We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Post Hotel & Spa
200 Pipestone Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-3989
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dix Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Post Hotels exceptional restaurant. The food (both presentation and flavor) was excellent and the service outstanding. We had a truly special evening here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    59
    29
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect food and a wine list to die for1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went for my 30th anniversary - The Bison tenderloin filet was unbelievable. Tender and moist, served with potatoes and asparagus. They have a wine list that will take you an hour to browse, so be careful if you are easily overwhelmed by lots of choices. Spouse had rack of lamb and it was perfect as well. Pricey but if you want the best, it is worth the money to eat here. Have a Cuban cigar and maybe a single malt scotch after dinner in their cigar room. This restaurant is one of the best, and it is in a beautiful setting. We stayed at the Fairmont Hotel at Lake Louise and took a cab to the restaurant, knowing we would want some wine with our dinner. We got tipped off to this place by a local resident, and we were very glad to have the chance to dine at POST. I HIGHLY recommend it if you are a foodie and want the perfect meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Limited Menu but good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Comfortable seating with log fire. Reasonable selection of beers (draft and bottled) and wines. Daily specials worth checking (and are published at teh pub every week in advance)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I'd read glowing reviews of this restaurant, so I went in with high expectations. I dined solo on a Sunday evening, starting with a very nice cannelloni stuffed with lobster, then pan-seared salmon for the main course, with new potatoes and vegetables in a very distinctive presentation. To drink I quite enjoyed two glasses of New Zealand (Cloudy Bay) sauvignon blanc, then topped it off with coffee and one of their scrumptious ice-cream creations. The bill - without tip - was 115 CAD. The setting is quite invigorating, with a backdrop of snow-covered peaks, and the service upscale and attentive. I suppose I've had a few better meals in my life - but not many!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Standard fare at inflated prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner here on our first night in Lake Louise. We were hungry and it was connected to our hotel. The room was very cozy. There was a fire in the fireplace which was a nice mountain touch. The server eas very friendly and attentive.

The food is fine but not anything special. The burger was very salty. The salmon was good though. The beer selection is poor. Prices for each were higher than warranted.

We were with our son who needed a highchair. Luckily we had a booster seat in the car as the highchairs on offer were thirty years old. The other issue was that they were unable/unwilling to make a child friendly portion of fish so we ordered an additional full meal which was annoying.

We did not go back the second night but went to the station restaurant which was amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Post Hotel & Spa also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.