We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant university hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alma to your Saves list
Hotel Alma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant university hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Many universities have on campus hotels. This is well above average. The staff are very helpful. Several floors are actually dorms (or at least students get on and off the elevator on some of the lower floors) but this is less obtrusive than in some on campus units. Rooms are like an upscale chain motel or low end botique hotel--very spacious (my room had a living room with fridge and coffee maker). Free wifi. Convenience store on the first floor. No room service but a small bistro on the first floor. Window that open! All in all quite nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello elm4154,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at Hotel Alma! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Based on your room description it sounds as though you stayed in one of our One Bedroom Suites, a favorite among our regular guests. All of our hotel rooms are separate from student rooms to ensure the comfort of our guests and we are happy to hear that you found this nicer than other University Hotels. We pride ourselves on offering the best service and experience for all of our guests.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    86
    20
    20
    5
See reviews for
22
36
17
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tullibardine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was based here during a conference at the University. It's a very modern hotel with all you need in the rooms. It's a short (5 minute) walk from the C Train, but get a university map first as it's not signposted. The staff are very helpful, I had a problem with the wifi access and they were able to assist with the connection. There's a restaurant onsite, the food is good but has a limited menu unfortunately. If you don't have a car then there are a few more local/residential restaurants within 10 minutes to the north east of the campus and one to the south - the details are in the room. I tried these twice and both we're very good and handy. I'd recommend this if you're staying at the university or even in the city, it's better equipped and value than some of the motels by the motorway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you Malaeus for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma.

We are happy to hear that you were able to dine in our Bistro Alma during your stay with us. They have recently launched a brand new menu with some alternate options for our guests. The hotel is situated in a great location for guests staying on campus or travelling towards downtown. The easy access to the C-Train is very convenient and the front desk can easily offer maps and directions.

We hope you have a chance to visit us at Hotel Alma again soon.

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've stayed at Alma several times now and enjoy being on campus and away from downtown. Parking is eight per day with in and out privileges and bonus C-train station or major bus meeting point near hotel on campus for easily getting to meetings but not needing to worry about finding expensive city centre parking. The hotel is at least as nice as a Holiday Inn or Best Western and has it's own arty-modern style. Large flat screen tvs in rooms, free wi-fi, free long distance. Access to adjacent university pool and rec centre/olympic oval skating/running track. Free continental breakfast. The hotel restaurant has a small menu but high quality delicious offerings and a decent wine list. Can be a little loud on a Thursday (party) night on campus if uni session is on but the windows in rooms are thick. Oddly the ceilings are ugly, but linens and rooms otherwise very clean and newest decor. Especially like the original artworks and fabrics in upholstered chairs. At the time I write this review if you contact hotel directly by phone for booking and quote a discount code shown under reservations on their website you can get a discount. Otherwise look for excellent rates at online booking agencies especially for weekends.

Room Tip: Personally I like being on the north side as it looks out toward Nosehill Park, or some rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello Cmarty,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Hotel Alma. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We appreciate that you enjoy our modern look and comfortable rooms. Our complimentary continental breakfast, wifi and local/long distance calling within Canada and the continental US is certainly a nice addition for any traveller.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel would be great for those needing to be on campus or close to it. Don't let the exterior deceive you as it's lovely inside. They provided me with one key (instead of cards) for the room and told it would be $10 to replace it.

The elevators are spacious and can fit luggage and people! It was a little confusing once we got off the elevator which direction to go in as the room directions were beside a large TV screen. There were a few meeting rooms on our floor close to the elevators.

The room is a little smaller than other hotel rooms but modern and clean. The bathroom sink wasn't very deep so one time the water splashed out. They have Bath and Body Works products but I found out I didn't have shampoo until it was too late so had to make due with conditioner. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, and modern coffee maker. The free wifi worked well most of the time and calls to Canada and US were free!

