We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals we have enjoyed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Post Hotel & Spa
200 Pipestone Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-3989
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
SYDNEY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

OUtstanding service; my husband thought the Caribou back straps were outstanding. The wine list is amazing and our only disappointment was to have not visited the cellar! The young Swiss waiter was a delight.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    63
    30
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon a casual enjoyable food and beverage spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were going to the Baker Creek Bistro and a snow storm came up and we were concerned that we might get snowed in while eating dinner, so mentioned this to the lady greeting us at the Bistro and she agreed we should leave so as not to ruin our dinner with worry. She recommended the Outpost Pub and we tried it. I had the Hungarian Goulash, my wife the burger with a glass of wine. Mine came with red cabbage that was wonderful, also spaetzle which is a favorite of mine, and so my meal was very good. My wife enjoyed her burger and the wine was really good. We both enjoyed the casual atmosphere and the cost was modest which we appreciated. We will return again on our next trip

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gourment Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently traveled to Lake Louise for skiing. A fellow skier recommended this gem or we would never had known about it. First of all the ambience is wonderful: warm, inviting and romantic. There is a beautiful sitting area with a blazing fireplace right off the entry of the restuarant. One of the owners (2 gentlemen) took our coats and hung them in a beautiful armoir before seating us. The wine list is AMAZING....and daunting! But the sommelier was wonderful and incredibly knowledgeable. We could see part of the wine cellar through a glass door and asked if we could have a tour. To our absolute delight, she gave us a tour at the end of our evening. 27,000 bottles of wine arranged by region and vintage! It was the perfect end to a wonderful evening. We were seated in an area that also had a fireplace and near a window that looked out on a skating area; just beautiful. You MUST have the lobster bisque! We've traveled the world and its the best we've ever had. We also had the crab salad which was another winner. The favorite entree was the bison though all of our meals (there were 4 of us) were outstanding. Our waiter was super; his name is Michael and if you dine there, request him. The prices are high but well worth it if you appreciate great gourmet food with five star service. If we return to Lake Louise, it will be with a reservation to the Post Hotel restraurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of 8 as needed some place different to dine while staying at the Chateau. The restaurant is very cozy with a wood burning fieldstone fireplace and plenty of windows to see the falling snow and lights. The staff was excellent and knew every little detail about each food item and the wines. The waiter reviewed the extensive menu with us and answered all our questions. The wine list and cellar is exceptional with 25,000 bottles and by no means inexpensive! We had foie gras, lobster bisque, lobster cannelloni, and gnocchi for starters and they were all exceptional. My bisque was a bit salty even for me who loves salt. For mains, a few had the caribou which they raved about and others had the best Alberta beef tenderloin and veal dishes. I ha the ahi tuna steak which was just minimally seared with a crispy lobster, squash mash underneath. We needed some help picking the wines as the list is exhaustive, but be cogniscent of the prices while the staff are recommending wines, as we almost picked a $1200 bottle as compared to the $100 bottle! There is a cigar and scotch room just off the dining room with nice leather chairs and sofas and everyone looked to be enjoying themselves. Overall a great dining experience and would highly recommend for a special treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We returned after 7 years, because I craved the pear cider served here. My husband's burger was really good, but the fries looked like soggy, frozen ones. The pizza that I ordered was too doughy and cheesy. The server was very friendly and we like the atmosphere. Not sure about going back, because of my food disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Post Hotel & Spa also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.