We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Stampede

Calgary Stampede
1410 Olympic Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2K8, Canada (Southwest Calgary)
+1 403-261-0101
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Calgary Stampede like an insider
Top Rated
$73*
and up
The Calgary Stampede
Ranked #6 of 339 things to do in Calgary
Activities: Viewing foliage, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park is best known for its rodeos and chuck wagon races.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was born and raised in Calgary so I am no stranger to the Stampede. Every year there are new attractions and the whole city participates with free breakfasts and barbecues. Everyone is in party mode for 10 days.

There’s something for everyone... midway rides and games for kids and adults, expos, shopping, competitions of every sort, lotteries, casinos, concerts and shows, (mostly free) agriculture fares, races, rodeos, fireworks ... pretty much anything you’d want to try. I usually go more than once in a year... once with the kids, once with friends, and once on a date with my husband. All three experiences are COMPLETELY different.

Downsides: Food is expensive and if you don’t buy tickets in advance everything gets pricey. Look for packages online and at Macs and Safeway stores. I’m also a fan of animal rights so I don’t usually spend much time at the rodeo or chuck wagon races (but I LOVE the Superdogs!)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    310
    79
    43
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BUSY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have to say this was one of the most busiest places I have ever seen and that includs las vegas. LOVE the Stampede, lots of fun, sun, games, LOTS to do and see.
its always a blast

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There is nothing like a day at the rodeo. Very exciting! The Chuckwagon races are by far the best part.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It IS the greatest outdoor show on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You don't need to be a cowboy to love the Stampede. The whole city gets into the act. Even those of us who would rather die than wear a cowboy hat the rest of the year end up putting on our western duds and "going cowboy" for 10 days.

It's a huge party with line dancing and free breakfasts and lunches all over town, and fireworks and special events everywhere. On the Stampede grounds you can check out the rodeo, the livestock barns, the trade fairs, the midway, the Indian village, cultural displays, the nightly chuckwagon races and a terrific grandstand show. There's entertainment at Nashville North and the Coca-Cola Stage, and always something new and fun to see and do.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Greatest outdoor show on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just wow. A great experience and too much to do in just one day. An event worth a trip to Calgary. __________________________________________

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Stampede also viewed

 

Been to Calgary Stampede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary Stampede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.