We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient with great amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alma to your Saves list
Hotel Alma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Convenient with great amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed only one night but the location is fantastic if you're visiting the University of Calgary. Parking is an extra charge but is in a covered parkade, which is good if the weather is bad. Free phone calls locally and within Canada; free wifi; and continental breakfast included (fruit, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, toast, coffee, and tea) in the restaurant off the lobby. Restaurant does serve lunch, but don't expect full hotel food service (no room service, for example). There is a bar off the lobby but it seemed to be closed when I got back to my hotel at 9 pm on a Friday night; actually not a bad thing for a campus hotel because the noise could've been awful. Nice amenities in the room (coffee and tea; shampoo etc in bathroom). My room was tiny and I could have used a reading light on the bedside table, but there was a good-sized desk, TV, bar fridge, and microwave. Staff can arrange access to the rec facilities (pool etc.) which are right across the street, for an extra charge. Very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk.

Room Tip: Sound-proofing not good through the door, so try to get a room at the end of the hall, away from ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    89
    28
    21
    6
See reviews for
23
38
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a great 2 night stay at this hotel. Service was excellent, and the rooms were surprisingly nice considering the hotel is in an old Dorm room on the UofC campus. I knew what the size of the room was going in, so I wasn't surprised by how compact everything was! The breakfast was great in the morning as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you jiminy_fatal for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay & for giving us an excellent rating!!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. I thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma-we are very proud of them and have passed along your comments to them. You stayed in one of our Eurostyle rooms and we are glad to hear that you found the size comfortable-we tried hard to maximize comfort and style in our compact but cozy rooms. Though we are located directly on the University of Calgary's campus, we are a relatively new building which was built specifically as a hotel. As a result ,we do also offer larger one bedroom suites, should the need arise on a future stay for a larger accommodation.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the immediate future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team Alma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I fell sick during my stay and had to prolong my stay to almost a week. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They brought me a humidifier, which really helped me a lot, and as much tea as I wanted.

The rooms are not big, but extremely clean. I was very satisfied with the room service, too.

The breakfast was good, too. I enjoyed the fresh fruits a lot.

Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you Mona 195 for taking the time to post a review of Hotel Alma. We appreciate your feedback regarding the staff and am very happy to hear of your pleasant experience during your stay with us. I am also pleased to hear that the location suited your needs, and that you enjoyed your time spent in one of our Eurostyle rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed one night and wasn't sure what to expect. The staff was great, room was clean and furnishings were modern. Breakfast was very good ... coffee, fruit, juice, pancakes, bagels, pastries, and more. I now know what 200 square feet is, I could not believe how small the room was!! That being said, the room was comfy and fairly quiet. The only noise was when people opened or closed their doors .. the banging was a little annoying.

I didn't like the fact you had to walk almost a block to a parkade to get your vehicle, and there wasn't anywhere close to get something to eat (tried the student cafeteria and it wasn't great). We also had hoped to use the swimming pool but everything was locked up at 7:00 pm - it was a holiday weekend, so that may have been why.

If you were attending something at the U of C, this hotel is idea. If you want to do things around the city (shopping, restaurants, etc) I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Beach Lover 22, Thank you for taking the time and providing us with valuable feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Alma.

As has been identified by yourself, while the Parkade is indeed a quick 2-3 minute walk from the hotel, we chose that option as we felt that, given Calgary's inclement weather patterns throughout the year, a covered parking option for our guests was a better option than an open one. If special accommodation is required, we ask that you let us know, and we will do all that we can to ensure that you are satisfied.

The University of Calgary does have various dining options on campus, but during a long weekend the dining options do get quite limited. Our front desk team is well trained in providing the locations and directions to the nearby stadium plaza which hosts the Keg steak house, a sports bar and pub and the Red water rustic grill which received high honors by guests and local critic magazines.

Although there is no pool or gym within the hotel, all guests staying with us receive complimentary access passes to the Fitness facility, Olympic size swimming pool, rock climbing wall and squash courts which are located in the kinesiology complex across from Alma (less than 1 min walk). The front desk can also provide you with alternative indoor access to this complex if walking outside is not an option. Pool hours and access do vary from day to day. The schedule for can be provided by the front desk team.

However, I am certainly pleased to know your comments about our staff, room cleanliness and the modern furnishings which you have appreciated and we continously strive to take our levels of service higher with comments as such which encourages us to do better.

