We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Dining Room

Fairview Dining Room
111 Lake Louise Drive | at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
+1 403-522-1601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Price range: $14 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Savour the very best in contemporary Canadian cuisine at The Fairview. Stylish décor, spectacular views and attentive service create the perfect ambiance for a memorable dining experience at The Fairview.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great View and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

we had lunch here on a day trip to Lake Louise in March, the lake was frozen and there were a few skating ($11.00 for 2 hours), Service was quick, friendly and efficient. The view is one of the best in the world but the cost of the food was better than some of the places in Banff. We had the Artesian salad with prawns ($21) and a Soup ($9) and this was one of the best salads have ever had. I want to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    50
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food, formal setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently traveled to Lake Louise to ski and dined in the Fairveiw Room. The setting is very formal although we were not alone in being dressed in jeans and sweaters. The wine list is very good though not as good as the Post Hotel's. The sommelier was knowledgeable but was serving all 3 of the restuarants there at the hotel so unable to be very attentive. There were four of us that shared 2 starters which was plenty. We each had a different main course: lamb, salmon, duck, bison. The lamb was not very good though the accoutrents served with it were. All the other mains were very good, especially the duck. Our waitress was ok but definitely not up to par for the price of the meal which was quite high. If you want a truly gourmet experience with absolute 5 star service, go to the Post Hotel instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We dined here one evening when it was very quiet with only a few tables booked. We were seated at a table with a wonderful view of the lake and skating rink and sculptures. The staff was very attentive and knew details about the menu. We had the scallops, ahi tuna and foi gras for starters which were all exceptional. For mains we had the elk strip loin which had the subtle wild/gamy taste and the beef tenderloin which was delicious. Overall a great dining experience and a bit pricy but its in the Chateau!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good food but if you are one of those folks who dines out a lot, like me, you will find the pricing (even at this gem of a location) pricey.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“sometimes it's not as great the second time around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our family of four returned to this restaurant on our last night of our stay at the Chateau - mostly because our daughter had enjoyed it so much last year. I guess this time our expectations were a bit too high. First off - oyster bisque is not really something kids want to dig into - so while it was "compliments of the chef" they were not interested.

My daughter found her pasta sauce to be very watery and while I know it was off the kids menu, it was not very good. My husband and I ordered the three course meal with wine paring - which was fine, however, I felt we were a bit rushed between our courses, so much so that you had to rush to fnish the wine given before digging into the next course.

Also, my husband ordered the lamb and I had to share some of my tenderloin meal with him as his plate was pretty sparse.

We may reconsider dining here during future visits to the hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairview Dining Room also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fairview Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.