We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and a great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Bow Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Bow Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Delta Bow Valley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 4th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel and a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are currently staying here for the weekend while attending the Monster Jam truck show not far from here. Good location, good size room. The pool and hot tub is nice and seems to be empty most of the time. Fitness room is well equipped with a couple of treadmills, a couple of ellipticals, stationery bilkes, weight equipment and free weights. Starbuck in the lobby.

The rooms are surprisingly quiet for being in a downtown location. And with $100.00 per night summer rates right now the value just cannot be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    336
    88
    30
    8
See reviews for
109
243
41
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in August. The hotel is located right on the edge of Chinatown and within walking distance of most of downtown.
I found the staff to be professional and courteous. The hotel manager James Tingley was very pleasant and provided my wife and I a room on the 18th floor overlooking the Bow river. Our King room was very clean. The rooms are a little dated but adequate. We used the pool and whirlpool one evening and found everything very clean there also. There is a sun deck right off the back side of the pool, for the warmer weather.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Bow Valley Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Glad to hear your first trip to Calgary went well. It was nice to meet you in the lobby and share a conversation. I trust the rest of your trip to the Rockies was memorable. We look forward to welcoming you with the same hospitality on your next trip.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Delta Bow Valley is located in downtown Calgary, very close to China town. It is a short walking distance to several restaurants, although you may need to drive or take a taxi to some more popular areas in the southern part of the City.

The service at the hotel was great, from the bellman to the front desk to the bar staff. They provided some good recommendations for restaurants, even late into the night!

The bed at the hotel was very comfortable. My only complaint with the hotel is that the room was a bit on the small side and hotel had an "older" feel to it. That may have been because there is a lot of brick everywhere. The room however did not feel outdated.

I would consider staying here again especially since the rates appear to be much more reasonable than some other higher end hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Bow Valley Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our location, restaurant and staff. We would love to welcome you back with warm hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South west England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to begin your Canada holiday It is easy to reach from the airport something very handy after a long flight and when you are getting used to driving a strange car on the `wrong side of the road`. It is within easy walking distance of the city centre with plenty of restaurants and pubs, nice sized rooms and pleasant and attentive staff. Only drawback is the limited parking which cost me $20 (Canadian) for 24 hrs otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Bow Valley Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will be delighted to hear that they served you well. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights only 2 weeks after the big floods that went through Calgary. The hotel had recovered very well and you could not notice that they had been affected at all. Hotel was clean, good room size, very friendly staff and close to public transport. We walked to the main shopping and dining precinct, and also the Calgary tower. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Calgary.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Bow Valley Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. As you know our hotel had no flooding and we were glad to get back to work providing hospitality. We look forward to your next visit to Calgary, so we can welcome you with the same warm service.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice size rooms tastefully furnished, well maintained and clean. Well equipped health club facilities. Large reception areas with bar and food service. Overall a pleasant and comfortable experience on the edge of down town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Ohio, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Started a week long trip to the Canadian Rockies at the Delta Bow Valley. We had a room on the 6th floor facing into the city and the family of man was the view! Lovely!!! We ate breakfast at their buffet and I was over joyed at the selections, including made to order eggs. Our room had a king bed and the king pillows were the best I have ever slept on. It was clean, quiet, and safe feeling. The central location made it easy to explore the city center on foot and we saw so many fun restaurants we could hardly choose. I LOVED this hotel.!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Bow Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Bow Valley Hotel

Address: 209 4th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#19 Family Hotel in Calgary
#22 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Bow Valley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the gateway to the business district, the Delta Bow Valley is renowned for genuine hospitality that’s “Straight from the Heart”. The Delta Bow Valley is first class at it’s finest with a flair of urban sophistication and comforts of home to make your stay enjoyable.Conveniently close to Calgary’s cultural district, Stampede Park, Telus Convention Centre, and Stephen Avenue shopping. Easy access to public transportation to explore all Calgary has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Delta Bow Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Bow Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.