We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of raw bar @ Hotel Arts

raw bar @ Hotel Arts
119 - 12th Avenue SW | Hotel Arts, Calgary, Alberta T2R0G8, Canada (Beltline)
403.266.4611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
raw bar @ Hotel Arts is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #161 of 2,769 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $16 - $82
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Beltline
Cross street: 1st street SW
Description: One good taste deserves another. Hotel Arts features two award-winning restaurants, Raw Bar by Duncan Ly (Top 50 Best Restaurants Vacay.Ca), and the Yellow Door Bistro (Where Magazine Best New Restaurant 2013). We also have a great neighbouring tenant in the Hotel Arts Retail Complex that's definitely worth a visit - Taste Restaurant. In addition, we also own and operate one of Calgary's best restaurants - Chef's Table - at our sister property, the 19-room Kensington Riverside Inn which was recently named Calgary's first Relais & Chateaux property. Collectively, these are four great options to demonstrate good taste.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I like coming here for awesome cocktails. Very creative, a little pricey but worth it.
love the atmosphere...more like a hidden gem. Not too busy in there
can't wait to go back soon for some more cocktails

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Uptown and Uber trendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hubby usually bring business clients to Raw Bar during the week when it's quite busy but on a Saturday night, it made for a very quiet dining experience. We shared several dishes from their "small plates" menu and were not disappointed. Servings were small, prices were high but the excellent Asian inspired food was superb. Highly recommend the whole grilled squid...super tender and flavourful , not the typical deep fried rubbery stuff one usually gets. Service was just as excellent. Note, they are very proud of their chef who is currently competing on Top Chef Canada, a reality cooking show on TV...they remind you of every opportunity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Came late in the evening, but the food was still served fresh and delicious. The ambience was nice. Tried a couple entrees and enjoyed them both.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special Chinese New Year - woo hoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We attended a five-course meal including a welcome cocktail -- the food throughout the event was exceptional and the table service was very good

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I took my adult children to the Raw Bar at the Hotel Arts, to celebrate my daughters birthday, and was pleasantly surprised with the recent changes, my only issue, is they could turn down the lighting, however that aside, the food was fanastic, a wide selection of cocktails that I have never seen before and the food. We ordered a verity of appies, each a different main course, and for dessert, the Squid, which was prepared perfectly. Chef's Ly and Lee, have prepared an incredible menu, and the preparation of the food matches, I will definitly return to this spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed raw bar @ Hotel Arts also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to raw bar @ Hotel Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage raw bar @ Hotel Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.