We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Bow Valley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Bow Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Delta Bow Valley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 4th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

arrived off a 9 hour flight to stay in the Delta Bow Valley. 1st impressions at check-in were that the female receptionist was a little unhelpful and hurried. didnt explain where lifts/elevators were, how to get to our room, and the fact you had to insert your room card to get the lift working.
when we got into the room, it was beautiful. all you needed, the view from the panoramic window was incrediable. nicely decorated with a trendy ipod docking station as well.
however, as we tried to sleep we realised just how loud the air conditioning system was - even when we finally switched it off it gurgled loudly all night as if water was running through it....earplugs to the rescue.
apart from that - all good - very central and would stay again as long as the air conditioning is updated! male staff were much more friendly on check out.

  • Liked — view from bedroom
  • Disliked — noisy air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    336
    89
    30
    8
See reviews for
110
244
41
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

Just came back from a wonderful 3-night stay at the Delta Bow Valley. This hotel has nearly completed renovating all rooms - we were in one of those rooms and they have done a terrific job with the improvements. Although some rooms were still being renovated there was no evidence of the work being performed - which meant quiet nights and no inconveniences.

This hotel has everything you need to enhance and enjoy your stay. The exercise room has newer equipment and is available 24/7. The pool and hot tub are well maintained and clean. Food service is very good - high quality and good value.

The downtown location means everything is close by - whether that is business, the Calgary Zoo, Saddledome, China Town or the night life, it is all just a short distance away.

What truly makes this hotel special is the customer focus. It is clear this hotel benefits from strong leadership from the top down - all employees have the same desire to please the customer. There is no question they want you to enjoy your stay so that you become a return customer.

We'll definitely be one of those returning customers.

  • Liked — Great location; great service
  • Disliked — I had no issues with the accomodation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Stayed 3 nights to take in the Stampede - walking distance to the show and to main shopping centre. Booked non-smoking rooms via our travel agent but ended up on the 4th floor in what were obviously smoking rooms - make sure you get 5th floor upwards if you are a non-smoker. We tried to move but were advised hotel was sold out due to Stampede. Smell of smoke in the room very off-putting. Staff in restaurant very friendly but service quite slow. Prices average ($90+ for 5 people) but good food. Used the pool - big enough but a bit dated looking. Taxi from Airport will cost you up to $30. No problems going back provided guranteed a non-smoking room. Overall not a bad place to stay

  • Liked — Central Location - walking distace to ameneties
  • Disliked — Smoking allowed up to 4th floor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights, 5-19 & 5-20, 2007, booked thru AAA for $85 + GST / night (Can't beat the price!!). Excellent facility, staff, and room. Very comfy bed and beddings. Everything is of best quality, including cups, toiletries, towels, carpet, etc. Very good gift shop. Heard from locals that the Sunday brunch at the hotel is good but we never get to try it.

Just steps away from Calgary Chinatown which means "good food" to us. Try the Chinese restaurant on the NE corner of Centre St. & 4th Ave./St. (sorry forgot the English name of it). It's on 2/F with window seating. Very good Chinese Cantonese cuisine. Lots of non-Chinese diners.

Walking distance to Prince Island, lots of park areas, Calgary downtown and financial district, Eau Claire Market.

Just 1 area which needed upgrade is the garage: dim, crowded, hard to navigate, narrow. The elevator from the garage to the hotel lobby was like a freight elevator. Had some difficulties carrying out luggage through the narrow double doors to reach the elevator! Note: if garage is closed and you are a registered guest, beeped them and they will give you a password to key-in (which they change daily for security). $11 CAD /day for parking, for registered hotel guests only.

  • Liked — Quality of everythiing used
  • Disliked — garage facility
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We used this hotel as a stop off before we travelled to Banff. The hotel is so easy to find and about 10mins from the airport. The hotel was clean, comfortable and all the staff were very helpful. The rooms were wonderful with a huge bed and excellent room service after a long flight. The hotel was in a good location to see some of Calgary, but the area was very quiet after dark. As we only had a short stay we did not experience housekeeping etc, but overall the hotel was a great start to our trip with all the amenities you need.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — If I were to stay longer than one night probably the location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

I generally like Delta hotels because they are efficient and unpretentious. Just don't pay too much. I stayed at a corporate rate of $129 and definitely got my money's worth. But I'd hesitate before paying >$200. (Yes, I see that Tripadvisor contributors have paid much more than that).

Bow Valley does appear to have been renovated but other than a few very minor things (some chipped doorways on one floor) everything looks well-kept and tasteful in the neutral way you expect from a chain hotel. (Lots of brown, of course.) The room was fine - bed and bathroom were quite comfortable. Desk in my basic room was a bit narrow for serious business work, but okay.

Internet access is $14 a day - again, seems to always be that way for the big hotels. Restaurant and bar are typically overpriced but pleasant. The pool and fitness room are not very big but looked fine, and a lot better than the crappy facilities I've seen elsewhere. Overall, nothing bad to report.

The staff - front desk, housekeeping and restaurant - were all uniformly friendly and helpful. In four days I never encountered anything but a good attitude and desire to help.

The hotel is on the edge of downtown but like any Canadian city, is perfectly safe. Not a lot of retail right nearby though, especially after business hours. There is a very small grocery store two blocks directly south where I picked up a few things. There are also two breakfast places at that corner (6th ave and McLeod Trail) if you like your bacon and eggs cheaper than the $16 hotel buffet.

$30 taxi (plus tip) one way from the airport.

I've always had good experiences at Delta because they try and run good, slightly upscale hotels without being pretentious or overpromising. If you can get a good rate, I recommend Bow Valley highly.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The idea that people are charged $350 for a $150/$200 hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Bow Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Bow Valley Hotel

Address: 209 4th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#19 Family Hotel in Calgary
#22 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Bow Valley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the gateway to the business district, the Delta Bow Valley is renowned for genuine hospitality that’s “Straight from the Heart”. The Delta Bow Valley is first class at it’s finest with a flair of urban sophistication and comforts of home to make your stay enjoyable.Conveniently close to Calgary’s cultural district, Stampede Park, Telus Convention Centre, and Stephen Avenue shopping. Easy access to public transportation to explore all Calgary has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Delta Bow Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Bow Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.