We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Germain Calgary to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunday: no checkout time
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Modern & comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is located right downtown in Calgary and is an easy walk to most places. The hotel itself is very modern, extremely clean and offers a nice change from the usual "blah" hotels I stay in for business. Valet parking is provided.

The room itself is well-equipped and very clean with all essential amenities. The shower is excellent, best I’ve found in a hotel I think. Only negatives are that the sliding doors between the bedroom/bathroom/toilet do not stay fully closed and may not provide the privacy you want, and the towels were a little too stiff and so not very comfortable to use.

On the ground floor of the hotel is a top-notch restaurant (Charcut Roast House) offering an excellent menu. The food was fantastic and the service good.

If you want to stay in a hotel slightly different from the rest, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello TreckingLee,

We just want to thank you for the great review. Please let us know if we can assist with anything in the future. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    114
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
43
206
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is likely the best (or at least one of the best) hotels in Calgary. It is classy, central, modern and has an energetic feeling after you have checked in. Supplies and facilities inside the room are great but one thing missing is a hot water in room heater as on a cool night some guest may like to enjoy a glass of warm or hot water before retiring to bed. The bellman was very professional: he showed us to the room and showed us all the modern features and control. There is an electricity saving switch: very european style. The bathroom is very spacious and the desk for computer use is also spacious. There is wireless internet without any service charge. We also valet parked our car and it was great. The doorman even brought us up some luggage we left in our car as we could not get to the car on our own after it was valet parked. All in all, a good experience staying at this hotel except some mild disappointment after dining at the restaurant in regards to the unimaginative food presentation.

Room Tip: rooms are very modern, reminds me of the W hotel I stayed at during my visit to Montreal. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello peter c,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We really appreciate the comments you have shared with us. We do have Kettles in the hotel when requested. Please let me know and I will ensure you have a kettle in your room for all future stays. Once again, thank you for the great review.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Modern spacious rooms, comfy bed linen, powerful showers, Nespresso coffee machine in your room. The room is very huge, I have a de-King room, a walk -in closet, large bathroom with amazing walk in shower and huge sink, and the main room has a kind bed, comfy purple chaise lounge, workspace area, flatscreen 50" tv mounted to the wall and all sorts of other nice decorations.... There are a number of great restaurants around the hotel. The front desk staff were great. Very professional and personable. Parking is tough and expensive. All in all best hotel in town!

Room Tip: deluxe king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've stayed at multiple hotels in downtown Calgary, The Sheraton Eau Claire, the Hyatt, the Bow Valley Delta, the Palliser, the Hotel Arts, etc. many on more than one occassion. I chose this hotel for our wedding night and our wedding party. Altogether we spent about 12 hours in the room which may not be considered long enough to provide an informed review but the hotel certainly lived up to my exacting expectations in a really big way and I look forward to returning. It is the epitome of what a city property should represent - stylish, modern, trendy and hip. Sometimes cutting edge hotels like this they miss the mark and sacrifice function for style, this is NOT the case here. They really nailed it. The personalized hand written room drop was a great touch. Although the front desk seemed a little confused regarding the billing of our group, they certainly were trying hard (which was appreciated) and it all worked out in the end. Could I complain? No, but the mountain man in me would like to see the image of Mount Rundle in the Assiniboine Dining Room replaced with one of...Mount Assiniboine. Makes sense? Alternatively, calling two of their side by side meeting rooms North Twin and South Twin...very clever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello sekaitraveller,

Thank you for the great review. We are very happy to see that you selected our hotel for your special occasion. We look forward to seeing you again for your 1st anniversary stay. If you need anything at all please let us know. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you are a fan of modern, this is it! Across from the Calgary Tower, our room was a generous size, quiet, with very modern furnishings and intense colors. Eco-friendly, but a bit gloomy with little in the way of natural light, but lots of choice in lighting fixtures. Bathroom was very large and bright with one of the largest rain showers ever seen, plus a hand unit. Great bath products, towels and robes too! Liked the idea of separate door for toilet area. Could have been cleaner, especially drain and the area behind the large asymmetrical sink. King bed was super comfy, with lovely linens. Front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Was impressed with deluxe continental breakfast, lots of choice.

Room Tip: Leave the car parked and either walk or use the C train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello GetAboutGal,

Thank you for the overall very positive review. We were happy to share your comments and feedback to our team. We apologize that the cleanliness of the room did not meet your expectations. Cleanliness is obviously something that we take very serious. Every room in our hotel is also checked by a Supervisor to ensure the room sparkles. We will follow up with the team to ensure the areas mentioned in the review are checked thoroughly. Thanks again for the review and feedback provided.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Modern hotel right in the middle of downtown. Conveniently located near numerous restaurants and shops. Service friendly and professional. Luxury (corner) room had a nice view on the busy street below. King-size bed was perfect and the bathroom was large and very nice . As this is a design hotel, the furniture looks great, but sometimes is not too comfortable. The restaurant, which is popular with non-hotel guests, is large and quite busy, but serves a decent meal at a reasonable price.
Breakfast was served in special room , however the assortment for the continental breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed four nights here in July, just after the Stampede. Very conveniently situated hotel, right in the middle of town, modern and new. But the style is darkly minimalist, a triumph of appearances over function - cold, gloomy, unwelcoming. Very dark feel to the room - the near black ceiling was frankly oppressive - and a spartan feel to the furnishings. In the bathroom, absurdly-shaped impractical washbasin, and shower and toilet cubicles enclosed by heavy sliding glass panels that clanked every time they were opened or closed.
Breakfast disappointing and not better in terms of choice and quality than what is offered by some of the newest budget chains in the UK.
We wanted to love Le Germain but it proved impossible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello n0rbr8ck,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We truly appreciate all feedback we receive. We were disappointed to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations. If there is anything we can do in the future to make a stay more enjoyable please let us know. We would be more than happy to accommodate you in any way we can. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.