We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 - 7th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Reasonably well located is the only positive about this hotel. Rooms are what you would expect, but every other service aspect of this hotel is outrageously poor. Whether its the inability to get from the under ground car park to the hotel because the elevator is permanently disabled from doing so, or the zero to limited Internet access, for an entire week- "our service provider will help you, just call this number". No they couldn't.
Restaurant and bar service, was farcical, with servers who could not have appeared less interested if they tried.
Breakfast was okay, though choice was limited, and the gym
M was poorly equipped.
A very poor hotel, indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback. Our proven success in providing a valuable product is always something we take great pride in and offers even more pride when so many of our hotel guests take the time offer their accolades. Therefore it is disappointing when receiving feedback on the contrary to this as it is far from the norm. As with all hotel operations, our doors remain open and available to our community 24 hours a day 7 days per week. Alternatively, elevator upgrades are integrated into our daily operation. Expectedly, this at times proves to be a challenge, however we are thankful that your comment relating to this was the only one received as our guests offered their patience and appreciation for the remaining three full operational lifts. Luggage assistance is always available upon request and we would have been more than happy to provide this had we been made aware. As part of our services available we do provide Free WiFi service to all 300 guestrooms. Our contracted technical support team is very well versed in providing assistance and should there be an instance when the service cannot be provided, a full an viable explanation is offered to the Internet user. Typically it has been proven that it is the content that is the user is attempting to access offering the challenge.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us the opportunity to provide clarity to your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    147
    179
    80
    55
See reviews for
61
162
37
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice large room, corner windows, comfortable, clean. Only stayed one night which was just after the big flood, so don't want to be to critical but bad start at reception and again in the bar on the evening. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we had arrived after a long journey and requested a room away from lift shaft and ice machines we were told only one room available so had no choice, when we got into the room it smelled strongly of smoke, the carpets were stained and the bathroom had chipped tiles and was not very clean, we did ask to be moved however no rooms available. We were however pleasantly surprised with the standard of food both in the evening and breakfast. We would not stay here again

Room Tip: insist on a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I do not understand all the bad reviews the Sandman City Centre,Calgary receives.My wife and I have just returned from the "Calgary Stampede" having spent 11 nights at this hotel.We have no complaints whatsoever.On arrival the affable receptionist ( Robert Elliott) checked us in.On noting that we were staying 11 nights he said that he would make certain we were comfortable.This he did with a corner dual aspect room on the top floor (23rd).The room was large,with a good sized bathroom and a small kitchenette with fridge,microwave,toaster ,jug kettle and sink,plus crockery and cutlery.
The room was kept spotless,as was the bed linen.
As we checked in early afternoon we dropped our luggage to just have a walk to get a feel of the area.Passing through reception Robert produced a mosquito spray just in case.We had no such problems our entire stay.
Comments have been made previously about slow lifts.Bearing in mind that we were on the 23rd.floor at the busiest time of the year,we did not experience one excessive delay.
Poor area and location keeps cropping up.Opposite the hotel is a McDonalds and a convenience store operating for 24 hrs. a day,so people are on a corner opposite into the night.We did not use either establishment after dark,excersising caution that we would use in any city.Additionally the location is on the central thoroughfare downtown which we used at all hours so again caution but no panic.The downtown tram stops right outside the hotel across the street heading downtown,and leaves you around a 400 yard walk to the hotel when returning.
Moxies onsite grill and bar is comfortable and is what it says a "grill and bar"
Downtown there is no sign of the recent floods they have done a remarkable job.
THEY HAVE HAD A LOT OF CANCELLATIONS THOUGH AND ARE DESPERATE
IN THE CITY,FOR TOURISTS.HELP THEM OUT AND GO,IT IS A LOVELY AREA,WITH EXCEPTIONALL FRIENDLY PEOPLE.
Incidentally just to prove I am not on the hotel payroll,I can make a negative comment which seems to perturb a lot of people.On one occasion we could not receive a signal on the FREE
wifi system.Big deal what a disaster.

Room Tip: We had top floor corner room.no noise,dual aspect,good facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I arrived a day before the great flood of 2013 in Calgary and initially thought I would have to be evacuated. I stayed here for almost 2 weeks, and while some service levels were impacted by the flood, I.e. housekeeping, overall everything was fine.

The location is ideal on the west end of downtown, and you can easily walk to the great neighborhoods like Mount Royal, Chinatown and Kensington.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with my only complaints being that the air conditioning units were largely ineffective when the weather hit 35°C (which is not common for Calgary though), the analog reception on the TV was grainy and poor, and the gym and pool were quite small.

The staff are super helpful and the process very reasonable. I would definitely stay there again the next time I am in Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From Halifax to Calgary
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I were planning a move to Calgary, came down to look for a place to live and chose this hotel for a week.

Pros: downtown, great location close to almost everything. Customer service was quit good, I wanted a fridge in the room for snacks and they brought one up. Reasonable prices!

Cons: The first 3 nights we were at in the room both of us had issues breathing, no problems out side the hotel, but we got stuffed up while in the room, every time! Window didn't open so I turned on the ventilation. Ventilation reduced the symptoms but didn't get rid of them. On our way down to look at another property, I mentioned it to the front desk and he changed our room, made sure we had a fridge in there too when we got back and did not charge us for parking for the first 3 nights we were there.

I gave 2 stars, and left the cleanliness rating blank, room was clean but air in the room wasn't.

We would stay at that hotel again just because of the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable with a convenient location in the downtown area of Calgary. Unfortunately there are no signs indicating a ramp entrance at the side so we struggled with suitcases up the steps to the main entrance. We got a good night's sleep. It's ideal if spending a few days before moving on somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Address: 888 - 7th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.