The room included continental breakfast in the bistro. There isn't a lot of seating so it could be difficult to get a seat if everyone went down for breakfast at the same time. The staff may also have a hard time keeping up with the cleaning of the tables. The breakfast included hot drinks, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, baked goods and bread for toasting. I think there was also oatmeal. I had a croissant one day but it didn't taste fresh so I stuck to fruit and an egg.

Overall is a good hotel and staff were friendly. I could hear guests a few times but not too noisy. The closet was too short for my pants and long coat so it would have been better if it were longer. It's about a 5 minute drive to Market Mall and at times there are cabs in front or the staff will call you one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hello LovingSunandSand,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma! It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the service provided. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary local and long distance calling (with Canada and the Continental US) during your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the future.

Warm Regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I discovered the Hotel Alma by Happenstance last summer and found the team there to be quite helpful on a variety of issues. Their assistant Manager Kristen, in fact was a God-send to me on several occasions. I also recommend the bistro for lunch and dinner, the continental breakfast served, though it has a nice selection, simply doesn't do the chefs justice, whereas the lunch and dinner menus provide more of an opportunity for them to showcase their talents. It is ideally situated at the university and location wise is quite convenient for a lot of what Calgary has to offer. I found it to be an undiscovered gem in many ways.

Room Tip: Higher floors particularly lovely, the suites on the 7th floor excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you Camilla G for taking the time to review Hotel Alma. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our staff were able to assist you during your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Alma soon.

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Unfortunately, my husband and I had a flight cancellation in Calgary and WestJet placed us at The Hotel Alma for the night. The room was tiny, but well appointed. Had everything you needed TV, Wardrobe, fridge, coffee maker, etc...The two negative points would be the one cup coffee maker - had to read instructions on how to use and I can see potential accidents that this maker could possibly cause and second the main room doors were very loud when closing. We had a lovely dinner and great service at the ultra modern bistro. The morning continental breakfast was adequate with fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, bread for toast, juices and coffee/tea. All in all the experience was very good and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello Katherine L.,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Alma! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and are glad that we were able to make your unexpected stay with us comfortable. We appreciate your feedback regarding the doors and coffee maker and will certainly take your comments into consideration.

By reading your review, it is apparent that you stayed in one of our European Style rooms. These rooms were built around a European design concept; everything needed for a comfortable night's stay in a modern compact space. We do understand this room style might not be the perfect fit for all of our guests and as an alternative we also offer One Bedroom Suites. These suites, a favorite among our regular guests, are twice the size of our Eurostyle room, include a living/seating area separate from the bedroom.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been advocate for the Alma Hotel since it opened and stay here every time I have been in Calgary for the past 5 years. I request a late check out of 1.5 hours (till 2:30pm) and am told it will cost me $30.00. I will leave my suitcase in my freezing car and get changed in a washroom stale at the airport. I am sure "Alma" herself would be more customer focused.
When I travel to other cities across Canada I stay with a well known chain hotel and when requested I get late checkouts up until 4pm. I suppose that is the perk of being a regular customer. Thought I was one here..guess not...back to the customer service oriented hotels for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello Goingforgold2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary. It was disappointing to hear that this incident has altered your opinion of Hotel Alma after five years of patronage. We strive to be as accommodating as possible for all of our guests but we are limited in the number of late check outs we can offer.

It does seem that we were able to offer you a complimentary late checkout of 1pm, as opposed to our standard time of 12pm. As we guarantee a 3pm arrival for all guests a 2:30pm check out would not allow us enough time to have the room prepared for the new guest. Late check outs at Hotel Alma, as with most hotels, are based on availability and being that we are a smaller property we are not always able to offer such a late departure time.

Hotel Alma does offer complimentary storage for all guest luggage after departure and access to hotel washrooms or campus change rooms after check out. We are more than willing to offer alternative options if a late checkout is unavailable.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Hotel Alma for the past five years as this truly speaks to the level of service that we provide to our guests. We hope that this incident will not stop you from returning as we do appreciate your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and conference facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.