We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker Creek Bistro

Baker Creek Bistro
Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-2182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 restaurants in Lake Louise
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: International, Canadian, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Whether it was breakfast, dinner or dessert, their food is really excellent! They stay open until around 21:30 and you should preferably book the previous day if you want to eat there. For now they are not affiliated with the Baler Creek hotel so you can't charge meals to your room. You have to pay there. But they did mention they're working on becoming affiliated with the hotel in this regard.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    56
    30
    19
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful cozy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We headed to Baker Creek Bistro for dinner to get away from the crowds of The Chateau Lake Louise. It was a little hard to find (signs are few and far between)! But it was worth the drive. The building is a charming log 'cabin' and the fireplaces inside were cozy.

The drinks were just so-so (the lime garnish was mushy and old).
The charcuterie plate was great - a real variety of cheese, meats, crackers, peppers, capers... Very nice.
The spinach salad had foie gras on it which I loved.
I had the pasta and fish in a cream sauce which was quite good, but didn't really wow me.
My husband had veal cheeks which were really tender and delicious. Very hearty.

It was all quite good, but a little pricey. I guess when you are hours from anywhere, they can charge more!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant/bar and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Baker Creek is situated on the Bow Valley Parkway, the 1A. From Lake Louise village and/or the ski area it is about a 12 minutes drive.

We ate various times in the restaurant as well as in the bar, both are under the same roof.
The bar is more than just a ‘bar’. It is smaller than the restaurant and the atmosphere and the menu are more casual but it is more than just a drinking place.
Both places are very cosy and comfortable and the restaurant is by no means very posh although the food wouldn’t do wrong in a ‘many star restaurant’!

In the bar you can pick things from the restaurant menu but in the restaurant you can not pick things from the bar menu.

Both the restaurant and the bar have an open log fire and these fires were already on at the moment the door opened in the afternoon, so there was at all times a very warm welcome. We were always greeted by a friendly staff member who took our coats.

The restaurant also offers breakfast and even then they made sure the open log fire was on. It was always a nice start of our skiing day and you can stay at Baker Creek as well. They have great cabins and rooms. We stayed in both.

The food is fabulous! We choose things from both menus and were never disappointed but the highlight was the veal.
We also had the hamburger and various other things amongst which the daily specials. Obviously these vary but our gamble paid out well every time!

It is not cheap but Baker Creek makes such a nice difference from all the other restaurants in Banff/Lake Louise area were we have been to eat.
You go to Baker Creek to have a nice evening out and not just to get your belly filled and don't forget, they offer accommodation too!





Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and accommodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food experienced in the Bistro while staying in the nearby Baker Creek chalets was second to none. It's not the cheapest meal you'll ever have but quality has to come at a price. Staff were very friendly and cheerful and there was a wide range of choice on the menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were referred to this wonderful restaurant from a fellow skier we met on the Lake Louise ski hill and it didn't disappoint. It was a fantastic experience from the moment we walked in to giving our compliments to the chef at the end of our meal. My husband ordered the rib steak and I had the braised veal shank. We ordered a bottle of Argentinian wine and our waitress suggested we order the grand cru version of the same wine for a minimal extra charge and it certainly didn't disappoint. She also brought us a tasting of the original wine we'd ordered and there was no comparison. We were so impressed by the meal, we asked to speak to the chef who came out and spoke with us for a few minutes. We can't wait to go back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Creek Bistro also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park

Been to Baker Creek Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker Creek Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.