We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively speaking ~” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Post Hotel & Spa
200 Pipestone Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-3989
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Relatively speaking ~”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It is all relative; we write these reviews to assist others in making wise choices in how they dine, where they stay, and what they do while on Holiday, but while some of us are thrilled with a well prepared meal, others expect top chef cuisine regularly.

To be as fair as possible, we discussed our overall impression of each meal at the Post as we were staying at the hotel for several days. Breakfast was fair, but to get a real serving of fresh fruit and not the skewer of a few berries with a piece of pineapple, you really had to push and remind the servers. Yes, we are more than willing to pay for the fruit, just please serve it to us. There were no exceptional pancakes or waffles offered, just the typical recipe found in most average restaurants. We have lived in Europe, we know the cold style breakfast typical of most hotels, but we also know the exceptional recipes of Swedish or German pancakes, crepes, and of course French breads. An egg is an egg is an egg.

As for dinner we tried the first few days to sample this chef's award winning cuisine but we were not wow'd by any preparation of the fish or meats presented. An extensive wine list does not make a restaurant and I am afraid, THAT is their claim to fame.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    63
    30
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SF, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We loved the food, service is very nice too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my friends had lunch here, wasn't expecting much because we did not read about this restaurant before going there, but it surprised us all with it's great food. We ordered 4 - 5 dishes, all taste very good. The waiter was very nice, great service. We later bumped into that same waiter in a local supermarket, he advised us not buying the bottled waters. He said tap water came directly from the glaciers, it is exactly the same thing as in the bottled ones.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Ate at the outpost pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place had been recommended to us from a local. When we got there we had to wait in line, while waiting at the bar we weren't even offered a drink which was disappointing. When a table became available after about 15 mins of waiting we were happy to not be sitting on the sofas and eating from a coffee table. We had heard that the one kitchen that cooks for the main hotel restaurant also cooked for the pub. All our meals were okay and seemed well priced. Certainly a very homely feel to the pub. Service was a bit slow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have previously stayed at this hotel and loved it. The return visit to the restaurant for dinner was a treat. The food was outstanding. Perfectly cooked fish and great wines. Our only irritation was the waiter who would not leave us alone and kept chatting at us, to the point where we were wanting to scream please leave us alone, which is the reason why I have rated this low on the romance front. We wanted to have a romantic dinner a deux, not a threesome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One the Best, Five Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have eaten at the restaurant dining room many times over many years. Never had a bad meal. Service is always Five Stars. Menu is varied and adjusts often. They have no problems with reasonable special requests. Wine selection is rated very highly. They have another pub, which we have never eaten in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Post Hotel & Spa also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.