We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Calgary to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sundays: no checkout time
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dodge City, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was visiting Calgary from the states and decided to spend the weekend at Hotel Le Germain. Upon arrival there was a slight delay checking in due to the individual at the front desk being fairly new as he explained. Other than that staff did a excellent job meeting my needs. The hotel is conveniently located with many restaurants within walking distance. However, valet services were prompt and courtesy whenever driving was needed. The layout of the hotel is inviting and great for socializing outside of your room. The loft style rooms are amazing, and being 6’5 the oversized rainfall shower was well appreciated.

Moving forward, I see no need to stay anywhere else when visiting Calgary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    123
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
227
27
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in a Superior Room for 2 nights while visiting for business. Had stayed in a Luxury Room on my previous visits therefore was used to the big space of the bigger rooms. This said the Superior Room was fantastic with all the amenities I could want, very clean and great bed.

Even though the hotel was sold out during this visit the service was once again great, very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was delicious as usual with good choices and friendly service for hot drinks.

I will say that the gym keeps getting better with each visit as they continue to add new equipment. The views from the rooftop are very nice and adds to the benefit of visiting the gym. I was also told that they have now opened a sauna but did not have time to try it.

One of the highlights of the trip was dinner at Char Cut. We have been going to this restaurant on each visit but the food here is delicious, well priced and fresh.

Continues to be our go to hotel in Calgary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hello Ridgesas,

Just want to thank you for the fantastic review. We really appreciate the comments and have shared them with our team.

Thank you

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and i arrived at Le Germain Hotel in Calgary after a gruelling 26 hours travel from Australia. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed by a lovely girl on the front desk by the name of Christine. Ever so polite and helpful, the check in was swift and easy and the car was sorted with the complimentary valet parking we got with Expedia. The rain shower in the bathroom was a god send after so many hours of travel, it was the biggest i have ever experienced! The room was massive and well appointed as was the contemporary bathroom. The king bed and linen was super comfortable and we slept well on the 7th floor. The hotel is situated right across the road from the Calgary Tower which makes it easy to find if you don't have a GPS and are driving. We ate dinner downstairs at Charcut (be sure to book online prior to your arrival as it gets extremely busy) and it was fantastic. Great beer list and great food menu - not so great if meat isn't your thing though! Breakfast was complimentary on the 2nd floor. It was a simple but tasty affair consisting of cereals/granola/muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, pastries, toast and condiments and juice. The only bad thing was the coffee - disgusting, but owning a cafe in Australia myself, i am spoilt and have high standards. We did find around the corner though a place called Insomnia (cnr macdougal & 8th) just 2 blocks from Le Germain where the coffee was decent and staff lovely. All in all if ever back in Calgary Le Germain would be a given for us - AWESOME!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was traveling across country for work and was spending 4 days per city in a hotel. This hotel was exceptional. They pay attention to the smallest details to ensure you have a comfortable and luxurious stay. There were many outlets for chargers, computers etc. The bathroom was stunning with ample storage and supplies. Leaving was a disappointment. I've traveling all over the world and this has been the best hotel experience I've ever had. Highly recommend - AND it was the most affordable hotel I stayed in while traveling across Canada!

Room Tip: I have a feeling every room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed there for two nights. Overall, it is a beautiful, very chic hotel.

The style of the public spaces and the rooms is VERY modern. The rooms are actually on the dark side and have what I'd call "mood" lighting. The fixtures and furntiure are very modern. The bed was very comfortable.

I found the staff universally pleasant and helpful, exactly what I'd expect at a nicer hotel. I have to say that Amanda, who worked at the Front Desk and in the Lobby was particularly pleasant and helpful.

The included continental breakfast was fine. We also had lunch one day at the attached restaurant and it was excellent.

I do have a couple of negatives. First, if you are looking for a warm, homey kind of place, this isn't it. The modern look was beautiful, but at times I found it a little cold. My wife really liked the "rain" shower-head, but I have to say I didn't particularly. The free Wi-Fi did work great.

Second, the room seemed to have rather limited storage space. There was an open "closet" with some shelves and two drawers, and a limited amount of rack/hanger area. There was something that looked like a closet but had a key broken off in it - when we called down to the desk about it, we were told that was the air-conditioner (which worked very well). If you have a lot of stuff to put away, I think you are going to have problems.

Third, the parking and driving around downtown Calgary is difficult. When we found the hotel, we were on the wrong side of the street, and it took me 10 minutes on all the various one-way streets to get "turned around" so I was in front of the hotel. And then, there was a delivery truck in the single spot to pull up for valet parking. I stopped in a driveway while my wife ran inside to get a valet. It was a little frustrating.

I still would recommend it if you are looking for a chic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After spending some of my 21 day tour of Canada in OK motels, this hotel was a delight...the room was spotless, the design very modern, the bed soft and very comfortable, the bathroom large with a great walk in shower.. I can not say enough nice things about the room and also the staff, they were helpful and looked the part in their designer uniforms...adding to the feeling that I was in a luxury hotel...and definately on holiday...

If I was to find fault..I would say the sliding doors to the bathroom were a bit problematic and swung up instead of along the runners when you tried to close them and I was given an out of date leaflet to an attraction which was closed when I went there, but on a positive note I was given free water for my journey when I left....

Weekend prices were cheap $199, but for a Monday night the prices shot up to £349 ...this was because I was told it was a business hotel in the week... Business people with expense accounts no doubt...but it was so lovely I paid the price and I had a great sleep and a late check out..

The hotel is right opposite the Calgary Tower, which you can go up as many times in one day as you like...day and night views of the city... It is also 2 minute walk from Stephen(son)? street which has nice retaurants for an evening meal...just ask the receptionist..

Would love to stay again...

Room Tip: Stay over the weekend and book in advance online to find a good deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. Very modern styling and lovely decor. The location is great, just a block from the conference centre where my meetings were. The included breakfast was nice, though not much variety.

The spa was lovely, I had a nice massage the day I arrived.

My main problem was with the front desk. The day I was leaving I had meetings all day, was sick and my flight wasn't until the evening. I went to the front desk in the morning to see if I could have an early check out and was told by the 3 people at the desk that I could check out at 2pm. At 12:05 the front desk called up to my room and told me that check out time was noon and I had to be out of my room immediately. When I told them I had a 2pm checkout they basically told me I was lying, that the person at the desk that approved that didn't have the authority and that I had 10 minutes to vacate my room or I would be charged for another night.

Very poor customer service and because of this I will not stay at this hotel again. Unfortunately because the hotel was beautiful otherwise. The management needs to instruct the front desk staff how to deal with customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.