We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Save
You added English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa to your Saves list
5544 Dalhousie Drive, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for four nights in September and had a wonderful time. Teri and David were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Teri's breakfasts were excellent, always varied and freshly baked, and the company was always convivial. There was plenty of space to relax, the wi-fi was a life saver as we were house hunting, and the hot tub was great. There is a mall within walking distance so getting an evening meal was easy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
76
26
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This B&B is so clean, relaxed, inviting...I felt so at home as soon as Teri opened the door to greet us! We stayed in the Egyptian and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub! Our room had everything we needed including a VERY comfortable bed! David even set our alarm for us and Terri made our taxi reservation...so, not only do you get a great room but willing help too! Walkable to the grocery and restaurants and reasonably priced too! The breakfast?....Oh My - fantastic! Would love to come back soon!

Room Tip: There are just 2 rooms...I preferred the Egyptian with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the English B&B for 2 nights during the Stampede. David welcomed us and showed us around the house. Our room (the Egyptian) was next to the balcony where the hot tub is located. Great to chill after a long flight from Europe! Teri's breakfast's were great, the french toast caramel was one of the best breakfasts I had in Canada. David kept us company at the breakfast table and told us about great sights in Banff, our next stop. We would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the English Bed and Breakfast and Day Spa and we were extremely happy. David and Terri are very friendly and experienced travelers so they helped us a lot with our trip. I already miss the morning conversation with them. The place is squeaky clean. The food is simply wonderful. When you check-in, the breakfast menu for days you are going to stay there is gracefully put on your bed-side table. The food is so great that we always looked forward to the next morning.
If you decide to stay there, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at the English Day Bed, Breakfast, and Spa. Teri is a great hostess and creates a magical breakfast. Being on a quest for the world's best French Toast, I can attest that she's near the top. The English is very comfortable and a great location. We hopped on Calgary's excellent light rail system just up the street from the English and it took us right to the Stampede.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed with my sister and brother-in-law here for two nights recently, and were really impressed with the quality of accommodation, superb breakfasts and friendliness of the owners Teri and David. We can't rate this B&B highly enough and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying near Calgary who wants some personal homely attention rather than bland corporate hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We found this B&B easily with directions from the Airport. It is also quite close to the station where you can park and then ride the Calgary Transit system into the town centre and wherever you wish to travel.

We found Teri particulary helpful with regards to giving us directions to wherever we wished to travel. She is an excellent cook and changed the breakfasts in accordance with our likes and dislikes. There is a hot tub to use if desired and also a spacious living area. You can also if you wish cook in their kitchen but we preferred to eat out. All in all a very good choice and at a reasonable cost.

The only thing that put us off slightly was the fact that they were not there to greet us when we arrived so had to let ourselves in and find our way round. We did not meet them until the following morning.

Room Tip: The Egyptian room is the nicest as it is a little brighter and with direct access to the hot tub if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English5544, Owner at English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we appreciate it! We are sorry we are not able to greet all of our guests personally. When we make a reservation with our guests we make arrangements for them to get into the B&B if we are not available. Everything about our B&B is written down in the welcome guide. We do this for many reasons. Primarily because we don’t want our guests to be worried about an exact check in time if there is something they want to do on the way to the B&B or worried if their flight is late. Our prices reflect that we are not always available but we are happy to provide information at breakfast time and when it works for our schedule. We are thankful for pointing this out to our potential guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Address: 5544 Dalhousie Drive, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9 , Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.