We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuesday no Menu night was fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vero Bistro Moderne

Vero Bistro Moderne
209 - 10 Street NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1V5, Canada (Sunnyside)
+1 403-283-8988
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vero Bistro Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2,769 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Fusion, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Sunnyside
Cross street: Kensington Road
Description: With an atmosphere that breathes relaxed elegance, Vero Bistro presents a menu that defines inspired Italian Fusion Cuisine. Vero's Chef Jenny believes strongly in the importance of fresh, healthy food while supporting the local community and strives to create flavourful inspired cuisine using quality ingredients sourced from a variety of trusted local producers, Remarkable starters and plates designed for sharing are offered along side hearty entrees, such as the house made pasta, grass fed beef, seafood, lamb, chicken and duck, with many gluten-free options available. Featured small plates include Truffled Edamame, Baby Calamari Frito with romesco and the Signature Sweet Potato Gnocchi with wild boar bacon and gorgonzola, as well as more substantial offerings, such as the Surf & Turf Platter, Spring Creek Grass Fed Rib Eye Steak, Steamed Seabass with lemon risotto and "The Seafood Platter". No Menu Tuesdays $39/guest Steak & Frites on Wednesdays 3 courses $39/guest Brunch on Sat & Sun 9:30 AM-2:30 PM Breakfast/Lunch Tues-Fri 9-2PM
ottawa canada
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Tuesday no Menu night was fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are in town on business. Saw the trip advisor reviews and this place looked very interesting. With the no Menu Tuesdays it looked like the best option. The restaurant is nicely decorated, not too big, enough for the one waiter to take care of the whole place. Service was excellent, she was attentive, always available, very in control. We had choice of 3 appetizers and 3 entrees. With the three of us we tried everything. They were really fantastic. The food was very quick, nicely presented and very well prepared. I had the veal ravioli and steak fritz. Both were very good. Would suggest this to anyone in the area. Enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    54
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Yesterday I had lunch with a girlfriend at Vero Bistro in Kensington (on the patio). It was absolutely fabulous!! The salads we had were delicious but even better was our service. Diane made our dining experience with her quick wit and sense of humour. Wherever you are coming from, it is worth the trip. I will definitely be back!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had brunch here looks very unassuming from the outside. I had eggs Benedict on a croissant with tomatoes,bacon, prawns and salad. It was amazing!! Hubby had best fish broth ever!! Great service very friendly waiter who answered all our questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Saturday brunch for eight people.

Service was nice and congenial.

Only coffee available was espresso based – most of our party had americanos, which were refilled once without an extra charge.

Almost everyone had a version of the eggs benedict , everyone found them tasty and filling.

My wife had the sweet potato gnocchi and found it quite enjoyable.

I had the new york steak and egg – It was ordered medium rare and came out medium.
Otherwise the flavour was fine.

The table shared the 36 month aged jamon iberico de bellota – nice to try, but not all that different from standard prosciutto to our taste buds.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had an absolutely terrible experience here -- for the cost it also made us feel very ripped off. We had to buy a bottle of water, which was then poured for us by our waiter. One of the glasses he gave us happened to have some kind of green sludge on it. When we alerted our waiter to this disgusting site he took the cup, with our pricey water and gave us a new glass with a cup full less of the water we had to pay for. Ordering was a challenge our waiter didn't seem to speak great English. Our food was sub par, especially considering the price. We ordered dessert which was good but the pricing on the menu was inconsistent with what we were charged with at the end. Our waiter also went missing and we never saw him again the rest of our time there, we had to flag down another waitress to get us our final bill with the water still on it and the higher dessert price. She too went missing and we waited about 15 minutes before we got to pay. There were only a few tables at the time and not a lot of people, we expected much better service and food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vero Bistro Moderne also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Vero Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vero Bistro Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.