to get dressed for a meeting and trying to put my make-up on properly in the dark bathroom was not fun.

The walk-in closet was to die for and super, but I agree with the other comments about the sad fold-up ironing board...why not put put a full sized one in the closet????

The silliest thing I saw was that the ceiling was painted pitch black. It it was off-white maybe the guests wouldn't complain so much about the darkness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Matisse24,

Thank you for the review and the feedback you have shared. We have actually purchased additional lamps for all rooms and we should see them early in 2013. We always have full size ironing boards if requested. Many guests prefer to have the ironing board out of the way. If you can get back to me, I will ensure that we have a full size ironing board in your room for future stays. Once again, thanks for the review and the feedback you have shared. Look forward to hear from you, mschaay@germaincalgary.com.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in August 2012. The room was so Euro-style and modern it made for a lot of fun. Just figuring out the lights and shower was hilarious - very counterintuitive but once we got used to it they were great. We had two beds and a lot of sitting space, both at a work station and in spare chairs. Lots of closet storage too. The room came w/complimentary breakfast that was a great spread - good cheeses, cereals plus hot food with a nice view of the downtown area. Location was literally across the street from the Tower and walking distance to museums, shops, food etc.

Room Tip: Our window looked out right onto another building, shortening our view. Ask for a room that looks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is located right downtown in Calgary and is an easy walk to most places. The hotel itself is very modern, extremely clean and offers a nice change from the usual "blah" hotels I stay in for business. Valet parking is provided.

The room itself is well-equipped and very clean with all essential amenities. The shower is excellent, best I’ve found in a hotel I think. Only negatives are that the sliding doors between the bedroom/bathroom/toilet do not stay fully closed and may not provide the privacy you want, and the towels were a little too stiff and so not very comfortable to use.

On the ground floor of the hotel is a top-notch restaurant (Charcut Roast House) offering an excellent menu. The food was fantastic and the service good.

If you want to stay in a hotel slightly different from the rest, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello TreckingLee,

We just want to thank you for the great review. Please let us know if we can assist with anything in the future. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is likely the best (or at least one of the best) hotels in Calgary. It is classy, central, modern and has an energetic feeling after you have checked in. Supplies and facilities inside the room are great but one thing missing is a hot water in room heater as on a cool night some guest may like to enjoy a glass of warm or hot water before retiring to bed. The bellman was very professional: he showed us to the room and showed us all the modern features and control. There is an electricity saving switch: very european style. The bathroom is very spacious and the desk for computer use is also spacious. There is wireless internet without any service charge. We also valet parked our car and it was great. The doorman even brought us up some luggage we left in our car as we could not get to the car on our own after it was valet parked. All in all, a good experience staying at this hotel except some mild disappointment after dining at the restaurant in regards to the unimaginative food presentation.

Room Tip: rooms are very modern, reminds me of the W hotel I stayed at during my visit to Montreal. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello peter c,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We really appreciate the comments you have shared with us. We do have Kettles in the hotel when requested. Please let me know and I will ensure you have a kettle in your room for all future stays. Once again, thank you for the great review.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Modern spacious rooms, comfy bed linen, powerful showers, Nespresso coffee machine in your room. The room is very huge, I have a de-King room, a walk -in closet, large bathroom with amazing walk in shower and huge sink, and the main room has a kind bed, comfy purple chaise lounge, workspace area, flatscreen 50" tv mounted to the wall and all sorts of other nice decorations.... There are a number of great restaurants around the hotel. The front desk staff were great. Very professional and personable. Parking is tough and expensive. All in all best hotel in town!

Room Tip: deluxe king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've stayed at multiple hotels in downtown Calgary, The Sheraton Eau Claire, the Hyatt, the Bow Valley Delta, the Palliser, the Hotel Arts, etc. many on more than one occassion. I chose this hotel for our wedding night and our wedding party. Altogether we spent about 12 hours in the room which may not be considered long enough to provide an informed review but the hotel certainly lived up to my exacting expectations in a really big way and I look forward to returning. It is the epitome of what a city property should represent - stylish, modern, trendy and hip. Sometimes cutting edge hotels like this they miss the mark and sacrifice function for style, this is NOT the case here. They really nailed it. The personalized hand written room drop was a great touch. Although the front desk seemed a little confused regarding the billing of our group, they certainly were trying hard (which was appreciated) and it all worked out in the end. Could I complain? No, but the mountain man in me would like to see the image of Mount Rundle in the Assiniboine Dining Room replaced with one of...Mount Assiniboine. Makes sense? Alternatively, calling two of their side by side meeting rooms North Twin and South Twin...very clever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello sekaitraveller,

Thank you for the great review. We are very happy to see that you selected our hotel for your special occasion. We look forward to seeing you again for your 1st anniversary stay. If you need anything at all please let us know. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.