We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada (Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We flew from Vancouver to Calgary, and had booked Holiday Inn as we got a good deal and we are renting a car, so this would help offset the cost of the car a bit. The staff were friendly, efficient, polite and very helpful. Our breakfast(Pollo Skillet) was outstanding, so congratulations to the chef for such a tasty meal!! We appreciate the public transport station(rail) to the city was extremely close and handy though we had a car, and there are some great chopping spots close by for a rainy day. The hotel does have an old feel to it despite the renovated exterior, and the rooms follow that same feel. It's all plastic cups and cutlery(which I hate for enviro reasons) and has a cheap feel to it. Old sheets, and old furniture. Basic things like a corkscrew and scissors missing... Still, can't complain for the price we got, but would have been pretty disappointed if we had paid a high Summer rate!

Room Tip: I overheard someone giving out stink about the basement rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you I am very glad that overall your stay was positive, we do have great staff that are very empowered to ensure your stay was great, thanks about the great coment regarding the breakfast and public transit which is such a great feature to have close by.
We do have an older feel in some roms and we are slowly making some progress, we are replacing the chairs in our guest rooms, also very soon we are refinishing all the bath tubs and installing new guest room carpet, the carpet is not expected until early January when we have lower occupancy and less chance of disturbing our guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    71
    19
    17
See reviews for
33
46
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great location. Next to light rail.
Great service. Great staff.
A bit expensive but worth it.

Breakfast deal is a great value ! Especially for couple. For 10$/night more you will get 40$ worth of breakfast !

Ask for rooms at the 4th or 3rd level, good access to lobby, restaurants and gym.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for your great comments, your are right the breakfast deal is a great deal glad you enjoyed everything, thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for five nights with the family. The facilities are average,nothing exceptional and nothing catastrophic. Very reasonable price ... We had two adjoining rooms.
Two opportunities for the team .... Room service arrived cold.. Our dinners were all luke warm. Cleaning staff seemed to come really late in the day... Around 3ish... Was a bit of an inconvenience because we had already gone out for the day and then came back to the rooms unattended.
The front desk staff were very quick with their greetings... And beyond that, they were very helpful when asked for assistance.
Final comment ... The coffee in the restaurant was really not very good at all. Would suggest looking for alternative roasts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the review, it sounds like it was not a great experience overall, I am hoping that you brought these issues to our atention as our staff would have dealt with them immediately and hopefully offered some sort of reimbursement. I do not hear alot of complaints about cold food so I certainly apologize, Housekeeping is a hard one to control, each room atendant has 14-15 rooms to clean each day and therefore there are always some being finished a little later in the day depending on when the room becomes vacant, I am sorry for this. We do hope you decide to return and we can make all efforts to ensure a more pleasant meal and we will notify room attendants to clean your room first once we are notified.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Staff polite, room clean, conveniently located, noisy in-room air conditioning but worst of all, no internet (or WiFi) – "our service is being upgraded." Not good enough sir, tell me that before I book.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our great staff and Hotel, glad your stay was good.
I am sorry internet was disrupted , unfortunately there are things we are unable to control, and one of those is when there is a Server issue with our communications provider, The services were restored that afternoon, we never receive complaints about our Free wireless so this was unfortunate.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I used this hotel in September while the International Pipeline Conference was on and all the downtown hotels had hiked their prices up for the week. Therefore, relatively, a reasonable rate of $170 per night. Train station right outside the hotel with only 4 stops north to downtown (10 mins) and 1 stop south to the Chinook Shopping Mall at a one way price of $2.75.
Reception staff were very pleasant and the hotel features a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 7 eleven within walking distance as are various eateries.
Didn't try the pool as it had been refilled and was apparently very cold, but looked very nice.
Room was clean and relatively spacious, although only 5 coat hangers, but a quick call to reception and a guy arrived with more. Good desk for working on (bottom part pulls out so almost doubles working area) and free in room wifi (which is an absolute must for me when selecting a hotel - I despise the big chains that charge for wifi on top of high room rates - colleagues of mine stayed in the Hyatt at a ridiculous rate and had to pay a further $60 per week for wifi - disgraceful !).
All in all, an excellent alternative to the big downtown chains, in a convenient location, at a fraction of the price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review while attending the recent Conference in Calgary. You touched on so many key areas of the Hotel and we appreciate your summary of services. Sorry the pool was cold, each year I is a very difficult task trying to find the right week to close it down and perform maintenance along with a very detailed clean. I appreciate the comment about our location to transit, this is so very important to many guests that travel here without a car, or even with guests that have vehicles but wish to save on high parking expenses downtown.

Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loreto, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 days and found the room nice and the restaurant good (both food and service). I think the front desk was under staffed during my stay; I called from the taxi to verify the hotel because it was booked by our corporate travel department, and the taxi driver told me there we two Holiday Inns on Macleod Trail. I was on hold for over 5 minutes, and actually arrived at the front desk before my call was answered! (luckily, I was at the right place!)

Smack dab in the middle of a three-week Canadian trip, I had 3 bags plus carry-ons. I was supprised to learn that there was no elevator from the lobby to my room!?!!?! After walking down the hallway, and returning to the lobby to ask, I was told that it was only 8 steps up to the second floor...And no one from the hotel offered to help me with the bags! It took my 3 trips up and down to get my bags up to the floor. At check out, same story. Elevator to almost street level and carry bags down "8" stairs to street level.

Another suprise was the phone call from the front desk waking me up at 10:30pm asking me to pay for the dinner that I had charged to my room several hours earlier! I basically hung up on the staff member, telling him that I would take care of it in the morning. When I went to the lobby the next day, I was told that there was no problem with my credit card deposit and I didn't have to take care of the bill until checkout (duh!!!!)

I took a point off for each of these problems, but overall the stay was enjoyable. (especially if you don't have a lot of baggage, or if the hotel hires more bellboys!)

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, I was sorry to see that you experienced a few issues. We do receive many comments asking why we do not have an elevator at the main entrance to the Hotel and unfortunately this is a structural issue, our team is trained to offer assistance for this reason. We do have the option of directing guests with lots of lugage to our North entrance that is equipped with luggage carts and elevator access in the center of our Hotel. We do have an elevator however as mentioned located half way down the guest corridors, this elevator takes you to all four floors and to main parking lot for easier access. We ar eunsure why a cal was made to your room and apologize for this inconvenience, I have shared the coment with our Front Desk manager so that he can follow up to better understand and discuss with our team.

Thank you again and we do sincerely appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This is an older hotel and the age is starting to show but they do a great job of maintaining the level of quality. Professional staff in both front desk and diner. I do have one complaint in regards to the quality of food in the restaurant. Service, appy, salad was good but the steak was sub par. Ate two bites and did not touch the rest. I recommend this place for any business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we have a great team here and make all efforts to ensure our property, although older, is well maintained daily. I was upset to hear you did not enjoy your dinner, I would very much like to reimburse you for your dinner, please feel free to contact myself and I am happy to buy you dinner on your next visit or apply a credit to your credit card on file. Thank you very much for your business, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.