We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempered review” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #52 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tempered review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had driven across the country to start our lives anew in Calgary...after five days on the road we were looking forward to have a relaxing stay whilst we waited to settle on our new home. Despite the front desks best efforts our initial impression was not positive as we arrived mid afternoon looking to relax only to be told our room wasn't ready. Despite advising in advance we would require a pet friendly room we were told it would be another 60 mins. We went for a walk for 90 mins and when we returned were told it stil wasn't ready...we waited some more. Once the room was ready it was reasonable...until the trains started to go past. There is a light rail however there is also a rail line for diesel locomotives that can give you a rude awakening at 0200 in the morning. Granted we were in a pet friendly (second class) room but once the morning commuters, rail and traffic started to permeate our room it was time for a change. There may be better rooms but we changed hotels and couldn't have been happier.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations. As you are aware not many properties offer Pet Friendly rooms however we thought differently and wished to ensure our travellers with pets were always welcomed. That being said we only provide a few certain room types for this option, many guests that travel and stay with us also share concerns that they might be staying in a Pet friendly room. We make all efforts to perform an extra clean for those reasons, however when reservations with Pets are made we are never certain when these room types will be clean and ready. Our check out time is 11, check in time is 3pm so I am unsure when you arrived at the Hotel but would assume it was early.
We also apologize for the noise, some Hotels are located in the center of downtown and must listen to constant traffic, fire engines etc, Airports have Airplanes, and we have a train near by, to many this is never an issue but for some it is a major disturbance and we try to be open and honest of our surroundings.
I am glad you were able to locate other accomodations and i trust the remainder of your stay in Calgary was great.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    62
    15
    12
See reviews for
30
39
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Both a plus and a minus, this hotel is right next to the C-Train station. Getting to and from downtown is quick and convenient, but I could hear the trains running from my room. The room was clean and the staff was courteous. My key cards did not work initially and I had to take them back to the front desk to get them re-programmed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am glad overall your stay was great. I do apologize for the noise, unfortunately we do have train tracks near by and at times the sound can be heard depending on the time of day, we thank you very much for your business and look forward to your return,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We flew from Vancouver to Calgary, and had booked Holiday Inn as we got a good deal and we are renting a car, so this would help offset the cost of the car a bit. The staff were friendly, efficient, polite and very helpful. Our breakfast(Pollo Skillet) was outstanding, so congratulations to the chef for such a tasty meal!! We appreciate the public transport station(rail) to the city was extremely close and handy though we had a car, and there are some great chopping spots close by for a rainy day. The hotel does have an old feel to it despite the renovated exterior, and the rooms follow that same feel. It's all plastic cups and cutlery(which I hate for enviro reasons) and has a cheap feel to it. Old sheets, and old furniture. Basic things like a corkscrew and scissors missing... Still, can't complain for the price we got, but would have been pretty disappointed if we had paid a high Summer rate!

Room Tip: I overheard someone giving out stink about the basement rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you I am very glad that overall your stay was positive, we do have great staff that are very empowered to ensure your stay was great, thanks about the great coment regarding the breakfast and public transit which is such a great feature to have close by.
We do have an older feel in some roms and we are slowly making some progress, we are replacing the chairs in our guest rooms, also very soon we are refinishing all the bath tubs and installing new guest room carpet, the carpet is not expected until early January when we have lower occupancy and less chance of disturbing our guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great location. Next to light rail.
Great service. Great staff.
A bit expensive but worth it.

Breakfast deal is a great value ! Especially for couple. For 10$/night more you will get 40$ worth of breakfast !

Ask for rooms at the 4th or 3rd level, good access to lobby, restaurants and gym.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for your great comments, your are right the breakfast deal is a great deal glad you enjoyed everything, thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for five nights with the family. The facilities are average,nothing exceptional and nothing catastrophic. Very reasonable price ... We had two adjoining rooms.
Two opportunities for the team .... Room service arrived cold.. Our dinners were all luke warm. Cleaning staff seemed to come really late in the day... Around 3ish... Was a bit of an inconvenience because we had already gone out for the day and then came back to the rooms unattended.
The front desk staff were very quick with their greetings... And beyond that, they were very helpful when asked for assistance.
Final comment ... The coffee in the restaurant was really not very good at all. Would suggest looking for alternative roasts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the review, it sounds like it was not a great experience overall, I am hoping that you brought these issues to our atention as our staff would have dealt with them immediately and hopefully offered some sort of reimbursement. I do not hear alot of complaints about cold food so I certainly apologize, Housekeeping is a hard one to control, each room atendant has 14-15 rooms to clean each day and therefore there are always some being finished a little later in the day depending on when the room becomes vacant, I am sorry for this. We do hope you decide to return and we can make all efforts to ensure a more pleasant meal and we will notify room attendants to clean your room first once we are notified.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Staff polite, room clean, conveniently located, noisy in-room air conditioning but worst of all, no internet (or WiFi) – "our service is being upgraded." Not good enough sir, tell me that before I book.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our great staff and Hotel, glad your stay was good.
I am sorry internet was disrupted , unfortunately there are things we are unable to control, and one of those is when there is a Server issue with our communications provider, The services were restored that afternoon, we never receive complaints about our Free wireless so this was unfortunate.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I used this hotel in September while the International Pipeline Conference was on and all the downtown hotels had hiked their prices up for the week. Therefore, relatively, a reasonable rate of $170 per night. Train station right outside the hotel with only 4 stops north to downtown (10 mins) and 1 stop south to the Chinook Shopping Mall at a one way price of $2.75.
Reception staff were very pleasant and the hotel features a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 7 eleven within walking distance as are various eateries.
Didn't try the pool as it had been refilled and was apparently very cold, but looked very nice.
Room was clean and relatively spacious, although only 5 coat hangers, but a quick call to reception and a guy arrived with more. Good desk for working on (bottom part pulls out so almost doubles working area) and free in room wifi (which is an absolute must for me when selecting a hotel - I despise the big chains that charge for wifi on top of high room rates - colleagues of mine stayed in the Hyatt at a ridiculous rate and had to pay a further $60 per week for wifi - disgraceful !).
All in all, an excellent alternative to the big downtown chains, in a convenient location, at a fraction of the price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review while attending the recent Conference in Calgary. You touched on so many key areas of the Hotel and we appreciate your summary of services. Sorry the pool was cold, each year I is a very difficult task trying to find the right week to close it down and perform maintenance along with a very detailed clean. I appreciate the comment about our location to transit, this is so very important to many guests that travel here without a car, or even with guests that have vehicles but wish to save on high parking expenses downtown.

Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.