We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has such great potential!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Num-Ti-Jah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile 22 Icefields Parkway | P.O. Box 39, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Clyde, Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Has such great potential!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located at one of the most beautiful and tranquil spots in Banff, the Num - Ti Jah Lodge is like walking back in time. Hunter and trapper, Jimmy Simpson came to know the area better than anyone else in the early 1900's. In 1920 he obtained a lease to build his first cabin on pristine Bow Lake. In 1930 the work on the Icefield Parkway began and Simpson realized the potential of the area. He completed building the present day Lodge in 1937.
I believe the Simpson family still owns the Lodge and other businesses in Lake Louise. This gem really has great potential. So much could be done to improve the rooms in the Lodge. Simple things like new light fixtures could be a inexpensive $20 fix. I couldn't believe how stupid the light fixture looked speckled with dead flies in the bottom of it. And the metal showers, now come on! People are paying very good money for this beautiful location. At least have the decency of upgrading all of the bathrooms!
The staff are pleasant. They were very helpful in getting us another room with power in it. During our first night there, we blew a fuse and I couldn't plug in my sleep apnea breather machine. On our second night, our sleep was interrupted when the fire alarm went off at 2 in the morning. It turned out to be a false alarm. The food was overpriced and average at best. (we only had one meal there and ended up eating all our other meals at Lake Louise, a half hour drive away) Surprisingly the gift shop is reasonably priced. We were supposed to stay a third night but we asked for a refund. We decided that although the location was fabulous, that it was time to move on. At $200 a night we felt that we had lined the Simpson's pockets with enough hard cash.
On the plus side, I managed to get some fabulous photos of the area. I met photographers from around the world that were in awe of the magnificent views.
I certainly hope that the "squeaky wheels get the oil" and that the Simpsons decide to put some money into this gem.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre, tv or internet. Expect to have "tech withdrawl" if you have you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    30
    21
    12
See reviews for
31
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid September. We have passed by and peeked in the lodge on several previous trips and decided to actually stay there on this visit. Our room (#20) was on the top floor, very clean, large with a small window looking over the lake and mountain and waterfall. It is very true the walls are paper thin, but we lucked out with quiet fellow travelers while there. It is very true the bathrooms need an update if possible especially the rusty, metal shower stalls, which we chose not to use. The staff told us 6 of the rooms had updated bathrooms (ie. Room 16). The food for breakfast and dinner is OK or mediocre and expensive. The common areas are filled with historic pieces and are well worn. Even if you paid to use the pool table, you couldn't because all the ques were missing rubber tips...perhaps in the "20's and '30s guests played with wooden ends. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Terence carried our duffle bags up to our room when he saw that my husband had difficulty walking. Let the traveler be aware that rustic does mean rustic and in this most beautiful and peaceful (early am and after the bus tours leave) of settings, just enjoy the magnificent scenery and the sun setting over Mt. Simpson.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just returned from another trip to Num-Ti-Jah Lodge, a beautiful, historic lodge nestled on the edge of Bow Lake, just off the scenic Icefields Parkway. Once again we left feeling completed filled up by the stunning surroundings, the beautiful setting of the Lodge and the warmth and hospitality of the stafff and leadership. It is one of our favourite places to stay. It is arguably one of the most beautiful places to get to (the Icefields Parkway and possibly a drive through Banff National Park depending on where you are coming from) AND it is arguably one of the most beautiful settings for the Lodge to be nestled. Bow Lake is a stunning turquoise blue. Although we don't look forward to having to fight for spots, we really felt it was time to share this gem with others who may not have discovered it yet. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Almost every room comes with a stunning view, but do ask just to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for one night in Sept 2013.

Lodge
Wow! This place is charming! There are lots of antiques. No elevators or TVs. The floors creak. They give you a binder at check-in with some history of the lodge and other helpful information as well as a great booklet on nearby hikes. There are lots of old photos on the walls. There is a pool table but unfortunately you have to pay with coins☹ There was a neat old map table with loads of maps! There is Jimmy Simpson’s mineral collection to check out. I believe they also have a wood-fired sauna which they will light for you. No bar. You can get ice from the restaurant.
Room
Our room (Mountainview King) was on the expensive side at $275. It had a small window with a view of mountains AND the lake. The window was in a nook (a gable?) so you had to pull up a chair to really see out. You could open the window and there was no screen and a piece of wood to hold the window up (old school!). Cool! They thoughtfully had hung two mirrors on the sides of the nook so you didn’t feel cramped. We LOVED sitting at this window. I felt like I was in an old painting or something. The room itself was spacious with a charming mishmash of old furniture, real wood paneling and a really comfy bed with down comforter. The walls ARE thin and I could actually hear a guy in the next room snoring! Ughhh.. The bathroom was very old and basic and had an old metal shower stall with exposed pipes. I learned that each room in this lodge is different in terms of size. Looking at the building outside, this makes sense.
Restaurant
We enjoyed our (expensive!) dinner and breakfast and sat by the window. Both times, there was hardly anyone else there. The elk burger was expensive at $18 but very good. They should get some better beers, though. If you ask, they have a sheet with info on the hanging animal heads.
Overall
We just loved this place! Rustic and full of history! A great overnight for us between Jasper and Calgary Airport. We arrived in late afternoon and didn’t run into any hordes or buses. Supposedly, they’ll lend you bear spray for your hikes. BTW I highly recommend the hike to Bow Glacier Falls. Like someone else mentioned, it would be better if they moved their parking area as the cars parked in front of the lake does detract from the view/ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amazing location.
Beautiful old lodge with a lot of history behind it.
No TVs or wi-fi which is
great for a quiet traveler, but lots of books, magazines and games.
Food was great.
The hotel and food were expensive, but worth it.
Right on Bow lake with a
hike to the waterfall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall the accommodations of this place were really quite lovely and in tune with 'old charm'. The bathroom did leave much, much to be desired but the surroundings more than made up for it!!! The hike to the waterfalls was one of the most incredible experiences we had as a family of four with two small kids ages 6 and 8. We had a blast going on this hike and took magnificent pictures. At the onsite restaurant, Breakfast left much to be desired and was rather tasteless but extremely expensive and dinner although delicious was very, very, very pricey for a family of four. Children food options options were not indicated and when I asked for a bowl of pasta with butter (since I did not wish to spend $30-$40 on available entree items for my young children) it cost a whopping $15 for my six year old and was a very small portion which he gobbled up in no time. If there were other restaurant options nearby, we would have rather done that, but there were none close by.

Room Tip: Our room was rather large on the third floor and great for our family of four (Two Queen Beds) Bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Can't rent a canoe there, no water sports on the lake. Not ideal if you were hoping to canoe/kayak. The rooms should be updated - I know it's supposed to have a historical charm but you can be historical and still be relevant. The Internet costs $10 per 24 hours and doesnt even work half the time! The rooms are not to the standard considering how much they cost.


Dinner on the other hand was amazing but not many options for vegetarians or dieters of any kind.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Num-Ti-Jah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Address: Mile 22 Icefields Parkway | P.O. Box 39, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Num-Ti-Jah Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge overlooks one of the most dramatic scenes in the Canadian Rockies. Out of Bow Lake the mountains rise steep and rugged. The blue ice of Crowfoot Glacier hangs suspended over the turquoise water. To the west, the craggy peaks of the Great Divide tower over Bow Glacier.Num-Ti-Jah Lodge is located 40 kilometres north of Lake Louise on Highway 93 in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. We are a three hour drive from the Calgary International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Num-Ti-Jah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Num-Ti-Jah Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Num-Ti-Jah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.