We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown Calgary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Calgary to your Saves list
The Westin Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in downtown Calgary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great location in downtown Calgary. Easy access to everything. My advise to business travelers, learn the plus 15's, they will keep you warm in the winter. Hotel had great amenities, SBUX inside the hotel was nice, as was The Keg next door. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    365
    118
    39
    25
See reviews for
82
222
85
423
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

a comfortably generic hotel room, positives were a comfortable king-size bed, refrigerator and chaise-lounge, negatives were the absolute lack of imagination of the place with cheat decor. we upgraded to a business suite and the room didn't seem to be any different from a standard room they might have, one might say that it seemed more like a cut-rate room at the days inn.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear matthew k,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to see that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit and hope the next time you are visiting Calgary you will give us another chance.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Underground parking (for those cold winter nights), fitness room (to de-stress), in the heart of downtown (lots of things to do, including great shopping and restaurants), and clean quiet rooms (I need quiet). This hotel has all that I need.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear acminkus,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and that you were comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cropwell, Alabama, Usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Short couple of nights stay in Calgary at the Westin. Excellent downtown location and ties in to the covered walkway system that connect many of the downtown building so that cold winter weather and snow was not a factor getting around. This is a bit older hotel I think but it appeared pretty well maintained. My room was pretty standard fare, but no real complaints...I slept good! One thing I liked a lot here was that you had the option for maid service. I declined and got a $5 credit to the in-house Starbucks. First time I have had this as an option...I liked it, because I didn't have to worry about putting away my items... I could leave them undisturbed. Not much else to write about here...typical downtown hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ken K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your feedback about our Make A Green Choice program and I am glad you slept well in our Heavenly Bed.

We look forward to see you back,

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel in downtown Calgary. The entrance is often parked full of cars.
The doormen will park your car and take your luggage. The rooms are medium sized and modern decor. The staff are professionally trained and warm. There are many conferences going on at this location.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reading some of the other reviews about old rooms, I can only assume mine had been recently renovated - it was bright, warm, modern and spotlessly clean. All the staff were enthusiastic, helpful and keen to make sure I enjoyed my stay. I ate breakfast in the hotel some mornings - expensive but good. For a cheaper breakfast there are many choices nearby along the "+15" - the system of heated elevated walkways to which the hotel is linked. At the top of one of the hotel towers is a small pool and gym, with good views over the city.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff. I stayed at the top floor which is their best room available. Very old and dark in the room. Definitely needs an update. The dark green carpet on the floor is just 1970's. The blind shutters are the roll up kind. No view of anything. my stay was from March.11th-13th 2015.
Room 1957.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Honestreviews4726,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. May I please request that you contact Andrea Fernando at andrea.fernando@westin.com.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Address: 320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#16 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.