We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Italy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Italian Restaurant

Lago Italian Restaurant
111 Lake Louise Drive | In Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0 , Canada
+1 403-522-1601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 29 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Every meal is a celebration of modern Italian cuisine at Lago Italian Kitchen! The diverse regional flavours of Italy are showcased from Lago's open concept kitchen with authentic multi-course meals that capture the true essence of Italian cuisine. Join us for a true Italian food sharing experience!
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We (two friend-couples) dined here on Monday 2 September 2013 while overnighting as part of a holiday package visit. The other main in-house eateries were all long booked-out, but this one was only quite sparsely attended mid-evening, and we wondered why.
Food was good but not exceptional, and service more or less reasonable, but the prices (even by premium Canadian standards) were pretty well into the 'fictistic' category so we ate relatively sparingly.
The Lago is tucked quite a long way down a side wing of the hotel and despite its name, I don't remember there being (or us being offered) any view of the eponymous lake as part of the overall dining experience.
Generally, somewhat underwhelming. If it weren't for the broader surroundings (and our happening to be more or less 'captive clientele' due to the appeal of these) I doubt we would have chosen or bothered to eat here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
“Decent hotel meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was annoyed with the pretentious reservation system, they wouldn't reserve a table when I wanted so I got there at my preferred time there were plenty of available tables. Then the service was slow to begin with. Don't they get it? We are there to eat and want to get started once we are seated. Other nearby tables were also impatiently waiting to be served food.

Once we were served, the antipasto plate was excellent and our steak for two was well prepared and served.
It pretends to be Italian but I would dub it hotel Italian.

Some table cloths would dress the experience up, and for the inflated prices charged one would expected more.

A dress code is published but guests in faded jeans and tee shirts were being seated, detracting even more from the ambience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We saved this one until last. The atmosphere was great. If is set in the newest wing of the hotel. The food was delicious and the service excellent. The home made pasta and sauce were great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Sereno, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food in Lake Louise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This spot in the Chateau Lake Louise has some of the best Italian food we've ever had, including recent trips to Italy. The lasagna melts in your mouth and the seafood chowder as an appetizer is fantastic. The service was very good, though the dirty shirt of our waitress could definitely be improved. We would have rated this restaurant as Excellent, but our waiter didn't tell us of all of the specials, though the neighboring tables got the whole list. Also, the night's appetizer special was a very pricey ($27) for a bowl of chowder, which was far too expensive, though tasty. The waiter failed to tell us the price of this special and we just assumed it would be about the same as the other appetizers at about half this price. Overall, some easy fixes the restaurant can make, but shouldn't be taken away from the excellent food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent service. Obviously Italian flavor. Food was OK, but uninspired. OK for 1 night, but I probably won't go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago Italian Restaurant also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lago Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.