We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Calgary

Save Saved
You added The Westin Calgary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Really nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a really nice hotel to stay in. It is of high quality and you get good value for money. I travel to Calgary quite often and haven't been disappointed at any point in time.
The extra points program is also a fantastic idea which gives you the option of declining room service to ramp up on points.
I highly recommend it to anyone looking for the best hotel to stay in downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    309
    97
    29
    20
See reviews for
70
178
78
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently on our holiday to Canada, we had one night at the beginging of our holiday and one at the end. On check in the receptionist was very engaging and friendly and when she learnt we'd had a long flight from the UK, she very kindly upgraded us. We found the rooms to be very ellegent and tastefully decorated, with huge comfortable beds.
The hotel boasts a lovely restaurant and a wonderfully enticing outside bar. Being from the UK we felt compeled to sit here for several wonderful drinks served by very courtesous staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and i just recently stayed at the Westin hotel in Calgary, we are frequent visitors to Calgary, but this was our first time staying at the Westin, and i can say without a doubt this was the best hotel experience we have ever had. The Valets and Porters are very friendly we got to know each of them during our stay as they did us, they were extremely helpful and always very pleasant and friendly. Anytime we needed anything we just called down and it was ready and waiting in 10 minutes or less. The rooms are fantastic and the overall quality of service at this hotel is world class, i would recommend this hotel to anyone, and we most certainly will be staying at the Westin whenever we are in Calgary.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King room that overlooked downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear GemmaH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very happy to hear your stay was an enjoyable one and that you will be back again your next trip to Calgary! I will certainly forward your kind words to the front office team, as their quality service and promptness is always something we're striving for.

Kind regards,

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy Jo Cullen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in three similarly priced hotels on a combined business/romance trip and the Westin Hotel was far and away the best value. Our room was spacious and elegant. It was bright, the bed was large and very comfortable, and we (who prefer less housekeeping and more privacy) were able to swap housekeeping for cash credits for use in any of the Westin's food or beverage establishments. We enjoyed two very lovely glasses of wine in the lounge.
Our other hotels were nice, for sure but we felt one, although it was very elegant and modern, sacrificed form over function; it was too dark to enjoy being in the room when away from our work commitments. The other, very well situated in Granville Island with a great bar and restaurant gave us a room that was crammed with oversize furniture. No other hotel offered us the option of swapping housekeeping for food and beverage credits, which was an offer that suited us very well.
We would definitely stay at the Westin Calgary again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at The westin, and we were not disappointed. Our trip was a short, one night stay and we bought friends with us, it was their first stay, they were very happy with their stay and loved the beds! I admire the professionalism of the Frontdesk staff, and being in the hotel industry myself, I tend to be observant of how they react to the diversity of clients. I have to say regardless of whether the guest is on business or a free independant traveller, they were all treated the same. The refurbishment of the rooms is lovely, very relaxing and impressive, in comparison to other similiarly rated hotels in downtown Calgary, I still prefer the Westin by far. There will be no hesitiation on future visits to the city, the Westin will be our first choice for both leisure and busines. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As for a view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear revilolouise,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. It is always refreshing to hear such positive feedback and I will certainly forward your comments to our Front office staff on their professionalism. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Be well,

Didier Luneau, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel seemed very reasonably priced but to our surprise we were charged extra for most everything, from parking to wifi. The room was spacious, with a great bed and a good size bathroom. The hotel is located in the downtown area with everything within walking distance. Serious downside was that we had some very noisy neighbours who partied until security got them quiet, which was only after our complaints (at around 3 a.m.).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Calgary within walking distance to shopping and restaurants, although it's a large hotel, the lobby is actually quite small making it a challenge to check in if there is large group attending a conference. Guest room sizes is good, but there isn't much in the way of a view. Bathrooms are nice, lots of counter space and storage and offer a great walk in shower (although may not be your 1st choice if you prefer a tub) High Speed internet is available in room for a fee and complimentary water iand coffee is also provided. Great little bar off the lobby....and a Keg Restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Address: 320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#17 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.