We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great add-on to a day downtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinese Cultural Centre

Chinese Cultural Centre
191 1st Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 4M4, Canada (Downtown)
403 262 5071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 226 attractions in Calgary
Type: Civic Centers
Activities: Shopping, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Gorgeous building modeled after the Temple of Heaven in Beijing, houses a library, health center and an art gallery.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great add-on to a day downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We visited this neat centre as a family with our 3 children. We all enjoyed the displays and only wished there was more on display since we were having a great time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Small but ok.... It's worth a look.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The museum was quite interesting and the lady at the museum was really nice. She had lots more to tell us and was really helpful. We continued on to take a walk around China Town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
238 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Just Had to See Inside This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After asking a hotel concierge about it later in the day, it turned out this was one of the largest Chinese Cultural Centres in all of North America. Architecturally, it was so distinctive when seen from a distance that it invited a closer look. So one morning during a walk I did just that. Twin stone lions stood guard outside the park-side entrance. Once inside, it was absolutely impossible not to look upward. Overhead was a beautiful and ornately decorated polychromatic dome. The vibrant colors and details were exquisite. The significance of its iconography and symbolism escaped me, but it was well worth taking the time to see it. In the rotunda were brochures for varied community services, many of them in Chinese. On higher floor levels were offices for local cultural organizations. On the main floor was also an entrance to a small museum, but I didn’t visit it. Still, a fascinating place for a camera!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Museum has beautiful items and lot of Chinese Canadian History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved this visit. They had Terra Cotta horses/warriors, beautiful furniture, ceramic/porcelain items, and lots of photos and history of Chinese people in Calgary over the past century plus. They have a restaurant. It looked nice, but we had lunch elsewhere. They have an acupuncturist who takes walk in patients. The museum guide was from Taiwan and, although she moved here from Texas after marriage, was knowledgeable about the history of Chinese people in Calgary. I would recommend this to anyone. We parked in the Eau Claire Market lot. The two make a good combination trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Replica building, replica ceiling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Form over function...The design doesn't facilitate large crowds yet that's it purpose. Parking is a nightmare

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Cultural Centre also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Chinese Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinese Cultural Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chinese Cultural Centre to your Saves list