We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Calgary

Save Saved
You added The Westin Calgary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a Calgarian but some friends and myself decided to have a "staycation" and stay one night in downtown Calgary. The location was great! Very easy to get to, close to the river, and close to many restaurants. Right in the bottom of the hotel is a starbucks, which is very convinent. And right across the street is a Tim Hortons! The hotel itself was very nice. There are tons of doormen right at the entrance making it feel quite secure. On the inside the hotel feels quite classy, and modern. There are plenty of elevators so the wait time is short and you do require a room key to be able to access your floor which is another positive for safety. The rooms feel very nice and spacious. We had a nice city view from our room. The bathrooms are very clean and there were plenty of fresh towels. The best part of this hotel was just how quiet it was! We never heard a single sound all night and never even saw another guest on our floor the whole time! This hotel would be best suited for friends, and people staying without children. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Calgary!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Carly J,

Thank you for your taking the time to post on Tripadvisor!

I appreciate all of your comments about the hotel and our great location. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Be well

Dider Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    312
    97
    30
    20
See reviews for
70
179
78
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, central to downtown shops with covered walkways giving immediate access to the +15 area and all downtown shopping. Rooms very clean with all necessary facilities. Breakfast pretty good with buffet and al a carte selection. Bar very pleasant with quite lovely waitresses. Being central Calgary it was a bit expensive but overall I enjoyed my brief stay. Be wary of Alberta at this time of the year (very late Oct). They had had their first snow, temperature was about -3C but dry. Clouds were heavy with snow which made visibility for driving poor and it was only safe to drive on the main roads. However, Banff is near for skiing.

Room Tip: Ask not to stay in rooms that the windows are back to back with other rooms. Not very attractive loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Back again after a little over a year.

I was back in the pokey rooms again in the older part of the building but I didnt mind. They are fresh and modern. I personally prefer showers to baths to the large shower is greatly appreciated. The heavenly bed was just that and I appreciated the complimentary wifi.

However the big accolade goes to the very friendly and chatty staff who work here. They all seem very young which perhaps gives the impression that this could be a training hotel but I certainly did not see any form of amateur behaviour. Everyone I dealt with was friendly, chirpy, smiley, approachable and most importantly they could answer my queries with genuine answers and when they had no answer they went and found it for me. This is the sort of professionalism which sets one hotel apart from another.

I shall be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Irishstandards,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you that you had an heavenly experience at our property.
Day after day I take a true pleasure to work with such a professional and engaged team and your message gave me a new opportunity to recognize their awesome work!

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I think I stayed in the older part of the building? I thought it was a nice hotel I enjoyed my stay and would stay again, but I felt it was nothing special.. The bed was very comfortable could have taken that thing home.. The tv could have been bigger was quite small.. Great location to walk places in Calgary right downtown, also parking near by at $20 a night I think..

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked through hotwire and was very impressed.
The room was well done and the bed was very comfortable. Loved the crisp clean linens.
The only fault was I had to park in a self park behind the Old Spaghetti Factory since my vehicle had a roof box and was too high to fit in the parkade. I was nerves all night long that it would get broken into.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westin Calgary in July 2012. We travelled to Calgary for my aunt's wedding and after that were heading up to Banff. Overall this was a great experience! I got the hotel for the right price and booked at the right time through Hotwire (months later UFC was announced the same weekend of our stay and prices skyrocketed)!

Upon arrival at the Westin we checked in with Jane. Jane went above and beyond! I asked her how much wifi was at the hotel...after telling us the cost we decided against it. BUT then, Jane offered us complimentary wifi for the whole of our stay. That was awesome and unexpected! Our room was also gorgeous and very clean! During our stay there was construction on one of the streets below and the hotel actually took it upon themselves to provide ear plugs, wow!

The only complaint I would say I have is that the wifi in our room was not that great. There was hardly any signal and so many times we would be kicked off of the wifi! I called down once and they did send a man up, however, it didn't make a difference.

Other than that, the overall experience was great. The staff was excellent and friendly, and the rooms comfortable and clean. The hotel is also conveniently located in the downtown core making it walking distance to everything with many restaurants around, also a Keg is located in the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a strong wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear AleahC.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Jane's customer service. As for the signal issue you had, we are currently working on deployment of CISCO and SHAW systems that will help gain some signal strength and stability in our hotel.

I am happy to hear that overall you had a great experience at our property and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again for your feedback

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My stay at the Westin was a good one. This was a quick weekend getaway to Calgary. The stay started with self parking underground of the hotel. There was plenty of well marked heated parking. The lobby was easily reachable and smelled amazing - like tropical flowers. The customer service during check in was top notch. My room was ready early and everything went as booked. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and the bed was comfortable. 2 bottles of complimentary water were a nice addition. The room temperature was easy to control and accurate. I would love to stay here again. There were a couple of small annoyances that can be overlooked. 1. I have never seen or used such a small bathroom (I had a hard time turning around). The glass enclosed shower is great, but you have to get in it to turn it on and the water is mighty cold at first. 2. I don't stay downtown very often and was surprised at paying $19 for parking in the hotel parkade.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Address: 320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.