We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wi-fi but other than that, excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Calgary to your Saves list
The Westin Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No free wi-fi but other than that, excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Rooms are always great and beds are very comfortable.
Rooms also clean.
However, they offer no free wi-fi. Even the Motel 6 offers free wi-fi. Seeing as how the Westin caters more so to the business sector, it should be complimentary.
You can request New Balance fitness clothes twice and a bit for the price of Internet for the day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    376
    119
    39
    25
See reviews for
87
224
86
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice hotel and good staff but be aware they spray their "scent" into the air everywhere. I find I have asthma attacks frequently when staying here. The lobby and the rooms are where it is most prominent. I asked and they told me it is their "scent". I suggested they change this in an age of many people being sensitive to scents but it was not something that they were flexible on with the exception of you could ask for your room not to be sprayed. I find the beds uncomfortable and find my back is sore after every stay. We often stay here for competitions for Irish dance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear CanadianMOm_2

Thank you for taking the time to post on tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear about your uncomfortable experience during your stay. The smell in our lobby is actually our signature White tea & aloe scent. This is a hotel standard for many of our properties and I apologize that this caused you to suffer from asthma attacks.

In the meantime, may I request that you contact my assistant Andrea.Fernando-Morris@westin.com.

If there is anything I can assist with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Be well.

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Easy check in, great rooms, comfortable beds, free parking and WiFi. Would stay here again and recommend others to stay here. Friends we were staying with loved it so much they booked an extra night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Trying to find parking in downtown Calgary for a pickup truck is challenging, so I can't fault The Westin too much for no parking nearby. The shower was...open European concept for lack of a better term. Basically, there was no shower door or curtain, so all the water went on the bathroom floor if you weren't careful. The beds are always extremely comfortable and rooms are always clean and quiet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Westin is located in downtown Calgary and is a good bet in terms of location if you are like me, and are there on business. Check-in was efficient and I found staff to be very helpful - basically as you would expect from a Westin. Its also connected to the Keg steakhouse which means you can walk just a few steps from the elevator into the restaurant, and as you might expect in Calgary, the steaks are excellent.

On the negative side the rooms are a little small particularly the bathrooms which are some of the smallest I have seen anywhere (including New York!!) so much so that the sliding bathroom door doubles as the closet door which means you cannot have both open at the same time. This is a little irritating. As with some of the other large chains you will also get gouged for internet access to the tune of $15 per day or thereabouts.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've stayed at a few places in Calgary, never satisfied enough to go back. I may have found the right place in the Westin.

With a great rate of about $110, I wasn't expecting much above average, but I was wrong.

The check-in area is snug but bright, and the formalities were dispensed with quickly.

Room on the 10th floor wasn't that large, but perfectly servicable. The bathroom I think had been renovated recently. Again, not large (no bath tub) but a good shower and everything functionable and spotless.

I liked the layout of the room - somewhere to stash the suitcase out of the way, a good desk for some work, with most things to hand.

I didn't eat any meals in the hotel - Eau Claire is just a few steps away.

So overall, a good, comfortable place to stay on business; no unwanted frills and the place worked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've stayed at the Westin numerous times over the years. The location is perfect for those doing business downtown, especially as the +15 is right in the hotel, convenient for TD Square and a short taxi ride from the nightlife on 17th Avenue.

The hotel is incredibly clean and comfortable, and the staff are always incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast, although a tad expensive, is delicious, and having The Keg next door is wonderful if you're in the mood for a steak.

If there is a downside, it's only that the reception area is quite small, and can become congested during peak times.

Would definately recommend this hotel for those wanting a comfortable stay downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Address: 320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#16 Business Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#24 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.