We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada (Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #57 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It was fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here as I was driving out early in the morning heading south and wanted to avoid the horrible Calgary rush hour traffic. All the staff I met whether at the front desk, in the hall, at the restaurant were very friendly, polite and respectful. The interior is a little old looking but nothing significant. I had a kingsize bed. It was too soft for me. The had two sets of pillows one rated soft the other firm. Even these were too soft. But I know that some people like soft so that is really down to your taste. Size of the room was ok, and internet was free both wifi in your room and ethernet connection.

I had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning. it was very good. I like that they automatically give you a cup to take your coffee with you at the end of breakfast. Nice little touch. Macleod Trail has a number of restaurants on it so you dont have to go far to get something to eat. There is a good little Mexican restaurant called Salt and Pepper kiddie corner from the hotel and a block South. I did hear one train while I was in the room.

Overall the hotel was fine. Nothing great nothing horrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your great review, i am glad you had a great visit while in Calgary and thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South.

Glad you enjoyed your King room, I wish you had the perfect pillows but we attempt to offer soft and firm pillows in all rooms with our pillow top mattresses.

Glad you enjoyed the restuarant and friendly services, and yes the restaurant you mentioned is great, nice to have that option within walkin distance.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    70
    18
    16
See reviews for
32
46
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and the staff were very nice. My wife had booked the room online and used her Holiday inn reward points. The staff told us that reservations need to be done by the the rewards people but the staff really helped straighten out the problem. The room was nice and we had a good night. We were close to the sadle dome so we took the train to the concert and the station was nearby. We had no time to go out and eat so we ate at the hotel resterant and eat found it reasonable and very good. We also had breakfast there and but didn't enjoy it much. Over all it was a good stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you to both you and your wife for sharing some great feedback, we hope you had a great time at the concert.

We are so lucky to be located less than 10 minutes away from the Saddledome which hosts many large concerts, the amazing Calgary Stampede, many large conventions and hopefully one day soon our Calgary Flames.

Glad we were able to sort out the room night and the ability to use your priority points, this is a great Holiday Inn recognition program and everyone should join.

We hope to see you soon and thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Was there for one night and no complain to make. The place is clean, quiet, and restaurant is agreeable. Breakfast tastes good and they give you a coffee to take out. I will go back when I'm back to Calgary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our great Hotel during your most recent visit.

We were all pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall visit and were totally satisfied, we thank you very much for your business and look forward to your return,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family booked this hotel through our visa for a visit to Calgary. It was simple, clean and very friendly. We received breakfast vouchers and the kids ate free at the restaurant. The waitresses were so friendly and loved visiting with the kids. They brought them fresh muffins and interacted well with our family. This is not a fancy hotel, but it was perfect for our one night stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your great comments, we were very pleased to see you and your family enjoyed your visit while in Calgary.

We take much pride in our great employees and happy you felt the same way.

Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had driven across the country to start our lives anew in Calgary...after five days on the road we were looking forward to have a relaxing stay whilst we waited to settle on our new home. Despite the front desks best efforts our initial impression was not positive as we arrived mid afternoon looking to relax only to be told our room wasn't ready. Despite advising in advance we would require a pet friendly room we were told it would be another 60 mins. We went for a walk for 90 mins and when we returned were told it stil wasn't ready...we waited some more. Once the room was ready it was reasonable...until the trains started to go past. There is a light rail however there is also a rail line for diesel locomotives that can give you a rude awakening at 0200 in the morning. Granted we were in a pet friendly (second class) room but once the morning commuters, rail and traffic started to permeate our room it was time for a change. There may be better rooms but we changed hotels and couldn't have been happier.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations. As you are aware not many properties offer Pet Friendly rooms however we thought differently and wished to ensure our travellers with pets were always welcomed. That being said we only provide a few certain room types for this option, many guests that travel and stay with us also share concerns that they might be staying in a Pet friendly room. We make all efforts to perform an extra clean for those reasons, however when reservations with Pets are made we are never certain when these room types will be clean and ready. Our check out time is 11, check in time is 3pm so I am unsure when you arrived at the Hotel but would assume it was early.
We also apologize for the noise, some Hotels are located in the center of downtown and must listen to constant traffic, fire engines etc, Airports have Airplanes, and we have a train near by, to many this is never an issue but for some it is a major disturbance and we try to be open and honest of our surroundings.
I am glad you were able to locate other accomodations and i trust the remainder of your stay in Calgary was great.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Both a plus and a minus, this hotel is right next to the C-Train station. Getting to and from downtown is quick and convenient, but I could hear the trains running from my room. The room was clean and the staff was courteous. My key cards did not work initially and I had to take them back to the front desk to get them re-programmed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am glad overall your stay was great. I do apologize for the noise, unfortunately we do have train tracks near by and at times the sound can be heard depending on the time of day, we thank you very much for your business and look forward to your return,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We flew from Vancouver to Calgary, and had booked Holiday Inn as we got a good deal and we are renting a car, so this would help offset the cost of the car a bit. The staff were friendly, efficient, polite and very helpful. Our breakfast(Pollo Skillet) was outstanding, so congratulations to the chef for such a tasty meal!! We appreciate the public transport station(rail) to the city was extremely close and handy though we had a car, and there are some great chopping spots close by for a rainy day. The hotel does have an old feel to it despite the renovated exterior, and the rooms follow that same feel. It's all plastic cups and cutlery(which I hate for enviro reasons) and has a cheap feel to it. Old sheets, and old furniture. Basic things like a corkscrew and scissors missing... Still, can't complain for the price we got, but would have been pretty disappointed if we had paid a high Summer rate!

Room Tip: I overheard someone giving out stink about the basement rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you I am very glad that overall your stay was positive, we do have great staff that are very empowered to ensure your stay was great, thanks about the great coment regarding the breakfast and public transit which is such a great feature to have close by.
We do have an older feel in some roms and we are slowly making some progress, we are replacing the chairs in our guest rooms, also very soon we are refinishing all the bath tubs and installing new guest room carpet, the carpet is not expected until early January when we have lower occupancy and less chance of disturbing our guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.