We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled re the pet friendly facilities” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada (Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #57 of 107 Hotels in Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled re the pet friendly facilities”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Despite being told this was a pet friendly hotel upon phone booking upon arrival we find out that the pet ( an old deaf 4 lb dog) could not be left unattended in the room except when we were out dining. That would mean we would have to leave our dog in a hot car during our trip to the zoo etc or we could stay in the dismal hotel room with the dog for the next 3 days? Their solution was we could put out the do not disturb sign and forgo housekeeping. Great, I get to pay extra for an old , tired looking room and get no cleaning, towels ? for three days ? I'll be looking for other accommodation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dwells10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. For the courtesy of our many guests we allow the option of pet friendly rooms, that being said we must ensure all policies are covered when permitting rooms with Pets. We unfortunately receive complaints from guests with regards to pets barking and we have on many occasions taken the pet for a walk and even hosted with us at the front desk until owners returned. This is a policy we seem very fair for the comfort of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Alyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is one stop down from the Calgary stampede, 5 mins away on the c train.
the hotel room was large and had very comfortable bed, bath/shower, coffee machine, ironing etc.
The restaurant provided good value tasty meal, we arrived at airport, travelled on public bus transport to centre of town taking about 40 mins, then c train to hotel, another 15- 20 mins, great value and easy to do, if in doubt ask a Canadian, in our 2 week stay we always found them so happy and helpful where ever we travelled

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments and 5 Star review.

We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your visit with us, and we look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froid, Mt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Was in Calgary for the Stampede and this motel is one of the closest to the Stampede Grounds with the Rapid Transit depot right in the motel parking lot.
Everything about the motel was great except for the price, but then again, it was Stampede Week.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights recently at the end of the stampede, though we didn't go to the stampede. The food in the restaurant for dinner was excellent! My husband had the calamari and I had the chicken primavera - both were delicious and cooked correctly. We started with the homemade soups, again delicious. The breakfasts were okay. Our son ate breakfast and dinner for free and he liked the food. The pool had a lot of mould on the pool deck and the laundry had only 1 washer and 1 dryer. The washer was $2.00 which is standard however the dryer was $2.50. Also the multi-level arrangement was confusing at first. The staff were friendly and helpful. No fridge or microwave in the room. Only a double bed and a couch, instead of 2 beds. The bed was super hard, didn't sleep that well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommabeetle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your business and for sharing your comments.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall but we apologize for the concerns brought to our attention.
Our guest rooms are not equipped with fridges and or microwaves but we do have available upon request.
We were pleased to read of your positive experiences in our Restaurant and will certainly pass along those comments.
We will also make sure the pool is inspected. after we researched we located no mold but the deck will get a power wash as it gets dirty after heavy use.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again real soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here during the recent Calgary Stampede. Liked the location for its ease of getting rapid transit to the Stampede. The hotel feels old. The layout is tri-level without elevators. Very inconvenient for handling luggage. The rooms were clean and the parking was good. The desk staff was very helpful. The restaurant served good food but had one upset with a waiter who did not offer water and insisted that they don't do that without our asking. Then next time we ate there, with a different waiter, there was water immediately on the table.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZDavePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and for staying with us during the Calgary Stampede. We apologize for the layout of the Hotel, as mentioned we are built on a hill and although we do not have an elevator at the Lobby entrance we do have elevators in the center of the Hotel, we also have 4 entrances around the perimeter of the Hotel allowing for easier access, Our staff should have offered luggage assistance, if we failed to make such an offer then we apologize for this missed service opportunity.
Our procedure for the restaurant is to offer water when visiting your table, we will certainly follow up with all staff members and remind them as well of this important service expectation.

Thank you from us all and we hope you decide to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my second stay in many years. Very handy to my client about ten minutes away.

This tri-level arrangement can be inconvenient if you have lot's of luggage or cannot navigate easily stairs but not a problem for me. Because I was consulting to a nearby client they agreed to use the client rate which I thought was gracious.

Comfortable bed, big pillow choices. Even near the entry it was not noisy, on what is a busy street most of the day, Macleod Trail.

There is an in hotel restaurant/pub that serves a passable not fancy fair, but I was never disappointed. The staff was always friendly and offered a kind assist as needed.

Bathroom was always clean, shower worked and produced hot water in seconds, all the basics you need. If you need more, as another comment said, the Chinook shopping center is ten minutes at most down the road.

My only disappointment was that in the room there was no desk to sit to do after hours work. There was a table with two chairs, too low for the table, so I sat on at least one more pillow in the double queen room and I was mostly at the right height to type. Internet access was ok, wireless and wired connections always worked. Thanks.

I agree with another reviewer's comments "Good return for the money".

I would come back again, now that I know how to get here from the airport.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms toward the back seem quieter than the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review, you touched on so many key points of service that we offer, so glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

We apologize for the table and chairs in our rooms, we have many that provide the office desk and desk chair and then many rooms that offer the round table with 2 lounge chairs.

Our location is excellent especially considering how close we are to everything and at a great rate, we also offer many packages if interested,

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great service from staff, friendly, good restaurant and swimming pool option, great for family vacation, new wedding favourite for young professionals, travelling close to highway location and downtown Calgary - m.abdi

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we have a great location and as you had mentioned we host and cater numerous weddings at our Hotel, we have 5000 square feet of meeting and social space, full Catering services and a great Chef on our team. Close to downtown and Calgary's largest Mall only 5 minutes away and located beside transit, so you can stay and then park for free and travel to downtown and or the mall, zoo, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Days Inn Calgary South
Days Inn Calgary South
#79 of 107 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
BEST WESTERN PLUS Calgary Centre Inn
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 107 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Hotel Blackfoot
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 107 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing