We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swanky!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuvo Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nuvo Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Nuvo Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 12th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R0J1, Canada (Beltline)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wi-Fi
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“swanky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Calgary on our way to BC and needed someplace close to our daughter's condo. Ryan, who took my booking, matched the rate I was offered by Best Western down the street without me even asking! The rooms were lovely and reminded us of a European hotel. Everything was perfect. I agree that the locks are different but once you get used to them, they're no problem. I loved the coffee-maker built right into the wall! Bathroom was also beautiful! We will definitely stay there again when we're in Calgary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    34
    11
    12
See reviews for
19
39
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is recommended for short or long stays. The suite is very nice, spacious and centrally located. The suite is just like a bachelor's pad with the amenities and yet is priced right. I also like the decor, has a balcony and even a washer & dryer in the unit. There is no long distance call charge if calls are made within North America, that's a plus!

Room Tip: Higher floor will give a better view at the balcony howver be prepared to walk the stairs as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Close to good resteraunts . Comfy suites . Nice spot for a getaway in Calgary . My only negative was the slightly loud portable a.c unit but I would defenitly return ....... The room itself had everything a person could need with everything simple to use . The mattress and pillows were very comfy. Kind of stingy with the toiletries only one bar of soap for hands and shower. Why?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuvoHotelSuites, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Nuvo Hotel Suites, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I just wanted to let you, and any future guests know, that we have more bathroom amenities available upon request at the front desk, and are happy to provide guests with extra amenities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Nuvo. We were late arriving (and contacted them ahead of time to let them know), and they left out directions for us which we followed, and had NO problems getting into our room. The lock is a bit more fashion forward than I was used to, but my hubby figured it out quickly and we got in in a minute. The staff was very friendly, and efficient, and truly cared about the quality of our stay. The room and the hotel were spic and span, and we felt very secure there. Before we booked our room - we had read several reviews. Some mentioned about the rooms being too bright - but the problem has been rectified in the mean time, and the curtains were VERY dark. We heard the fridges were loud - but didn't even notice it running most of the time. We read something about the rugs not being in great shape - but again - they have fixed the problem, and the rug was just fine. There were also reviews stating that there were homeless people 'all over the place'... granted - there were a few looking to collect a couple cans a few times a day, but they are very quick, they didn't bother ANYONE, and were very polite. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, in fact - while we were IN Calgary, several people asked us about our stay, and we gave it the thumbs UP! If we come back to Calgary - we would absolutely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: We LOVED having our balcony room as we requested - but the rooms overlooking the city were a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuvoHotelSuites, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, and we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do take guest feedback very seriously and aim to resolve any issues that arise as soon as possible, and I am glad that you noticed everything which we have fixed/replaced in the last few months.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Novu and I enjoyed my stay very much. The room was very clean and very comfortable. It is in a great location with a Safeway located across the street and within walking distance of many amenities. I found the area very quiet. As a plus, the room I was in had a balcony.

L. Ferguson
North Vancouver, B.C.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Calgary for a life celebration for a family member who had passed away, and it was an excellent choice. It's very comfortable with kitchen and laundry facilities, comfortable balcony furniture (even if the balcony view is of the alley!), has some secure parking, and the service was great.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room with a balcony if the weather is as warm as it has recently been i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This little hotel in an unassuming location would be easy to pass without even noticing. We stayed during opening weekend of the stampede and it was very busy, but at such peak season, it was a relatively affordable option in downtown Calgary.

Positives:
- Large rooms with full kitchen. It would be easy to stay here long term and fend for yourself.
- Fending made even easier by adjacent Safeway and Liquor Barn.
- A good attempt has been made to keep a stylish theme in the rooms. Some of the furniture and decor is not top quality, but nor is it bland or average.
- Great shower! My husband and I are tall and hate hotels where we have to crouch to reach out heads. No issues here.
- Most rooms have a balcony.
- Our room wasn't ready at check-in but the staff were so proactive at resolving this, it gave us a positive impression.

Negatives:
- Narrow entrance and staircase makes access tight, especially with luggage. No communal areas at all.
- No 24 Hour reception may be an issue for some. Key entry out of hours.
- No parking bays for check in - try your luck on the street before being directed to secure parking.
- A 20 minute walk to the heart of downtown.

I thought this was a good choice for Stampede tourists on a bit of a budget. I'd rather stay closer to downtown on my next trip to Calgary however.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuvo Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuvo Hotel Suites

Address: 827 12th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R0J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuvo Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuvo Hote Suites is a small Boutique Hotel in downtown Calgary. Our trendy suites are spacious and contemporary, and come with full kitchens, optional in suite laundry, and Free WiFi and Long Distance Calling within North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Nuvo Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuvo Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuvo Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.