We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for the stampede” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #56 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Alyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent for the stampede”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is one stop down from the Calgary stampede, 5 mins away on the c train.
the hotel room was large and had very comfortable bed, bath/shower, coffee machine, ironing etc.
The restaurant provided good value tasty meal, we arrived at airport, travelled on public bus transport to centre of town taking about 40 mins, then c train to hotel, another 15- 20 mins, great value and easy to do, if in doubt ask a Canadian, in our 2 week stay we always found them so happy and helpful where ever we travelled

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments and 5 Star review.

We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your visit with us, and we look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    66
    18
    16
See reviews for
32
46
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Froid, Mt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Was in Calgary for the Stampede and this motel is one of the closest to the Stampede Grounds with the Rapid Transit depot right in the motel parking lot.
Everything about the motel was great except for the price, but then again, it was Stampede Week.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review, we were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our great location to the Stampede Grounds and even downtown.

Hope you had a nice holiday, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights recently at the end of the stampede, though we didn't go to the stampede. The food in the restaurant for dinner was excellent! My husband had the calamari and I had the chicken primavera - both were delicious and cooked correctly. We started with the homemade soups, again delicious. The breakfasts were okay. Our son ate breakfast and dinner for free and he liked the food. The pool had a lot of mould on the pool deck and the laundry had only 1 washer and 1 dryer. The washer was $2.00 which is standard however the dryer was $2.50. Also the multi-level arrangement was confusing at first. The staff were friendly and helpful. No fridge or microwave in the room. Only a double bed and a couch, instead of 2 beds. The bed was super hard, didn't sleep that well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your business and for sharing your comments.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall but we apologize for the concerns brought to our attention.
Our guest rooms are not equipped with fridges and or microwaves but we do have available upon request.
We were pleased to read of your positive experiences in our Restaurant and will certainly pass along those comments.
We will also make sure the pool is inspected. after we researched we located no mold but the deck will get a power wash as it gets dirty after heavy use.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again real soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here during the recent Calgary Stampede. Liked the location for its ease of getting rapid transit to the Stampede. The hotel feels old. The layout is tri-level without elevators. Very inconvenient for handling luggage. The rooms were clean and the parking was good. The desk staff was very helpful. The restaurant served good food but had one upset with a waiter who did not offer water and insisted that they don't do that without our asking. Then next time we ate there, with a different waiter, there was water immediately on the table.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and for staying with us during the Calgary Stampede. We apologize for the layout of the Hotel, as mentioned we are built on a hill and although we do not have an elevator at the Lobby entrance we do have elevators in the center of the Hotel, we also have 4 entrances around the perimeter of the Hotel allowing for easier access, Our staff should have offered luggage assistance, if we failed to make such an offer then we apologize for this missed service opportunity.
Our procedure for the restaurant is to offer water when visiting your table, we will certainly follow up with all staff members and remind them as well of this important service expectation.

Thank you from us all and we hope you decide to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my second stay in many years. Very handy to my client about ten minutes away.

This tri-level arrangement can be inconvenient if you have lot's of luggage or cannot navigate easily stairs but not a problem for me. Because I was consulting to a nearby client they agreed to use the client rate which I thought was gracious.

Comfortable bed, big pillow choices. Even near the entry it was not noisy, on what is a busy street most of the day, Macleod Trail.

There is an in hotel restaurant/pub that serves a passable not fancy fair, but I was never disappointed. The staff was always friendly and offered a kind assist as needed.

Bathroom was always clean, shower worked and produced hot water in seconds, all the basics you need. If you need more, as another comment said, the Chinook shopping center is ten minutes at most down the road.

My only disappointment was that in the room there was no desk to sit to do after hours work. There was a table with two chairs, too low for the table, so I sat on at least one more pillow in the double queen room and I was mostly at the right height to type. Internet access was ok, wireless and wired connections always worked. Thanks.

I agree with another reviewer's comments "Good return for the money".

I would come back again, now that I know how to get here from the airport.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms toward the back seem quieter than the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review, you touched on so many key points of service that we offer, so glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

We apologize for the table and chairs in our rooms, we have many that provide the office desk and desk chair and then many rooms that offer the round table with 2 lounge chairs.

Our location is excellent especially considering how close we are to everything and at a great rate, we also offer many packages if interested,

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great service from staff, friendly, good restaurant and swimming pool option, great for family vacation, new wedding favourite for young professionals, travelling close to highway location and downtown Calgary - m.abdi

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we have a great location and as you had mentioned we host and cater numerous weddings at our Hotel, we have 5000 square feet of meeting and social space, full Catering services and a great Chef on our team. Close to downtown and Calgary's largest Mall only 5 minutes away and located beside transit, so you can stay and then park for free and travel to downtown and or the mall, zoo, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean. There are plenty of places to eat in the area. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the Chinook Mall by bus. The bus runs outside of the hotel, very convenient. Great bang for your buck!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you very much for the great comments.

We were very pleased to read that you love our Hotel. We have a great location, 5 minutes to Calgary's Largest Mall, 5 minutes to Downtown Calgary, close to many restaurants and the transit is right beside us.

Thank you for your business, we hope to see you again real soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.