We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem after a bad day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport

Save Saved
You added Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Freeport Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T3N 0A3, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Portishead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A true gem after a bad day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Having been abandoned by our airline after it cancelled our flight we needed a hotel and a quick call to the Acclaim brought the promise of a room and transport that arrived in less than 10 minutes. Even thoughwe arrived at the hotel before 11AM we were able to check-in immediately thanks to the efficient recption staff.
The room was very comfortable with flat screen TV and decent coffeee making equipment. They include up to 20 minutes free phone calls (including international!) in the room rate.
Very good Italian restaurant attached to the property that is open for breakfast until late evening. Next morning transport back to the airport was quick and efficient.
Thanks to all the staff for making a bad day end a lot better!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    195
    30
    18
    7
See reviews for
121
237
54
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

My husband and I arrived Jan 25, and planned on leaving our vehicle at the hotel for the week we would be in Mexico. Location, rooms etc were great and the restaurant although busy, provided excellent service and good food. When we returned, the airport shuttle was timely enough and we stayed the night again. Only complaint, when my husband went out to start the vehicle in the morning the door was open. Although he found this odd that he would of left it open , carried on. After loading our suitcases etc and going grocery shopping , when we went to put the key in the lock, the whole lock piece was gone. We realized our 2 winter jackets were stolen as well! When I called the hotel to give them a heads up in case this had been an ongoing problem, the response was thanks for the heads up. An I'm sorry that happened to you would of been nice! I then asked if they had security camera's or lot security checks, the reply was "no I'm sorry, not at this time! Also on the way back, the walls appeared paper thin!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart27, Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
I apologize for the way the situation was handled.

Acclaim Hotel had problem free parking for 18 months. There was an increase in vehicle prowling in Calgary’s NE late 2010 early 2011 and some vehicles in our extended parking of a certain make were targeted. We worked closely with the Calgary Police Services to make sure we were doing everything we could to minimize the risk to vehicles on our property. We increased our own patrols and are treating the target vehicles differently so they are less susceptible to attack. The diligence has paid off as we have not had any issues for some time again.

We definitely should have been more understanding of the situation; however we are being very proactive in our efforts to ensure vehicle safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is the place to stay when needing to be near the Calgary Airport. Staff are always friendly, rooms are modern and clean, restaurant is great.
The only issue is the slamming doors, if the noise from this could be reduced it would be nearly perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This hotel is an excellent choice for individuals or families needing to catch an early flight from Calgary Airport. Our two rooms were very well appointed and very comfortable. We also enjoyed an excellent dinner in the adjoining Pacini Restaurant.
We chose the Park and Ride room category and picked up our vehicle about one week later when we returned from a cruise. The transport to and from the airport was very efficient. The drivers were courteous and gladly helped with our luggage. We would definitely use these facilities again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

I've stayed here 3 times this year, the rooms are very comfortable, plush beds, large flat screen TV, (even a TV in the bathroom for TV junkies like me) warm colors, to me, very comfortable. Rival any Westin, Sheraton, W hotel I've stayed at. For the price, can't beat the complimentary wireless, bottled water daily and in-room single serve coffee. Rooms have everything you'd expect or need from a high end business hotel. Staff is always kind. Housekeeping does a wonderful job, this time, even refused my tip that I always leave daily on the bed. (so I left it at check out) Only thing they need to do is comply with the whole "green" thing. When I hang my towel for second use, as instructed, they always change and leave me a new one anyway. Its not a deal breaker, but if they are going to worry about being green, print the paper instructions, they should follow the plan too? LOL I love this place, adequate GYM, which is a must for me too, clean good equipment.The food in Pacini is great too, love the "toast your own" bread bar. Will always stay here when I come to Calgary.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

i chose this hotel based on other reviews that i've read on tripadvisor, and i'm glad i made the right decision. i spent a night here and gave the hot tub on the roofdeck a go. it was snowing and around -19 deg C, but the water was fabulous and hot. i stayed in a double room. the queen beds were luxurious, and were the sort where you could fall asleep immediately in.

they kept to their word about 20minutes free international calls and i wasn't charged a cent. the bedside is equipped with an ipod speaker/alarm which has great sound. a television right above the bath tub wasn't too bad either! great choice if you simply need a place to relax.

the lobby is great to use if you need fast (and free) internet and printing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

The hotel was still going through some renovations so the baseboards weren't up, wall paper was hanging down and had some writing on the walls for the work to be done. The carpet had shown that workers were nearby and had dirtied the carpet with a fine white dusting.

The room itself was quite nice and modern. The bathroom was fantastic with the European showerhead and if you wanted to take a relaxing bath, you could watch tv. I found the lounge chair very comfortable. Unfortunately, I found the bed too soft for my liking and had trouble sleeping 3 of 4 nights I stayed there.

Given the location of the hotel, it would be wise to rent a car so you can see Calgary. Otherwise you are stuck paying for taxis everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport

Address: 123 Freeport Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T3N 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#7 Business Hotel in Calgary
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaim Hotel offers modern sophisticated accommodations 2 kilometres from the Calgary International Airport. Acclaim's location provides easy access to Calgary's thoroughfares, allowing for a speedy route to all points in the city. The property offers 225 non-smoking rooms and suites with king and queen size beds. Calgary's finest Italian food is available right at the property in Pacini Pasta & Grill Ristorante. The on premises wine bar offers a relaxing intimate setting. The CrossIron Mills mall located in Balzac is less than 10 minutes drive north from Acclaim Hotel. If traveling to or from Banff National Park, Canmore, or Jasper access is convenient via the new Hwy. 201 Stoney Trail ring road access 2 km's north of Acclaim Hotel. The Country Hills Plaza shopping centre is located 5 minutes drive west on Country Hills Boulevard. Michener Allen Auction is located 2 kms north on Barlow Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acclaim Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.