We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Lake Louise Dr., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-3511
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Lake Louise and the Fairmont Chateau are absolutely great. Lovely view and great facility make for a pleasant visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    155
    65
    13
    10
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very grand !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

you can walk round the hotel when you visit Lake louise, we didnt stay in the hotel but wished we had done as I dont think the rates were very expensive (we had a motorhome at the time), the shops in the hotel were very nice and the grounds loverly. worth a stroll round if you visit the lake.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mother Nature at her Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Winter at the Chateau cannot be better. Snow, cross country and downhill skiing, walking, fondue, waiting patiently for the Lake to freeze for skating and ...... So much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“High Tea in a gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When my mom and I went to Banff, one of the things she most wanted to do was have high tea at Lake Louise. It was very busy the weekend we were there, but the beauty of the surroundings still stood out. The hotel is beautiful and we got to have a lovely tea and snacks against the back drop of Lake Louise. Pricey, but worth it and a memory I will always have and cherish.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautifully set on the lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is a Fairmont Hotel on the eastern shore of Lake Louise. The original Chateau was gradually built up at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century by the Canadian Pacific Railway, so it is a relatively new building. Its interior has nothing really special to grab one's attention. Same applies to its exterior architecture
It's only the amazing views from the hotel (and the restaurant) to the lake and the setting of the hotel on the lake that make the entire combination beautiful.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.