We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
315 -11th Avenue N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2E 0Z2, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Samobor, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Kelly and his crew are great hosts and the place is just 15 minutes walk from downtown Calgary. Nice and clean, situated in a quiet neighbourhood. The breakfast was superb - I wish that someone prepared such a fruit salad for me daily :) I would definitely come again and recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
25
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Hughes House is an excellent B&B in a convenient location within 15 minutes to downtown Calgary. The host , Kelly, made my husband and I feel extremely welcome and comfortable in his beautiful Victorian home. He is the most friendly and accommodating host you can hope for. The bedrooms are freshly decorated and updated with excellent beds and linens. The home is very clean, and Kelly serves a delicious breakfast each morning. He knows the area very well and recommended several excellent restaurants. There is a separate room with refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, toaster, washer, dryer, ironing board and iron for guests' use during their stay. This B&B is economical and an excellent value for Calgary lodging. We shall stay with Kelly the next time we are in Calgary!

Room Tip: All rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoonhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

First and best b&b experience in Canada. Nice room, clean. Great host who picked us up from the airport and served a wonderful breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. Excellent value for money. Cheers to Kelly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I've stayed in B&B's in Calgary previously but thought I would give this one a try. I'm glad I did. Extremely good value for money. Kelly is a super host. I did not want a 'big' breakfast and ended up with a very nice large fresh fruit bowl, cheese/grapes and fresh croissant. Very good comfortable bed, ensuite facilities, flat screen TV (with DVD built-in) and quiet area close to downtown. Rooms are a little small and lack good closet space for a long stay but more than adequate for a night or two. Kelly is renovating a third room which will be larger. I enjoyed my brief one night stay and have put this on my list as places to stay at again. Kelly recommended a local Persian restaurant for dinner - very good food and very good prices. Recommend this B&B if you are looking for good value for your money run my a friendly host while still being very comfortable. Wi-fi available. Also, as a plus there is a guest room available with full-size fridge, microwave, etc. Laundry facilities are also in room - I suspect you can use - I didn't ask. Appliances relatively new.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

When we had a look at the website we weren't to sure about Hughes House. The website is a bit outdated so we didn't expect too much...When we arrived we were pleasently suprised! Hughes house is a lovely victorian home in a nice neigbourhood. Kelly is great and offered us a nice glass of wine when we arrived, we stayed in many B&B's in Canada but Kelly was the warmest and friendliest host of them all. He enjoyes life and is just fun. The rooms were nice and clean and have new bathrooms. It is an easy 15 minute walk to the city centre and there are some nice restaurants nearby. Don't have doubts....stay with Kelly!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Walkable distance into town, the facilities were nice and clean, and the breakfast was good. The rooms weren't huge but they were en suite with modern bathrooms. Good kitchen facilities. Kelly is a friendly host and has two dogs in the house with him.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Kelly was very nice. He offered to pick us up when we reached downtown and drove us to the mall on our last day. He gave us advise on nearby restaurant we could eat. He invited us for a lunch barbecue. It's a short bus ride to downtown and even walking distance if you don't mind walking. I felt safe walking around that neigborhood. He gave us a good deal on our room. The bed was sooo comfortable.

There are dogs in the house so if you don't mind dogs, you should be ok. There weren't any cable channels on tv. But if you're in Calgary to visit, then watching tv would not be a priority.

We'll definitely stay there again if we go to Calgary.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 315 -11th Avenue N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2E 0Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.