We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly service and good location. Minor things to nitpick over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada (Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Calgary
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly service and good location. Minor things to nitpick over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I used my Priority Rewards and stayed here for 2 nights. Front desk staff were very friendly and as a Priority Rewards member I got a free snack. The room wasn't that big but it was clean and we had more than enough space to fit and open our luggage. I could only find 1 free power outlet (coming out of the lamp at the desk). I wanted one near the bed, and there was a power cable near the bed but it was filled with other plugs so I had to unplug a few to charge our electronic devices. No biggie for us but if you have a billion things to charge up, good luck.

Bathroom was clean and we had enough towels. First thing I noticed was the layout - the sink is situated on the outside of the toilet/tub (which is fine), but if you're not careful coming out of the bathroom you can clock someone with the door if they're using the sink! We almost did this a few times. I'm not sure if all the rooms are like this but be careful if yours is! Bathroom feels a tad cramped and the shower pressure wasn't great, but the complimentary toiletries were great! Bed was firm and we had enough pillows for a decent night's sleep.

Wireless internet was a breeze to connect to (you get instructions on how to connect), and it was never flaky. I saw a network cable to connect to on the desk but didn't use it. Mini fridge came in handy to keep our drinks cool. Free newspaper in the morning too which was a nice touch.

Last weird thing is the elevator - we found out it stops in between the 3rd and 4th floor (we were on the 4th) and it was actually faster to carry our luggage up/down the half set of stairs to/from the front desk (which seems to be on the 3rd floor). We were only about 10min drive away from downtown, and we spotted some fast food joints (McD's, Timmies) very close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great review, I am very sorry that you had difficulty in finding an outlet for your work materials, your are correct I wish we had more outlets available in the room and we attempt to add as many power bars as possible. Your business is very much appreciated and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    77
    76
    20
    19
See reviews for
44
53
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we stayed at this hotel this past week, and the room was expensive and the bathroom was in terrible shape. Also wallpaper was in need of repair in all rooms, and we overlooked the railway tracks. The king bed sagged and we kept rolling into the center of the bed. Very dissapointed in this stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are sorry to read that your stay was not enjoyble. We certainly have a great advantage of being close to downtown and the great convenience of having transit located right beside us allowing you to park your car and get to downtown quickly, however we do apologize that the train noise can be a problem at times. I was surprised to hear about the poor mattress, this is a rare comment, we unfortunately did not receive the room number but i will ensure the Housekeeping manager personally checks the rooms. Calgary is a very busy City and the past few weekends we have seen full hotels, especially during the weekdays, our rates are very much in line with our competitors, please for future consideration at times of high demand you may wish to book a package, or advanced purchses which can offer savings of 10% or more depending on the season.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is awesome! Went to Calgary at the end of August for 3 days and took advantage of the "shades of summer" deal this hotel was offering, the total charge for a two night stay here was only $200 with $80 of breakfast vouchers for the hotels restaurant given to us when we got there so technically it only cost us $120. The staff were very very very friendly and helpful and were always smiling!! The food at the restaurant was not too bad either. The swimming pool was a decent size and quite clean. Rooms were clean and nice, could have been a bit bigger but other than that I would definately recommend this hotel and probably stay here again when I go to Calgary next time. It's also not too far from downtown, about a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us, we look forward to your return visit, thank you for your business,

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,217 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location was decent just outside city, great for Stampede. Rooms were clean, and good size, mine included a couch even though Id never use it was still nice addition.
Hotel was was great, Cindy was top notch every single night. Quick with a come back and always provided great service for all 9 of us with no exception. Would return and recommend the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, we certainly hope you return soon. Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed two nights of August and was pleased. Friendly staff, decent room, flat screen TV, excellent wireless internet, good beds with your choice of soft or firm pillows, decent restaurant, Given a bottle of water and $10 off restaurant coupon for being a Priority Club member.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed the night of August 20 and was pleased. Friendly staff, decent room, flat screen TV, excellent wireless internet, good beds with your choice of soft or firm pillows, decent restaurant, Given a bottle of water and $10 off restaurant coupon for being a Priority Club member. I was working downtown, but on a budget, so looking for something cheaper than the downtown hotels but still decent; this easily beat my expectations. C-train stop adjacent to hotel made getting to and from downtown a breeze.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We do offer excellent value, although Calgary is a very busy city and therefore prices might be higher, we are located just 5 minutes south of downtown, so our rates are better and service is just as great. The transit being beside us gets you to downtown very quick, so no parking fees, You can take transit to the Zoo, or Chinook Shopping Mall. You mentioned being a Priority Club Member, this is a great program, especialy being recognized in our numerous Holiday Inn Hotels and IHG Hotels across the world, it is free to join so I suggest you do and start earning points and benefits of being a member.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for over a week during the Calgary Stampede. The light rail station is literally in the back of the carpark so it's ridiculously convenient to get downtown or to the stampede grounds or Saddledome. Parking was included in the room rate and was not a problem even with the hotel fully booked.

Loved the fact that the room had a nice big desk and microwave and fridge. Room had been recently renovated and perfectly comfortable - air con system didn't seem to hold set temperature though.

There was A SINGLE coin operated washing machine which was no where near adequate for the number of people in the hotel - even at 2am I had other guests removing my stuff from the machines before they were done resulting in lost underwear and odd socks!! NOT HAPPY!!

Ate once in the restaurant downstairs - was perfectly reasonable - nothing outstanding but not grossly over priced either. The staff were all friendly.

With the comments about the elevator here's how it goes:
The hotel rooms are split over 4 levels - the elevator services all 4 levels.
The lobby is at a level equivalent to 3.5 and is essentially in a separate but attached building. So by entering from the front of the lobby you have stairs to access the lift to all the levels of guest rooms. However if you enter the guest building direct from the carpark you will have no stairs to access the lift to all floors. It's really not the hassle that other reviewers have complained about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. You touched on so many important features of our hotel, and one of them being so close to downtown, stampede park, and major shopping centers. We have the transit located right beside us which allows you to leave your car with us, as well we offer free parking. We do have microwaves and fridges however not in all rooms so I always suggest that you place that request at time of booking and we will ensure that all is ready upon arrival. We decided to place a washer and dryer on site because we noticed more long stay guests and they requested this so we were able to install one washer and one dryer on the main floor. I am sorry you had to wait and that someone removed your items, we unfortunately do not have the space to add more but will consider if the opportunity presents itself in the future. Thanks for your explanation of th elayout of our Hotel, although many comment on it you are correct, we have elevators, we have entrances, it is one long hotel, but we are on a hillside so there are a few inconveniences, so please if you need help, luggage asisstance, directions where to best park, please ask as our staff, they are all so willing to help.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Days Inn Calgary South
Days Inn Calgary South
#68 of 106 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
BEST WESTERN PLUS Calgary Centre Inn
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#75 of 106 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#77 of 106 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
#72 of 106 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.