Once again, we apologize for some of the inconveniences that you encountered at Hotel Alma and hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the level of service characteristic of stays at Hotel Alma.

Looking forward to serve you again at Hotel Alma!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed there for a couple of nights during a professional trip, location is very convenient if your activities are in the U of C campus or like in my case in Foothills Medical Center, it's about 5 min drive and since the weather was very will I walked once there.
The lobby is very stylish and staff at front desk friendly and helpful
Room is a little bit small but comfortable with everything that you need for a short business stay, clean and good lightning, the wi-fi works very well and you have free long-distance calls.
Breakfast is simple but OK
The only down side of the hotel is that there are no dinning options on site or very close, the only option is the student cafeteria that as you can imagine is not the best dinning option.
Overall very good option

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I would not stay here again unless I actually had business on campus. The parking lot was in another building to start with! The rooms are tiny and overstuffed with furniture with a tiny closet that does not hold anything longer than a t-shirt. The coffee machine works poorly and the thermostat was misbehaving. There were no good restaurants close by and no amenities in the building like a pool or fitness centre. For a comparable price you could stay at a much better hotel elsewhere in the city. To end on a positive note though, the staff are friendly and courteous and the breakfast room and food was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you, Calder_Girl, for taking the time to complete your review. Direct feedback from our guests is the best means of improving on what we have to offer to ensure your satisfaction during a stay with us.

As noted, you had stayed in one of our European style rooms. Guests who have stayed in our Euro-style rooms who have found them bit too compact generally prefer our one bedroom suites which are more than twice the size of the euro-style room and have a full closet appose to the armor which was in your room. The one bedroom suite also comes with daily turn down service which includes Voss water and Bernard Callebaut chocolates.

It was unfortunate you were unable to locate any restaurant in the vicinity of the campus. Our front desk team is well trained in providing the locations and directions to the nearby stadium plaza which hosts the Keg steak house, a sports bar and pub and the Red water rustic grill which received high honors by guests and local critic magazines.

Although there is no pool or gym within the hotel, all guests staying with us receive complimentary access passes to the Fitness facility, Olympic size swimming pool, rock climbing wall and squash courts which are located in the kinesiology complex across from Alma (less than 1 min walk). The front desk can also provide you with alternative indoor access to this complex if walking outside is not an option. Pool hours and access do vary from day to day. The schedule for can be provided by the front desk team.

Thank you for recognizing our front desk team. They work very hard to ensure each individual that comes to Alma receives above and beyond personal and professional service. We are glad that you gave us an opportunity, and we hope you choose to stay with us in the future as we would be more than happy to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had picked alma because it came up as one of the closest to the hospital where my dad had just been brought to in very critical condition so already not having a good day this didn't help. When we arrived we were a little surprised to find parking was no where near the building, which was never stated on the website and when going to and from the hospital was a little annoying, then when we went to check in they could not find our reservation even though I had printed my sheet of confirmation. The front desk just went through with making a new reservation saying they still had rooms available so after parking all the way across the street and hauling our bags in we got up to the room we were assigned and unlocked the door only to find someone else was already staying in there, not impressed at all, I immediately went down to the front desk asked to speak to the manager (who I had to wait 20 minutes for, after already taking nearly half an hour with all the mix ups that happened) told him I was beyond unimpressed that I wouldn't be staying and should not be charged for the room, luckily he was very apologetic and assured me he wouldn't charge me for the room and I left

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you JMLH12345 for taking the time to voice your experience with Hotel Alma.

We are extremely upset to learn about the negative experience you had during your recent stay at Hotel Alma and would like to take this opportunity to apologize once again for the inconveniences you endured. At Hotel Alma, we pride ourselves for offering exceptional service that guests have come to expect from us and we can assure you that the situation you experienced is an alienated one. All departments involved with your less than satisfactory level of service have been addressed to ensure similar events are not endured by future guests.

Due to the fact that Hotel Alma is located on the University of Calgary campus, overnight parking is restricted to specific areas. Hotel Alma has been able to secure overnight covered parking space for our guests, helping to lessen the effects of the heat in the summer and the snow in the winter. This parking facility is located a quick 2-3 min walk from the front doors of the hotel. If special accommodation is required, we ask that you let us know, and we will do all that we can to ensure that you are satisfied.

Once again, we apologize for the below standard experience that you encountered at Hotel Alma and hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the level of service characteristic of stays at Hotel Alma.

Warm Regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and conference facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.