We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - sketchy environment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Calgary to your Saves list
The Westin Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - sketchy environment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here this weekend. Amazing staff....waiting to take vehicle, room service, front desk etc. Beds were comfortable, linen soft and plush. The room was small, but it did suffice for our brief stay. What disturbed me about this property was the blatant openness surrounding the um..escort business. There were 'ladies' everywhere. Picking up clients downstairs when guests would go for smoke breaks, in the elevators. Wow! At an upscale property with the brand name of Westin, I would've thought this subculture would be better masked/hidden.
I'm uncomfortable returning to this property with my family.

Room Tip: We stayed on 12th floor. Beside ice machine & elevators. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear AlbertaMandy1,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are very surprised to read your comments as what you are describing is definitely not representative of our week end environment.

May I ask you to please contact Andrea Fernando at andrea.fernando@westin.com in order to share more details on this?

Thank you,

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    376
    119
    39
    25
See reviews for
87
224
86
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

great experienced professonal staff, great location wth a very comfortable bed...
check in and out of hotel with a flash...
it meets Westin class and style and quality standards.. .wll stay there again

hghly recommend...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in The Westin about 6 times now and sofar it has never dissapointed me. Rooms are nice and quite. Bedding is very good, like the bathroom. Concierges are service oriented, staff is friendly. Rooms are clean, but if you opt for free perks then house keeping will not do your room. Wonderful scent in the lobby that always makes me feel welcome.
Breakfast is expensive, buffet choice is good but not oustanding.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The westin last night with friends whilst on vacation. I was immediately taken back by the warm and friendly team... The valet guy, the reception team ember, the bar tender all amazing and the room quality is very good with excellent beds and room amenities.

I would recommend this hotel highly and without doubt I will look for westin he hotels in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Hospitalitygav007,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to welcome you back.

We appreciate the positive comments about our associates and property.

We hope to see you again!

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed this past weekend and normally I would not give a Hotel like this a 5 star. I save those for Four Seasons stays/Fairmont etc...but this Hotel did impress me this weekend. I have stayed here before but this time I found the service was better than ever! It is a solid four star accommodations but they did have five star service. We took our Chihuahua and he was treated like a king. When the valet brought our luggage in he right away asked if he could get us some ice which he did immediately. At mid-night one night my husband was snoring and I called down to see if by chance if they had ear plus. THEY DID and brought them to me right away. Very nice.... Loved the weekend rate. We will return!

Room Tip: Go high for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear geriann,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your postive comments on our service and amenities. I am delighted to hear that your Chihuahua was treated like royalty and that you had a good night's rest.

We look forward to having you all with us again.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Polished service, great location for downtown business meetings or attractions, nicely renovated guest rooms. My only complaint is that their fitness centre, although located on the top floor with nice city views while you work out, is quite small. The cardio area and weight area are each located in separate rooms. Cardio area is ok but for such a large hotel, it can get very busy at peak times. The weight area is effectively full with 3 people in it and has fairly limited equipment. I love the location, rooms, and service of this hotel but since I like to stay in shape when I travel on business, I think next time I'll try somewhere else to get access to a better fitness centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We decided to go away at the last minute and, having stayed there previously, the Westin was the only hotel I even looked at availability for. Lucky for us, they had space and we were on our way the next day. When we arrived, Max the guest services rep was incredibly friendly and helpful - after asking why we were in town (a quick romantic escape) he found us an upgraded room on a high floor, away from the elevator. He also asked if we needed help making reservations for the evening and the next day and cemented our brunch plans with a voucher for the really great restaurant onsite - Essence. The room was great - clean, the beds are INCREDIBLY comfortable and there was plenty of space. With the amazing downtown location being so close to all the incredible dining options in Calgary, we didn't even have to drive to our dinner reservation or our after dinner pub. We took advantage of the late check-out (3:00 PM on a Sunday makes for a much more relaxed morning!) and had a weekend we can't wait to do there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Shannon L,

Welcome Back to The Westin Calgary.

I am delighted to hear that your overall stay was memorable and that Max made you feel special. I am happy that you took advantage of our Westin Weekend program for a late checkout of 3pm on Sundays for some extended relaxation.

We look forward to your next stay.

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Address: 320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#16 Business Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#24 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.