We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Walliser Stube

The Walliser Stube
111 Lake Louise Drive | Fairmont Chateau, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L1E0, Canada
+1 403-522-1601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 restaurants in Lake Louise
Price range: $13 - $47
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Innovative European alpine cuisine is featured nightly at the intimate Walliser Stube restaurant and wine bar. Choose from a tempting variety of classic Swiss, German and Alpine dishes influenced by regional styles, or experience our authentic Swiss Fondue - an homage to our Swiss Mountain Guide heritage.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great wine selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff really know their wine and the selection is fantastic. Great place for a night cap!! And good atmosphere!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    54
    29
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A must if u are at the Chateau.....wife and I had made a 6pm reservation with a window view table... We were seated promptly and were given the best seat in the house! For beverages we opted for the Niagra Falls Cabernet Sauvignon which was Delish!!!( had 3 glasses, shoulda got a bottle) For our dinner selection, we decided to go w the fondue experience which seemed like the thing to do...Hands down Best cheese fondue I've ever tried! Experience comes with a delicious salad and we chose to have the bison and beef combo which was soooo good! For desert we had the hazelnut Dark chocolate w fruit, marshmallows and banana bread. Not only was the food amazing but the ambiance and service was also wonderful. Our server Courtney was attentive, friendly, knowledgable and hospitable. Yes, this restaurant comes with a hefty price tag but well worth every penny for a special dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Swiss style fondue at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This restaurant is famous. It is located right in the Fairmont at Lake Louise. Great atmosphere and a very Swiss feel to it. The service was just right and the food super. We sat down and were there for a good two hours plus. We had a fondue dinner which was three courses was so good. A must try I think.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great service, great menu especially if you like traditional fondues. The chocolate fondue for dessert was fabulous! Great wine selection and a nice warm atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were very excited about this place since the Fairmont hosts recommended it the most highly out of the lodge restaurants. The food was good, but nothing special. The price ended up being about the same as the main dining room, and we much preferred our dinner there. I would certainly recommend the dining room over this restaurant for the same price tag.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walliser Stube also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Walliser Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walliser Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.