We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Lake Louise Dr., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-3511
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Stradbroke Is. QLD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went to the Fairmont for dinner. It was very good and very expensive. We made a reservation through the concierge so the waitstaff seemed to think we were staying at the hotel, so the service was excellent! They were falling over themselves to see if everything was fine with the meal. Very professional. Funny at the end when we paid for the meal and slunk down the road to the Deer Lodge. He he, the Fairmont is very nice but a little bit disney land for me, we preferred the authenticity of the Lodge down the road which had just as good food!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    105
    51
    10
    7
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Would be five stars, with a caveat..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel with everything you would expect from Fairmont. Add perhaps the most beautiful scenery you could ever find. Great dining space. Great rooms. Beautiful scenery. FIRST class service. So why 4 stars?
It's simple: The MASSES of tourists being toured through the hotel all day and night. It seemed to be more a part of a tour group than a first class secluded hotel. It was a major distraction. I would strongly consider asking the touring schedule with management prior to booking a stay. If they are not there, it could be one of the nicest hotels in the world. But after literally 'bumping' my way through the tours groups in the lobby, it's mixed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lived up to our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved our 2 night stay at the Fairmont, Lake Louise. The room decor was very classical and there was plenty of room for the 3 of us. The large walk in wardrobe was a great feature as it kept the room uncluttered (yes we were travelling with our young daughter). Despite being March, we loved the small balcony (enough room to only stand); indeed I wouldn't bother staying unless I had a room overlooking the lake. The hotel has a nice relaxed feeling (the resident dog included) yet very attentive to your needs. The only disappointment were the cigarette butts on our room balcony. Shame the cleaners didn't pay more attention here - on the other hand perhaps they had been obscured by a recent dump of snow ! Another small gripe....we had booked and paid for 3 adults yet the room was only set up for 2 people (cups/saucers/glasses/bathrobes). The hotel provides a wide variety of dining options.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“so much to see and do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

this is a place you will never get bored at, the lake, river, walks, skiing, hotel. Put it on your bucket list!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

well when you go to Lake Louise it's the only hotel on Lake Louise so if you want to stay on the lake there is no other choice but it's very beautiful, very well kept, pricy but worth it for your once in a lifetime visit! my only beef with this place is that the restaurants there were never open any of the times that we have visited here, pretty stupid really because you are out in the middle of nowhere so there are no other restaurants around, had to purchase food like sandwiches, juice bottles and salads at the very small deli counter downstairs past the main lobby.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.