We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuvo Hotel Suites

Save Saved
You added Nuvo Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nuvo Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 12th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R0J1, Canada (Beltline)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wi-Fi
Ranked #56 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If I would be Canadian I would call it 'awesome' ;-)
We went to Calgary for half a week and looked for a small apartment or b&b as we didn't want to stay in a ordinary hotel (me traveling a lot and having about 200 nights in a hotel per year and my wife hates the rush in the morning at breakfast in a hotel).
We found Nuvo Hotel Suites on a webpage and thought to give it a try as the description sounded nice and rates are affordable (C$ 125 - 175).
We booked a room with balcony to smoke.
Arriving is looked more like a apartment building and reception was on 1st floor in a converted room.
Check in was easy and parking was available 2 minutes away.
Rooms are small, but well equipped, incl. fully equipped kitchen with microwave, build in coffee maker and dishwasher. Coffee, sugar, hot chocolate, cookies, etc are provided foc.
Only negative point is the wall bed with a super soft mattress that caused back pain for both of us (well, me got a broken lumbar vertebra and my wife a slip disc).
Best is the location that is close to everything. Next door is a safeway supermarket, several pubs, Starbucks, etc. and within 5 minutes there is the CBD and 15 min to the airport.
Overall we would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
13
29
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pa.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for one night. Odd to see a full kitchen in a suite (along with Volrath cookware!). Many items in room (chair, washer/dryer, woodwork) were damaged. Beds and bedding were very comfortable. Felt more like a studio apt or flat than a hotel room. No parking on site -- had to use street parking behind the hotel. Overall, place had a strange feel -- not quite a hotel, not quite an apartment building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a little bit strange when you want to check in. This hotel doesn't have a lobby like any other hotel. No, here you have to go to one of the rooms which they use for checking in their guests. That also means that they have limited hours on which they are available for guests and a phonenumber which you can use for the out of office hours. The staff is very friendly. The hotel has their own parking space and they even have a few parkingspaces in a private parking garage. Since we were driving a Toyota Camry, our car had the right size (bigger cars do not fit). The room looks very nice and modern at first sight, but don't look too closely. Otherwise you will see that the finishing is not all that good. But the room had everything you need, even a completely equiped kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Nuvo is a great place to stay in downtown Calgary. It is beautifully decorated, affordable, comfortable and well equipped with full kitchen and in-suite laundry (although dryer is very slow). Best of all is the staff that bent over backwards to accommodate our every need, including offering to dry our laundry in their commercial machines. Grocery store, wine and beer store and restaurants are right outside the door. The view is not great (into the neighbouring building wall). One does have to climb at least a few steps and there is no elevator, so the disabled should take note. The staff were very helpful helping to haul our bags up. For us, the style, comfort and service overshadowed these small things.

Room Tip: When reserving be sure to specify if you need a pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night on a Friday. The room was dark, but nicely decorated & appointed. It was on the 2nd floor with a balcony. It was a warm evening, but I did not feel safe sleeping with the balcony door open. So I used the portable air conditioner. It was extraordinarily loud. Therefore, I had a very poor sleep. As there were no downtown options closer to my meetings, I returned on Monday. They were going to have me move three times in four nights. Thankfully, due to the work of Paul, I only had to move twice. The rooms were comfortable & it was really convenient having the kitchen, particularly as there was a Safeway across the road. The hotel is also well suutated, 10 min walk to downtown ir 17th Ave (lots of restaurants). The staff ate polite & welcoming. I would likely stay again. But I sure wouldn't want to be moved from room to room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My hubby and I stayed 3 nights around middle of Aug. It was a hot day. We arrived late and tired. I went in first to check in. Because there is no elevator, I considered the lower level would be easier for carrying luggage, so I asked for a room at lower level and the man gave me a room at lower level. But after we enter the room, we feel that was a wrong idea. The size of room is okay, but very dark, beside the street so noisy, windows cannot open, no air circulation, no air conditioner, only a fan, …… like a miserable cage. The bathroom is very small and dark. It was too late to change because the office closed.
On the second day, I requested to change. The same man accommodated my request. We moved everything to 4th floor. This room is bigger and much better with a portable air conditioner and balcony. We had a good night sleep. We were told we can only stay here for one night.
On the third day, we were asked to move to another room on 4th floor. This room is almost same as 1st night, but with a portable air conditioner and windows can be open (better air circulation).
We stayed 3 nights and moved 3 times. The first night was terrible. If you are going to stay in this hotel, don’t ask for the lower level.
I strongly recommend to the hotel that do not use the rooms on the bottom floor unless install a better system for air circulation.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The suite was and is amazing. Good location with access to local dinning places and a bonus with the grocery store just across the street from my one night home away from home. Will definitely recommend to all I know to stay with nuvo when they are visiting Calgary or passing through. Thanks to the nuvo hotel and the staff for making this a pleasant stay..

Room Tip: I am sure all are great I stayed in 402 September 16 This has two queen beds and it is a corner sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nuvo Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuvo Hotel Suites

Also Known As:
Nuvo Hotel
Nuvo Hotel Calgary
Address: 827 12th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R0J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuvo Hotel Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuvo Hote Suites is a small Boutique Hotel in downtown Calgary. Our trendy suites are spacious and contemporary, and come with full kitchens, optional in suite laundry, and Free WiFi and Long Distance Calling within North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Nuvo Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuvo Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.