We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Lake Louise Dr., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-3511
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Lake Louise and the Fairmont Chateau are absolutely great. Lovely view and great facility make for a pleasant visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    99
    49
    9
    5
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very grand !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

you can walk round the hotel when you visit Lake louise, we didnt stay in the hotel but wished we had done as I dont think the rates were very expensive (we had a motorhome at the time), the shops in the hotel were very nice and the grounds loverly. worth a stroll round if you visit the lake.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mother Nature at her Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Winter at the Chateau cannot be better. Snow, cross country and downhill skiing, walking, fondue, waiting patiently for the Lake to freeze for skating and ...... So much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“High Tea in a gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When my mom and I went to Banff, one of the things she most wanted to do was have high tea at Lake Louise. It was very busy the weekend we were there, but the beauty of the surroundings still stood out. The hotel is beautiful and we got to have a lovely tea and snacks against the back drop of Lake Louise. Pricey, but worth it and a memory I will always have and cherish.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautifully set on the lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is a Fairmont Hotel on the eastern shore of Lake Louise. The original Chateau was gradually built up at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century by the Canadian Pacific Railway, so it is a relatively new building. Its interior has nothing really special to grab one's attention. Same applies to its exterior architecture
It's only the amazing views from the hotel (and the restaurant) to the lake and the setting of the hotel on the lake that make the entire combination beautiful.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.